Jump to content


What lag on the Central Server is doing for my games.


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

ixovera #1 Posted Aug 24 2017 - 07:37

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 32196 battles
  • 92
  • Member since:
    11-05-2011

I live in California.

 

Link to example game:
http://wotreplays.co...-ixovera-wz-131

 

Every time I make a hard stop in the replay, it means the client is lagging out hard.

Every time the turret is jerking about in the replay, it means the client is lagging.

I went from full HP to dead while lagged out.



kebab6597 #2 Posted Aug 24 2017 - 10:03

    Major

  • Players
  • 52241 battles
  • 8,347
  • [D-DAY] D-DAY
  • Member since:
    04-16-2011
I live in the UK with a 1mb adsl connection and I seem to have a better connection than you are you on wireless by chance and have you run ping plotter to see where the problem is ?

Fulcrous___O_OII #3 Posted Aug 24 2017 - 11:53

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 71 battles
  • 77
  • [E-50M] E-50M
  • Member since:
    08-19-2017
I would really recommend what he said, also do a speedtesr and see how your connection is. Either it be hard wired or wifi

FighterAce #4 Posted Aug 24 2017 - 22:28

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 22292 battles
  • 316
  • Member since:
    11-27-2011

Theres no way you have worse ping than me. I'm not even on the same continent.

 

This has to be on Wifi, or a really [edited]ISP.



FroggyStylez #5 Posted Aug 25 2017 - 05:58

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12097 battles
  • 18
  • Member since:
    06-21-2013
I live in California as well, simply put I am done with this game unless the go back. Sucks because of the time and money spent. However I know all too well that WG doesn't care. Time to move on to another game. I am tired of putting up with their BS.

ixovera #6 Posted Aug 25 2017 - 21:51

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 32196 battles
  • 92
  • Member since:
    11-05-2011

View Postkebab6597, on Aug 24 2017 - 01:03, said:

I live in the UK with a 1mb adsl connection and I seem to have a better connection than you are you on wireless by chance and have you run ping plotter to see where the problem is ?

 

​I am on wifi, yes, but I haven't had problems this bad until the server merge.

I'll look up ping plotter and see what that's about. Thanks. : )

ixovera #7 Posted Aug 25 2017 - 21:52

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 32196 battles
  • 92
  • Member since:
    11-05-2011

View PostFulcrous___O_OII, on Aug 24 2017 - 02:53, said:

I would really recommend what he said, also do a speedtesr and see how your connection is. Either it be hard wired or wifi

 

Will look up an internet speedtest tool to check, as well. Thanks. : )

ixovera #8 Posted Aug 25 2017 - 22:01

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 32196 battles
  • 92
  • Member since:
    11-05-2011
Here is my speed test result:


black_colt #9 Posted Aug 25 2017 - 22:39

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3370 battles
  • 2,048
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View Postkebab6597, on Aug 24 2017 - 01:03, said:

I live in the UK with a 1mb adsl connection and I seem to have a better connection than you are you on wireless by chance and have you run ping plotter to see where the problem is ?

 

I had to purchase a repeater for MS Windows 10 Pro [64-bit] and connect to that repeater via Ethernet because the 802.11ac drivers are terrible.  I have a 150 Mbps down - 9 Mbps up cable connection to an multi-channel 802.11ac router.  The channel that 802.11ac connects to is dedicated to the iMac.

 

On my iMac with OS X/macOS I see 130 Mbps down - 8 Mbps up on either the repeater or 802.11ac.  

 

On my iMac with MS Windows I see 120 Mbps down - 7 Mbps up with the repeater and 90 Mbps down - 6 Mbps up with 802.11ac.


Edited by black_colt, Aug 25 2017 - 22:39.


ixovera #10 Posted Aug 25 2017 - 22:45

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 32196 battles
  • 92
  • Member since:
    11-05-2011

View Postkebab6597, on Aug 24 2017 - 01:03, said:

I live in the UK with a 1mb adsl connection and I seem to have a better connection than you are you on wireless by chance and have you run ping plotter to see where the problem is ?

 

​​Ping Plotter results. I'm not sure how to interpret them, though.
 
Spoiler
Spoiler


It wasn't happening super bad this initial login and game. I notice it gets worse as the night wears on. When I recorded the LT game, it was between 11p-12a PST.

 

 



silashand #11 Posted Aug 25 2017 - 23:35

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 27764 battles
  • 124
  • [GDPR] GDPR
  • Member since:
    11-13-2011
Lag is horrible since the merge. Ping rates fluctuate *within* game. It can go from 30-500ms in the same game and back again. Absolutely *terrible* experience lately.

FighterAce #12 Posted Aug 25 2017 - 23:57

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 22292 battles
  • 316
  • Member since:
    11-27-2011

Ouch look at that packet loss before it even reaches the WG server.

 

Sort out your connection first dude, theres little to nothing WG can do on their end from the looks of it.



ixovera #13 Posted Aug 27 2017 - 00:45

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 32196 battles
  • 92
  • Member since:
    11-05-2011

View PostFighterAce, on Aug 25 2017 - 14:57, said:

Ouch look at that packet loss before it even reaches the WG server.

 

Sort out your connection first dude, theres little to nothing WG can do on their end from the looks of it.

 

Most of the loss looks to be from WG directly.

I got a new Wifi Extender and set it up today. It seems to give some minor improvements, but overall I'm still getting lag spikes and rubberbanding in-game.

black_colt #14 Posted Aug 27 2017 - 16:34

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3370 battles
  • 2,048
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View Postixovera, on Aug 26 2017 - 15:45, said:

 

Most of the loss looks to be from WG directly.

I got a new Wifi Extender and set it up today. It seems to give some minor improvements, but overall I'm still getting lag spikes and rubberbanding in-game.

 

Have you completed the Server Merge Survey as requested by Wargaming?

 

If not, I recommend that you do.

 

If you have already then submit a Support Ticket.

 

Yesterday and today the network speeds for MS Windows 10 Pro have been terrible.

 

Not seeing those low speeds on OS X/macOS ...  could be something with MS Windows ... will try again later running MS Windows as I would like to get some time on the Common Test Server

 

As for packet loss I am currently experiencing it between the Comcast.net and the Level3.net servers - not at the NA Central server.


Edited by black_colt, Aug 27 2017 - 16:35.





3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users