Jump to content


WoT Mac Wrapper v2.0.10 Is Now Available - Please Read


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

black_colt #1 Posted Jul 28 2017 - 17:02

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 3360 battles
  • 1,834
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

The WoT Mac Wrapper v2.0.10 that corrects the failure to connect to servers issues is now available.

 

However it appears that older versions of the WoT Mac Wrapper do not automatically update to v2.0.10.

 

I have reached out to CodeWeavers to see if this is an expected condition and will advise when new information becomes available.



black_colt #2 Posted Jul 28 2017 - 17:54

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 3360 battles
  • 1,834
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

UPDATE: The current WoT Mac Wrapper WILL NOT update itself to v2.0.10.  Individuals will need to download and install the DMG from Wargaming.

 

Steps to Follow:

 

Download and install the Studly Utility if you have not already done so.

 

Open the Finder – go to Documents – then WoT.  Duplicate your [replays] folder and move to the Desktop

 

If you are running MODs – go to the MOD provider and make sure that their MODs will run on v0.9.19.1.1 of the game

 

Quit the WoT Mac Wrapper and ensure all world_of_tanks processes are closed.

 

Use [Activity Monitor] to force-quit any rogue processes.

 

Launch the Studly Utility

 

Click on [World of Tanks] then [General] then [Delete Completely]

 

NOTE: The following step will completely delete ALL of the WoT Mac Wrapper including the [replays] folder.

 

Click on [OK] to confirm you are aware and consent to having the WoT Mac Wrapper and ALL components removed.

 

You will not be notified when this is complete. It only takes a moment for the Studly Utility to complete this task.

 

Click on [Live Server] and click on the region appropriate server. Your browser will open and download the latest WoT Mac Wrapper

 

Go to the Finder and empty [Trash]

 

Open and install [using the instructions provided in the dialog box] the WoT Mac Wrapper that your browser just downloaded..

 

When complete, launch the WoT Mac Wrapper and let the game download any updates.

 

Click on [PLAY]



CapnNoahJoJo03 #3 Posted Jul 28 2017 - 17:59

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 8197 battles
  • 51
  • [CEASS] CEASS
  • Member since:
    04-08-2016
Why all the hard work and effort. I don't want to sound ungrateful but I suck at technology, couldn't they have taken the time to make it update automatically?

black_colt #4 Posted Jul 28 2017 - 18:51

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 3360 battles
  • 1,834
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostCapnNoahJoJo03, on Jul 28 2017 - 08:59, said:

Why all the hard work and effort. I don't want to sound ungrateful but I suck at technology, couldn't they have taken the time to make it update automatically?

 

This is because of Sparkle, the Open Source software update framework used by the WoT Mac Wrapper, is busted.

 

So to re-enable Sparkle you need to download the DMG again. 

 

Sparkle in v2.0.10 of the WoT Mac Wrapper is not busted so you will start to get updates to the WoT Mac Wrapper through the WoT Mac Wrapper going forward.

 


Edited by black_colt, Jul 28 2017 - 19:14.


Texas_Vet #5 Posted Jul 28 2017 - 19:07

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 1898 battles
  • 25
  • [ECV] ECV
  • Member since:
    07-18-2015
So for a clean install, since I nuked the old installation, just download the new installer and away I go...  ? 

black_colt #6 Posted Jul 28 2017 - 19:15

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 3360 battles
  • 1,834
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostTexas_Vet, on Jul 28 2017 - 10:07, said:

So for a clean install, since I nuked the old installation, just download the new installer and away I go...  ? 

 

How did you [nuke] the old installation?

Texas_Vet #7 Posted Jul 28 2017 - 19:16

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 1898 battles
  • 25
  • [ECV] ECV
  • Member since:
    07-18-2015
I am unable to launch the installation process.  I assume that I need to clean something.  I have seen a few references to the study utility.  Do you have a link that I can grab it from?  Did a search on this web site for "study utility" and came up with nothing.....

black_colt #8 Posted Jul 28 2017 - 19:19

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 3360 battles
  • 1,834
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostTexas_Vet, on Jul 28 2017 - 10:16, said:

I am unable to launch the installation process.  I assume that I need to clean something.  I have seen a few references to the study utility.  Do you have a link that I can grab it from?  Did a search on this web site for "study utility" and came up with nothing.....

 

Please follow the next steps given as they have reliably worked for me and many others ...

 

Download and install the Studly Utility if you have not already done so.  Here is the link for your convenience - http://forum.worldof...rapper-utility/

 

Open the Finder – go to Documents – then WoT.  Duplicate your [replays] folder and move to the Desktop

 

If you are running MODs – go to the MOD provider and make sure that their MODs will run on v0.9.19.1.1 of the game because you will need to re-install any MODs.

 

Quit the WoT Mac Wrapper and ensure all world_of_tanks processes are closed.

 

Use [Activity Monitor] to force-quit any rogue processes.

 

Launch the Studly Utility

 

Click on [World of Tanks] then [General] then [Delete Completely]

 

NOTE: The following step will completely delete ALL of the WoT Mac Wrapper including the [replays] folder.

 

Click on [OK] to confirm you are aware and consent to having the WoT Mac Wrapper and ALL components removed.

 

You will not be notified when this is complete. It only takes a moment for the Studly Utility to complete this task.

 

Click on [Live Server] and click on the region appropriate server. Your browser will open and download the latest WoT Mac Wrapper

 

Go to the Finder and empty [Trash]

 

Open and install [using the instructions provided in the dialog box] the WoT Mac Wrapper that your browser just downloaded..

 

When complete, launch the WoT Mac Wrapper and let the game download any updates.

 

Click on [PLAY]


Edited by black_colt, Jul 28 2017 - 19:39.


Texas_Vet #9 Posted Jul 28 2017 - 19:47

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 1898 battles
  • 25
  • [ECV] ECV
  • Member since:
    07-18-2015
It took a while to find the Study Utility, but found it, downloaded it, ran it to clean WoT.  Installation connected, and now in progress!

WoT_Hunter #10 Posted Jul 29 2017 - 03:00

    Private

  • Players
  • 5893 battles
  • 5
  • [BITSA] BITSA
  • Member since:
    06-01-2013
FINALLY THANKYOU WG

Augustus_GoldNoob_Sohn #11 Posted Jul 29 2017 - 03:44

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 652 battles
  • 218
  • [WCTNT] WCTNT
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014

Gonna get this running tonight. Thankfully I have no replays nor mods, so that section is easily bypassed. 

 

Thanks as well, black_colt for all your hard work. I am much like Texas_Vet and am not much of a techie guy, so a lot of this is quite literally another language I don't understand. 



Augustus_GoldNoob_Sohn #12 Posted Jul 29 2017 - 11:10

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 652 battles
  • 218
  • [WCTNT] WCTNT
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014

And......IT WORKED!!!!

 

Thanks again for all your help!



dstud208 #13 Posted Jul 29 2017 - 15:15

    Captain

  • Players
  • 17761 battles
  • 1,781
  • [-BRO] -BRO
  • Member since:
    10-15-2012
Thanks Black_Colt. I think I speak for everyone when I say we are grateful for your efforts.

black_colt #14 Posted Jul 29 2017 - 18:39

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 3360 battles
  • 1,834
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View Postdstud208, on Jul 29 2017 - 06:15, said:

Thanks Black_Colt. I think I speak for everyone when I say we are grateful for your efforts.

 

dstud208,

 

Thank you for the kind words but I am still in your debt for all of your hard work in creating the Studly Utility and am just trying to help pay you back.



black_colt #15 Posted Jul 29 2017 - 18:42

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 3360 battles
  • 1,834
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostAugustus_GoldNoob_Sohn, on Jul 29 2017 - 02:10, said:

And......IT WORKED!!!!

 

Thanks again for all your help!

 

I cannot accept more than 1% of the thanks - I just aggregated the knowledge.  99% of the thanks should go to dstud208.

 

IMHO the WoT Mac Wrapper community is in debt to dstud208 for his creation of the Studly Utility.  For if we did not have this app then fixing many issues would be a long and laborious ordeal.


Edited by black_colt, Jul 29 2017 - 18:55.


Augustus_GoldNoob_Sohn #16 Posted Jul 30 2017 - 08:02

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 652 battles
  • 218
  • [WCTNT] WCTNT
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014
Well then- ALL HAIL dstud208!!

dstud208 #17 Posted Jul 31 2017 - 00:46

    Captain

  • Players
  • 17761 battles
  • 1,781
  • [-BRO] -BRO
  • Member since:
    10-15-2012

View PostAugustus_GoldNoob_Sohn, on Jul 30 2017 - 00:02, said:

Well then- ALL HAIL dstud208!!

 

LoL :bush:

amadland #18 Posted Aug 07 2017 - 15:59

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 7742 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    07-05-2013

Is there a way to manually delete the wrapper?  My company blocks the Studly utility (although I have no problem with running WoT...)

 

 



black_colt #19 Posted Aug 07 2017 - 18:19

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 3360 battles
  • 1,834
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View Postamadland, on Aug 07 2017 - 06:59, said:

Is there a way to manually delete the wrapper?  My company blocks the Studly utility (although I have no problem with running WoT...)

 

 

 

Yes - you need to delete the following:

 

World of Tanks  [/Applications/World of Tanks.app]

 

World of Tanks  [~Library/Application Support/World of Tanks]

 

com.codeweavers.worldoftanks  [~/Library/Caches/com.codeweavers.worldoftanks]

 

com.codeweavers.worldoftanks.plist [~/Library/Preferences/com.codeweavers.worldoftanks.plist]

 

 



dstud208 #20 Posted Aug 08 2017 - 01:10

    Captain

  • Players
  • 17761 battles
  • 1,781
  • [-BRO] -BRO
  • Member since:
    10-15-2012
There's also a file in the ~/Library/Saved Application State/ folder I can't remember exactly what it's called but it's something like com.worldoftanks.savedapplicationstate

It is not always there, I haven't been able to figure it out when it shows up or not. But just check and if you see it then kill it, otherwise if it's not there don't sweat about it.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users