Jump to content


WGC broke my internet


11 replies to this topic

ali3rd #1 Posted May 19 2017 - 05:03

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 16177 battles
  • 43
  • Member since:
    01-27-2014

*posting this from my phone

I tried to update Wows today may 15, and it stopped halfway because it lost internet connection, so I check my WiFi, cables, router, WiFi USB, but there's no problem, I can use the WiFi un other devices.

So I rollback my pc to 2 days ago and it fixed my problem, never finding the cause.

I tried to update wows again, and the same thing happened, but now I can't rollback my pc again.

So now I am with no internet connection because of wgc, as it's the only possible cause.

Any help is appreciated



TanklessMouse5 #2 Posted May 19 2017 - 06:58

    Major

  • Players
  • 25711 battles
  • 2,070
  • [ANVIL] ANVIL
  • Member since:
    02-12-2013
This seems like you are on the wrong forums, should you not be contacting support and or posting on the WoWS forums where it is more likely people have come across this issue? And just from my point of view, I highly doubt WG "breaking your internet" I feel like there is more causes on your side, not WG...

ali3rd #3 Posted May 19 2017 - 07:02

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 16177 battles
  • 43
  • Member since:
    01-27-2014

View PostTanklessMouse5, on May 18 2017 - 23:58, said:

This seems like you are on the wrong forums, should you not be contacting support and or posting on the WoWS forums where it is more likely people have come across this issue? And just from my point of view, I highly doubt WG "breaking your internet" I feel like there is more causes on your side, not WG...

 

Already contacting via ticket, but still posted in case someone here got the same problem. After some testing I confirmed the problem is in either wgc or the wows update, but trying to find more info on the internet on my phone is taking time. At least WG responded within minutes to my ticket and got them a dxdiag file they requested

hybridwolf #4 Posted Jun 05 2017 - 02:52

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 44996 battles
  • 10
  • [H1VOC] H1VOC
  • Member since:
    04-30-2011

View PostTanklessMouse5, on May 19 2017 - 06:58, said:

This seems like you are on the wrong forums, should you not be contacting support and or posting on the WoWS forums where it is more likely people have come across this issue? And just from my point of view, I highly doubt WG "breaking your internet" I feel like there is more causes on your side, not WG...

 

Funny, I had the same problem. It was NOT on MY side. WGC is a crap work and the only way I FIXED my internet was to uninstall and restart. If this program is required to play WG games, I guess I will no longer be playing.

 



m2hmghb #5 Posted Jun 05 2017 - 21:09

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 21716 battles
  • 307
  • Member since:
    05-04-2011
That's not breaking the internet. That's interfering with your networking devices/adapters. Have you tried to install the latest drivers for them? I would suggest checking with your motherboard manufacturer or with the company who assembled your computer.

Flamadiddle #6 Posted Jun 06 2017 - 19:00

    Private

  • Players
  • 1064 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    08-11-2011
I'm having the same, if not worse, issue was OP. 
While reinstalling any WG game using the WGC my computer pretty much bricks. Disk usage goes to 99%, thus programs won't open. My DNS goes out and borks the internet from working while the WGC hogs all the bandwidth.

It doesn't listen to me when I tell it not to boot with the computer. Had to uninstall and find old installers of WoT/WoWs.

Please fix your patcher and put up the links to the old installers instead of forcing new players to use this broken program.

ali3rd #7 Posted Jun 06 2017 - 23:59

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 16177 battles
  • 43
  • Member since:
    01-27-2014

View PostFlamadiddle, on Jun 06 2017 - 12:00, said:

I'm having the same, if not worse, issue was OP. 
While reinstalling any WG game using the WGC my computer pretty much bricks. Disk usage goes to 99%, thus programs won't open. My DNS goes out and borks the internet from working while the WGC hogs all the bandwidth.

It doesn't listen to me when I tell it not to boot with the computer. Had to uninstall and find old installers of WoT/WoWs.

Please fix your patcher and put up the links to the old installers instead of forcing new players to use this broken program.

 

I simply reinstalled wot and wows, and have given up on even trying to play wowp again, WGC has too many problems. Just don't use WGC at all, not worth all the issues that wg can't fix

Azriella #8 Posted Jun 09 2017 - 18:20

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 2255 battles
  • 60
  • [-D1G-] -D1G-
  • Member since:
    11-28-2015
I've never had an issue, I don't see why so many people are having them.  I'm assuming you didn't back up your computer?  You may have to just reinstall Windows if you want your internet back.  

ali3rd #9 Posted Jun 09 2017 - 19:09

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 16177 battles
  • 43
  • Member since:
    01-27-2014

View PostAzriella, on Jun 09 2017 - 11:20, said:

I've never had an issue, I don't see why so many people are having them.  I'm assuming you didn't back up your computer?  You may have to just reinstall Windows if you want your internet back.  

 

The worst part is apparently WG themselves don't even understand the problem, yet push you to use WGC when it still has unresolved problems. Windows backup, or just a good antivirus does the fix.

arrrgh #10 Posted Jun 19 2017 - 04:24

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 62272 battles
  • 130
  • [SIMP] SIMP
  • Member since:
    03-26-2011

Yup, it broke mine as well

 

Starting 2-3 days ago, I was getting 17% packetloss.  VERY consistent.  every 6th packet lost.   I eventually identified it as WGC.   If I killed that process, no packet loss.  Launch that process, packeloss

 

I then modified the settings, to

- disable uploads.  

- uncheck automatically update installed games

- uncheck download updates in advance

- download speed throttled at 128kps

 

I have no patches to download, so there should be ZERO network activity by WGC.  (I have tanks, wows, and wowp installed)

 

With WGC running, and all the torrent options as disabled as possible, I every 5th to 8th packet jumps from 1ms to about 80-90 just getting to my router.   If I kill WGC, it goes away.

Something is DEEPLY broken with its network activity.


 



TsarCidron #11 Posted Jun 19 2017 - 04:29

    Major

  • Players
  • 5579 battles
  • 6,472
  • [RAIDM] RAIDM
  • Member since:
    03-16-2012
Dont you worry, Wargaming has its finest programmers and troubleshooters on the job !!!

arrrgh #12 Posted Jun 23 2017 - 03:44

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 62272 battles
  • 130
  • [SIMP] SIMP
  • Member since:
    03-26-2011

You can run WOT by just running the executable directly.  This skips WGC.  In that case, you only need to run WGC if you need an update.

 

eg C:\games\World_of_Tanks\WorldOfTanks.exe





Reply to this topic



  


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users