Jump to content


Investigating Reports of Lag


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
338 replies to this topic

Dhizi #41 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 04:55

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 4220 battles
  • 1,379
  • [IOC] IOC
  • Member since:
    01-21-2016

View Postbluestealth, on Mar 15 2017 - 22:42, said:

 

According to my calculations, this means the fix should be deployed to the live server in roughly...6.8 months.  Good work everyone.

 

Guess we'll see.

 

Get your table flips ready.



AirG #42 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 06:17

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 40056 battles
  • 440
  • [-G-] -G-
  • Member since:
    03-10-2011


Bavor #43 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 06:33

    Major

  • Players
  • 28095 battles
  • 2,260
  • [REL2] REL2
  • Member since:
    04-21-2013

I've been having lag issues in game where I can't control my tank for several seconds at a time and tanks teleport.  I did all the usual stuff Support suggested in the past and I'm running a fresh install of WoT and have the latest drivers on my PC.  I have no other programs running that use bandwidth.

 

Here are my results after running pingplotter for 10 hours.  I used the NA East server IP address in the WOT Wiki.  I did this on the 14th before I saw this thread:

 

When I do get ping issues to the NA East server showing up with pingplotter, they seem to happen at:

dc11-n5596-fe-1-vl231.fe.core.pw

However I didn't see them at that time I ran PingPlotter.

 

I'll try this again with the address in the original post of this thread.



Doomslinger #44 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 07:35

    Major

  • Players
  • 59758 battles
  • 5,652
  • Member since:
    07-29-2012

I ran this yesterday. Compared to some others, mine actually looks quite good with almost no packet loss but in game it is a different story. Usually when the server hits around 20k or higher it starts to really lag for me in the evenings here on NA East. This is usually from 5pm to 10 pm EST. I will have to try testing during non peak and peak server times and see. I ran this for around 20 min but it only shows the last 10 min on the graph. 

Hop 17 is the NA east wot server. It looks good here but in game it is a different story...



Mad_Dog_Seabee #45 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 11:37

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 8049 battles
  • 1,003
  • [-RG--] -RG--
  • Member since:
    10-07-2015
I am getting 35ms and I still get packet loss, but it seems to be server side. 

globoglobito #46 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 12:05

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 16108 battles
  • 66
  • [QSF] QSF
  • Member since:
    04-30-2011

View PostLostThatLovinFeeling, on Mar 15 2017 - 22:35, said:

 

That graph to me says its on your end. 

 

Not surprised, Europe + Gradschool are not synonymous of quality internet

Grasschopper #47 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 12:34

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 34503 battles
  • 4,262
  • Member since:
    08-24-2014

Thanks for finally doing a thread about this.  This was already sent to "support" but all I got was a cut an paste response.

 

 

This is the replay of the game going on during that pingplot.  You can clearly see the packet loss in game with screen stuttering and the tank jumping.



Styo #48 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 14:18

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 17669 battles
  • 957
  • [-NK-] -NK-
  • Member since:
    08-11-2010

C:\Windows\system32>tracert login-p1.worldoftanks.com

Tracing route to login-p1.worldoftanks.com [162.216.229.22]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  router.asus.com [192.168.1.1]
  2    13 ms    11 ms     9 ms  174.115.170.1
  3    14 ms    14 ms    10 ms  69.63.255.93
  4    20 ms    15 ms    22 ms  209.148.230.157
  5    15 ms    13 ms    18 ms  209.148.229.210
  6    51 ms    49 ms    51 ms  be812.ccr41.ord03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.9.9]
  7    51 ms    57 ms    50 ms  be2765.ccr41.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.45.17]
  8    57 ms    61 ms    58 ms  be2717.ccr21.cle04.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.6.222]
  9    70 ms    69 ms    69 ms  be2891.ccr41.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.82.250]
 10    70 ms    70 ms    72 ms  be3083.ccr41.iad02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.30.54]
 11    74 ms     *       74 ms  38.88.214.162
 12   121 ms    75 ms    79 ms  dc11-n5596-fe-1-vl231.fe.core.pw [92.223.118.163]
 13    72 ms    70 ms    70 ms  dc11-sl-b22.fe.core.pw [162.216.229.22]

Trace complete.

 

Still trying to make sense of this, but why am I being routed to Kansas? That would make sense why my ping is awful, it's going to West/Central then back east.

https://tools.keycdn...host=154.54.9.9

 

Edit: That must be wrong, login-p1.worldoftanks.com also give a geo location in Kansas?


Edited by Styo, Mar 16 2017 - 14:21.


JLO3 #49 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 16:02

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 6306 battles
  • 3
  • [DHO2] DHO2
  • Member since:
    03-18-2015

View PostStyo, on Mar 16 2017 - 14:18, said:

C:\Windows\system32>tracert login-p1.worldoftanks.com

Tracing route to login-p1.worldoftanks.com [162.216.229.22]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  router.asus.com [192.168.1.1]
  2    13 ms    11 ms     9 ms  174.115.170.1
  3    14 ms    14 ms    10 ms  69.63.255.93
  4    20 ms    15 ms    22 ms  209.148.230.157
  5    15 ms    13 ms    18 ms  209.148.229.210
  6    51 ms    49 ms    51 ms  be812.ccr41.ord03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.9.9]
  7    51 ms    57 ms    50 ms  be2765.ccr41.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.45.17]
  8    57 ms    61 ms    58 ms  be2717.ccr21.cle04.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.6.222]
  9    70 ms    69 ms    69 ms  be2891.ccr41.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.82.250]
 10    70 ms    70 ms    72 ms  be3083.ccr41.iad02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.30.54]
 11    74 ms     *       74 ms  38.88.214.162
 12   121 ms    75 ms    79 ms  dc11-n5596-fe-1-vl231.fe.core.pw [92.223.118.163]
 13    72 ms    70 ms    70 ms  dc11-sl-b22.fe.core.pw [162.216.229.22]

Trace complete.

 

Still trying to make sense of this, but why am I being routed to Kansas? That would make sense why my ping is awful, it's going to West/Central then back east.

https://tools.keycdn...host=154.54.9.9

 

Edit: That must be wrong, login-p1.worldoftanks.com also give a geo location in Kansas?

 

Looks like it dropped a pin in the exact middle of the US. Prob didn't have an actual coordinate so it defaulted to center.



Morty__ #50 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 16:11

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 15064 battles
  • 146
  • [DIMBO] DIMBO
  • Member since:
    10-25-2015

View PostSpamNCan, on Mar 16 2017 - 04:15, said:

** Update to first post above **

I have re-rerouted my connection through telia using a static route rather than the dynamic one in the above post. This time I am using this route through Telia:

ash-bb4-link.telia.net 213.155.133.9

rest-b1.link.telia.net 62.115.117.118

 

I no longer have huge lag spikes, miss fires, driving off cliffs. This is evidence that the initial route (below) is the cause for our woes. Clients using this route will experience the reported issues.

ash-bb3-link.telia.net
ash-b1-link.telia.net

 

** 1 Quick Fix

If you go through the affected Telia route, try VPN to viriginia (if you want to play US East). Working solution for me. 

 

 

 

I also seem to be getting more lag spikes when I go through telia. How do you "VPN to virginia"?

Styo #51 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 16:18

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 17669 battles
  • 957
  • [-NK-] -NK-
  • Member since:
    08-11-2010

View PostJLO3, on Mar 16 2017 - 10:02, said:

 

Looks like it dropped a pin in the exact middle of the US. Prob didn't have an actual coordinate so it defaulted to center.

 

Yep, my thoughts as well.

 

You can use a VPN service. I have PIA VPN and I still get lag spike on most of them. The last few hops is where the issue is for me. 



Gurdy2383 #52 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 17:09

    Captain

  • Players
  • 46147 battles
  • 1,002
  • Member since:
    11-05-2012

Experiencing in-game stutters on both East and West servers. Have not experienced this until 9.17.

 

East:

 

West:

 



Sacula #53 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 17:21

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 16927 battles
  • 259
  • [FADES] FADES
  • Member since:
    08-30-2011

I would post mine but it would take pages just to fit all the canned replies for your customer service.

 

Ticket #995403



timelabor #54 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 18:04

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 27885 battles
  • 118
  • Member since:
    01-01-2015

Run several -- but this one is typical -- Packet loses at same locations each time.  Overall packet loss at 10% -- that was this morning... so not the heavy traffic times.

 

I would post the ping-plot... but I always get a the "Post to large" message -- I've cropped, cut, and reduced the size to 100Kb -- still too large to post.  If someone here can help me with that problem I will gladly post the plots.

 

Charlotte NC -- East Server -- routing through Ashville NC(consistent packet losses there and ping anomalies) -- and packet losses at WoT terminus.  13 total hops.  Biggest Ping spikes were at the DC routers right before hitting WoT server.

 

 



The_Illusive_Man #55 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 18:12

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 11041 battles
  • 1,404
  • [DICE] DICE
  • Member since:
    08-30-2014

View Posttimelabor, on Mar 16 2017 - 13:04, said:

Run several -- but this one is typical -- Packet loses at same locations each time.  Overall packet loss at 10% -- that was this morning... so not the heavy traffic times.

 

I would post the ping-plot... but I always get a the "Post to large" message -- I've cropped, cut, and reduced the size to 100Kb -- still too large to post.  If someone here can help me with that problem I will gladly post the plots.

 

Charlotte NC -- East Server -- routing through Ashville NC(consistent packet losses there and ping anomalies) -- and packet losses at WoT terminus.  13 total hops.  Biggest Ping spikes were at the DC routers right before hitting WoT server.

 

 

 

Upload to imgur, copy the "BB code" bit, and post.

WorldConqueror #56 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 18:16

    Captain

  • Players
  • 28826 battles
  • 1,432
  • [5LINE] 5LINE
  • Member since:
    02-19-2011

View PostAbsolute_Territory, on Mar 15 2017 - 23:53, said:

 

The problem only exists on NA East. If you play on West you will have none of the issues reported in this thread. 

 

That's entirely untrue.



landedkiller #57 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 18:32

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 7767 battles
  • 1,355
  • Member since:
    04-01-2013

View PostGhostPrime, on Mar 15 2017 - 15:23, said:

Hello tankers! 

 

We have been receiving reports of lag issues. We are currently investigating the cause of these issues and we would like to ask for your help if you are affected by the issue.

Please help us by downloading our check tool and running it during the time you are experiencing lag.

 

We would like to ask you to please compile and post an image of your Pingplotter log showing the packet loss.

 

You can download the Standard version of Pingplotter at the following:
https://www.pingplotter.com/download.html](https://www.pingplotter.com/download.html

 

 

Please follow these steps to perform a trace at the time you are experiencing Lag in game:

 

1. First please close all open applications (Including the Game) and torrents, DC-clients, ICQ, Web Browsers (IE, Firefox, Chrome, Opera and the like), and Mail clients etc. As these can interfere with the connection test results.
2. Launch Pingplotter and maximize the window.
3. Change the Trace Interval option in the lower left hand corner to 2.5 seconds.
4. In the "Target Name" field please type in the IP address of the server you are experiencing difficulties on and then press enter.

: login-p2.worldoftanks.com for World of Tanks West
: login-p1.worldoftanks.com for World of Tanks East

5. *Please allow this test to run for at least 20 minutes*
6. Please take a screenshot of the trace.

7. Finally, please reply to this thread with the results and a description of what kind of problem you were experiencing in-game (lag, freezing, disconnects).

 

We apologize for the inconvenience while we identify and fix the issue. Thank you for your help and understanding while we investigate this issue. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do a server maintenance at night and fix what needs to be fixed

timelabor #58 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 18:34

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 27885 battles
  • 118
  • Member since:
    01-01-2015

View PostSpamNCan, on Mar 15 2017 - 22:15, said:

** Update to first post above **

I have re-rerouted my connection through telia using a static route rather than the dynamic one in the above post. This time I am using this route through Telia:

ash-bb4-link.telia.net 213.155.133.9

rest-b1.link.telia.net 62.115.117.118

 

I no longer have huge lag spikes, miss fires, driving off cliffs. This is evidence that the initial route (below) is the cause for our woes. Clients using this route will experience the reported issues.

ash-bb3-link.telia.net
ash-b1-link.telia.net

 

** 1 Quick Fix

If you go through the affected Telia route, try VPN to viriginia (if you want to play US East). Working solution for me. 

 

 

 

I'm in Charlotte NC - my routing is much the same as yours and I see the same packet drops and ping anomalies -- how did you force the static assignment - I'd love to try that... thanks!

enjineer #59 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 19:33

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 41504 battles
  • 2,395
  • [SIMP] SIMP
  • Member since:
    12-07-2010

View PostSpamNCan, on Mar 15 2017 - 22:15, said:

** Update to first post above **

I have re-rerouted my connection through telia using a static route rather than the dynamic one in the above post. This time I am using this route through Telia:

ash-bb4-link.telia.net 213.155.133.9

rest-b1.link.telia.net 62.115.117.118

 

I no longer have huge lag spikes, miss fires, driving off cliffs. This is evidence that the initial route (below) is the cause for our woes. Clients using this route will experience the reported issues.

ash-bb3-link.telia.net
ash-b1-link.telia.net

 

** 1 Quick Fix

If you go through the affected Telia route, try VPN to viriginia (if you want to play US East). Working solution for me. 

 

 

 

What are using for VPN?

_wikkid #60 Posted Mar 16 2017 - 19:50

    Major

  • Players
  • 31341 battles
  • 2,234
  • Member since:
    02-27-2013

Done with this game, done with this Company.

 

I am tired of spending money and time, to only have the game unplayable patch after patch.

Keep your game WG, I will keep my money and my time.

 

Spoiler

 

/uninstall






3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users