Jump to content


WGC broken in latest Win10 Creators update/patch

win10 wgc

8 replies to this topic

Gary_Gyganks #1 Posted Apr 11 2017 - 01:08

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 328 battles
  • 8
  • [D-D-E] D-D-E
  • Member since:
    03-24-2015

Patched to latest windows, WG Game Center no longer launches.  

 

Uninstalled, re-downloaded, and it wont install. 

 

When double clicking the install file, an icon briefly appears on the task bar, but nothing on the screen.  This lasts 2-3 seconds then the icon disappears. 

 

Any advice appreciated

edit - tried running as admin as well, of course

 


Edited by Gary_Gyganks, Apr 11 2017 - 01:10.


diesel__1 #2 Posted Apr 11 2017 - 01:47

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 7909 battles
  • 6,542
  • Member since:
    04-27-2015
If you're running Nvidia , reinstall the latest driver.  I had to do that ...not for WoT's, but for a difference program.  After that....works fine. 

Gary_Gyganks #3 Posted Apr 11 2017 - 01:51

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 328 battles
  • 8
  • [D-D-E] D-D-E
  • Member since:
    03-24-2015

I have the latest AMD (17.4.1) (i installed them after updating to win10 creator just in case they had fixed stuff for win10)

 



CrocJawOriginal2003 #4 Posted Apr 11 2017 - 09:25

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 27905 battles
  • 34
  • [2HARM] 2HARM
  • Member since:
    12-03-2013
I have been trying to play my WOT  since yesterday. the game center would not patch so I tried to uninstall it so I could go around it and play WOT. That did not work. says I need wargaming.net game center....So I have not been able to play since then. Everything I try sends me to the support center. When I try to find and download it again it just gives me troubleshooting for something else that don't work and no where does it tell me a dam thing that is helpful. I just woke in the middle of the night to try something else but it didn't work...I tried to uninstall world of warships so I could reinstall it and get going again.......guess what it says?  I need wargaming.net game center....I am so mad that I cannot play my game.....

Edited by CrocJawOriginal2003, Apr 11 2017 - 09:26.


DustoMan #5 Posted Apr 11 2017 - 18:11

    Private

  • Players
  • 4073 battles
  • 5
  • [_UD_] _UD_
  • Member since:
    08-26-2012

I was able to fix this by running the installer file in compatibility mode selecting Windows 7. Right click the installer -> Properties -> Compatibility tab -> Check "Run this Program in Compatibility Mode". Select Windows 7 in the drop down.



Gary_Gyganks #6 Posted Apr 12 2017 - 09:51

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 328 battles
  • 8
  • [D-D-E] D-D-E
  • Member since:
    03-24-2015

Thank you!  

 

I had tried this, and it did not work.  But after you said it did, I went back, and this time made sure to do the extra step of clicking "Change settings for all users." and it launches! (I dont know why i haveto change it for other users, when theres just one user on this machine, in admin group, and im running it as admin, but hey its MS)

 

Now my problem is... it is launching on my onboard video intel chipset.  which isnt attached to a real monitor, but a virtual one created my windows.  Normally, you'd hold SHIFT and right click on the task bar icon, and select move, but this app has no right click menu!  ARG  

 

Now to google how to make it display on an actual monitor that exists.

EDIT - click on the misbehaving app on task bar, then WIN+SHIFT+Left Arrow Key (a few times to cycle to correct monitor)

 

Im back in business!

 

 


Edited by Gary_Gyganks, Apr 12 2017 - 10:36.


Psycho_Rivers #7 Posted Apr 18 2017 - 02:11

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 14015 battles
  • 541
  • Member since:
    11-28-2011

View PostDustoMan, on Apr 11 2017 - 12:11, said:

I was able to fix this by running the installer file in compatibility mode selecting Windows 7. Right click the installer -> Properties -> Compatibility tab -> Check "Run this Program in Compatibility Mode". Select Windows 7 in the drop down.

 

Dude. I was just about tell my sad story about how its now working....til i read your fix. absolutely the greatest. Nice job!

Stadlen #8 Posted Apr 29 2017 - 06:38

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 52 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    11-13-2015
Sad that the players have to come up with a workaround for their broken installer

Plathor #9 Posted Apr 30 2017 - 07:23

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 7705 battles
  • 31
  • [CLADY] CLADY
  • Member since:
    07-17-2013
This fix worked for me. you need to sticky this to the main forum page, Gameplay Discussion. 



Reply to this topic



  



Also tagged with win10, wgc

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users