Jump to content


World of Tanks Minimum Requirements


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

Slatherer #21 Posted Jul 26 2017 - 04:04

    Major

  • Players
  • 27506 battles
  • 2,601
  • Member since:
    01-21-2014
so no one knows the minimum hardware to run maximum specs?

Bavor #22 Posted Jul 26 2017 - 06:22

    Major

  • Players
  • 27989 battles
  • 2,237
  • [REL2] REL2
  • Member since:
    04-21-2013

View PostSlatherer, on Jul 24 2017 - 19:09, said:

Are those recommended specs to run the highest graphic settings? If not, what would the minimum specs to run the highest graphic settings?

 

That's a really vague question without more info.

 

What resolution? 1920x1080 and 2560x1440 and 3440x1440 and 2560x1080 all have different hardware requirements.

Do you mean the "Maximum" preset, which isn't the highest details setting or all the detail settings at their highest?

What is an acceptable average FPS and minimum FPS?

With or without mods installed?



HowitzerBlitzer #23 Posted Jul 26 2017 - 07:19

    Major

  • Players
  • 13358 battles
  • 7,238
  • Member since:
    06-16-2013

View PostCutthroatlemur, on Jul 25 2017 - 09:41, said:

it's still better than Vista

 

Vista's problems went away after the first half year of updates, later versions are completely fine. The poor release compared to XP's was what kept everyone from upgrading. And besides, it's very similar to Windows 7 which many still run today.

 

And you're still saying it's not wrong for WG to recommend an operating system that lost interactive support years ago? Everyone on these forums jumps to conclusions without reading posts.

Read what I said for crying out loud, typical Americans.

View PostHowitzerBlitzer, on Jul 24 2017 - 19:22, said:

My point is that it should only be under 'minimum,' and not 'recommended.' Because they support an outdated platform doesn't mean that they should recommend it.

 



Slatherer #24 Posted Jul 26 2017 - 23:39

    Major

  • Players
  • 27506 battles
  • 2,601
  • Member since:
    01-21-2014

View PostBavor, on Jul 25 2017 - 21:22, said:

 

That's a really vague question without more info.

 

What resolution? 1920x1080 and 2560x1440 and 3440x1440 and 2560x1080 all have different hardware requirements.

Do you mean the "Maximum" preset, which isn't the highest details setting or all the detail settings at their highest?

What is an acceptable average FPS and minimum FPS?

With or without mods installed?

 

 

Ah, ok.

 

1920 X 1080p, max game graphic settings, 90fps min., no mods.

 

Thx.



moogleslam #25 Posted Jul 26 2017 - 23:45

    Major

  • Players
  • 26114 battles
  • 2,563
  • [REL-A] REL-A
  • Member since:
    12-20-2013

View PostSlatherer, on Jul 26 2017 - 18:39, said:

 

 

Ah, ok.

 

1920 X 1080p, max game graphic settings, 90fps min., no mods.

 

Thx.

 

Do you have a monitor that's capable of more than 60fps?  90fps is a pretty random number.  Monitors are typically 60, 75, 100, 120, 144, 165, 200Hz.

CabbageMechanic #26 Posted Jul 27 2017 - 00:33

    Community Coordinator

  • Administrator
  • 6957 battles
  • 73
  • [WGA-A] WGA-A
  • Member since:
    09-19-2010

View Postmoogleslam, on Jul 25 2017 - 05:13, said:

 

This should say "Hard Drive Space" :)

 

Yup!

As for the other comments, I don't write the min specs, but they are written specifically from the perspective of what will run the game.  We are definitely not in the business of recommending operating systems for general use.  Fair points that XP is quite long in the tooth though.

Bavor #27 Posted Jul 27 2017 - 01:07

    Major

  • Players
  • 27989 battles
  • 2,237
  • [REL2] REL2
  • Member since:
    04-21-2013

View PostSlatherer, on Jul 26 2017 - 17:39, said:

Ah, ok.

 

1920 X 1080p, max game graphic settings, 90fps min., no mods.

 

Thx.

 

At 1920x1080 a computer with a newer i5 processor, 8 GB of RAM, and a GTX 970 might be able to barely average 90 FPS at 1920x1080 with all the graphics detail settings turned up and TSAA-HQ enabled based on tests I've done before.

 

90 FPS doesn't correlate with a common monitor refresh rate at 1920x1080.  Most 1920x1080 monitors use refresh rates of 60 Hz, 75 Hz, 100 Hz, 120 Hz, and 144 Hz.



Slatherer #28 Posted Jul 28 2017 - 01:47

    Major

  • Players
  • 27506 battles
  • 2,601
  • Member since:
    01-21-2014

View PostBavor, on Jul 26 2017 - 16:07, said:

 

At 1920x1080 a computer with a newer i5 processor, 8 GB of RAM, and a GTX 970 might be able to barely average 90 FPS at 1920x1080 with all the graphics detail settings turned up and TSAA-HQ enabled based on tests I've done before.

 

90 FPS doesn't correlate with a common monitor refresh rate at 1920x1080.  Most 1920x1080 monitors use refresh rates of 60 Hz, 75 Hz, 100 Hz, 120 Hz, and 144 Hz.

 

Ah.  Maybe I should reverse the issue.  I have an older i7 with 16gb ram.  My monitor is 1920x1080 at 60hz.  I have played WoT without a GPU since the beginning.  When I first started playing the game, I could play it on all the minimum settings and get about 50fps.  Time has passed and all the patches have reduced my framrate to 22-30fps, which is very frustrating because whenever a shrub goes in front of my viewscreen, my fps dips and stutters.

 

I'd like to get a GPU and have saved up for one.  I am looking at the nvidia 1050 ti 4gb and the nvidia 1060 3gb.  The 1060 6gb is a bit out of my price range.  

 

The reason why I said 90fps is because I know over time the fps will start to dip as requirements go up.  I just want to keep it above 60fps to keep the max available (perhaps my logic is wrong).  90 was also stated due to my video experience (30fps and multiples thereafter).

 

So I hope that clarifies some things (even if some of my logic is flawed).  I'm not wedded to nvidia, but its the one I am most familiar with.  Just looking for a card I can max settings on, given my existing setup.

 

Thanks!



Striker_70 #29 Posted Jul 28 2017 - 02:16

    Major

  • Players
  • 18477 battles
  • 5,179
  • Member since:
    04-02-2013

View PostDarkbee2Bee, on Jul 25 2017 - 06:57, said:

Minimum Requirements => The game will load but not much else.

Recommended Requirements => The game will be barely playable.

 

Minimum means the game will play but you'll probably get bad framerates even at minimum everything.

 

The recommended requirements above will play the game very well.  You could play on high/maximum most settings at 1080p with an average of 60fps with that.



Striker_70 #30 Posted Jul 28 2017 - 02:33

    Major

  • Players
  • 18477 battles
  • 5,179
  • Member since:
    04-02-2013

View PostSlatherer, on Jul 27 2017 - 18:47, said:

 

Ah.  Maybe I should reverse the issue.  I have an older i7 with 16gb ram.  My monitor is 1920x1080 at 60hz.  I have played WoT without a GPU since the beginning.  When I first started playing the game, I could play it on all the minimum settings and get about 50fps.  Time has passed and all the patches have reduced my framrate to 22-30fps, which is very frustrating because whenever a shrub goes in front of my viewscreen, my fps dips and stutters.

 

I'd like to get a GPU and have saved up for one.  I am looking at the nvidia 1050 ti 4gb and the nvidia 1060 3gb.  The 1060 6gb is a bit out of my price range.  

 

The reason why I said 90fps is because I know over time the fps will start to dip as requirements go up.  I just want to keep it above 60fps to keep the max available (perhaps my logic is wrong).  90 was also stated due to my video experience (30fps and multiples thereafter).

 

So I hope that clarifies some things (even if some of my logic is flawed).  I'm not wedded to nvidia, but its the one I am most familiar with.  Just looking for a card I can max settings on, given my existing setup.

 

Thanks!

 

I have a 1050 ti 4GB and run the HD client, the highest quality settings for everything besides flora density and motion blur (both of which I don't like), and FXAA at over 60fps at 1080p.  I'm usually getting about 100+fps.

 

The 1060 3GB will be far faster than the 1050Ti, nearly double, but the 3GB of ram will limit you in future games (and possibly the upcoming HD maps).  But if it's a choice between the 1060 and 1050 Ti, I'd go with the 1060.  Then if I actually needed more than that 3GB in the future, just sell the 3GB and get the 6GB for a little more.



Slatherer #31 Posted Jul 28 2017 - 15:10

    Major

  • Players
  • 27506 battles
  • 2,601
  • Member since:
    01-21-2014

View PostStriker_70, on Jul 27 2017 - 17:33, said:

 

I have a 1050 ti 4GB and run the HD client, the highest quality settings for everything besides flora density and motion blur (both of which I don't like), and FXAA at over 60fps at 1080p.  I'm usually getting about 100+fps.

 

The 1060 3GB will be far faster than the 1050Ti, nearly double, but the 3GB of ram will limit you in future games (and possibly the upcoming HD maps).  But if it's a choice between the 1060 and 1050 Ti, I'd go with the 1060.  Then if I actually needed more than that 3GB in the future, just sell the 3GB and get the 6GB for a little more.

 

thanks for the info.  I think ill save a bit more for the 6 gig 1060 card.  Just hoping prices will start to drop soon... so much mining.  thats gotta stop, or something.

Bavor #32 Posted Jul 28 2017 - 20:47

    Major

  • Players
  • 27989 battles
  • 2,237
  • [REL2] REL2
  • Member since:
    04-21-2013

View PostSlatherer, on Jul 27 2017 - 19:47, said:

 

Ah.  Maybe I should reverse the issue.  I have an older i7 with 16gb ram.  My monitor is 1920x1080 at 60hz.  I have played WoT without a GPU since the beginning.  When I first started playing the game, I could play it on all the minimum settings and get about 50fps.  Time has passed and all the patches have reduced my framrate to 22-30fps, which is very frustrating because whenever a shrub goes in front of my viewscreen, my fps dips and stutters.

 

I'd like to get a GPU and have saved up for one.  I am looking at the nvidia 1050 ti 4gb and the nvidia 1060 3gb.  The 1060 6gb is a bit out of my price range.  

 

The reason why I said 90fps is because I know over time the fps will start to dip as requirements go up.  I just want to keep it above 60fps to keep the max available (perhaps my logic is wrong).  90 was also stated due to my video experience (30fps and multiples thereafter).

 

So I hope that clarifies some things (even if some of my logic is flawed).  I'm not wedded to nvidia, but its the one I am most familiar with.  Just looking for a card I can max settings on, given my existing setup.

 

Thanks!

 

Even when playing at 3440x1440 and 4K resolution, WoT rarely uses 3 GB of video memory.  The GTX 1060 3GB could work well for you.  If you can't find an affordable GTX 1060, then a used GTX 970 may work well also.  I've seen them for $160-$200 on eBay and hardware for sale forums lately.  Another thing to consider is you can get a GTX 1050 ti that doesn't need an extra power connector while a GTX 1060 will require the extra power connector from your power supply.

 

Also, if you go to EVGA's web site they often have B stock graphics cards for a good discount.  They are either warranty returns that were repaired or open box returns or discontinued models.  EVGA's online B stock store sometimes have 4 GB GTX 1050 ti cards for under $130.

https://www.evga.com/products/productlist.aspx?type=8&family=GeForce+10+Series+Family&chipset=GTX+1050+Ti

 

Wargaming claims that when the high res maps are introduced that they will not cause a reduction in frame rate.  I'm not sure if that will be true.



Slatherer #33 Posted Jul 29 2017 - 02:14

    Major

  • Players
  • 27506 battles
  • 2,601
  • Member since:
    01-21-2014

View PostBavor, on Jul 28 2017 - 11:47, said:

 

Even when playing at 3440x1440 and 4K resolution, WoT rarely uses 3 GB of video memory.  The GTX 1060 3GB could work well for you.  If you can't find an affordable GTX 1060, then a used GTX 970 may work well also.  I've seen them for $160-$200 on eBay and hardware for sale forums lately.  Another thing to consider is you can get a GTX 1050 ti that doesn't need an extra power connector while a GTX 1060 will require the extra power connector from your power supply.

 

Also, if you go to EVGA's web site they often have B stock graphics cards for a good discount.  They are either warranty returns that were repaired or open box returns or discontinued models.  EVGA's online B stock store sometimes have 4 GB GTX 1050 ti cards for under $130.

https://www.evga.com/products/productlist.aspx?type=8&family=GeForce+10+Series+Family&chipset=GTX+1050+Ti

 

Wargaming claims that when the high res maps are introduced that they will not cause a reduction in frame rate.  I'm not sure if that will be true.

 

Didn't consider their website.  Thx for the info!



Fulcrous__O_OII #34 Posted Aug 02 2017 - 02:23

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 13
  • Member since:
    07-27-2017
I definitely know my computer at home will run this game... we'll see how good the quality is though.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users