Jump to content


9.20 Game/Client Issues - Please Post Here


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

black_colt #1 Posted Aug 30 2017 - 19:17

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3370 battles
  • 2,147
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

Please post all issues related to the 9.20 game/client here to avoid delays in review.

 

A Reminder - please include your Mac hardware specifications and the version of OS X/macOS you have when posting an issue.


Edited by black_colt, Aug 30 2017 - 19:18.


Saffr0n #2 Posted Aug 30 2017 - 19:21

    WoT Support Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 4419 battles
  • 433
  • [WGA-A] WGA-A
  • Member since:
    06-09-2014

Error 1001: Unsynchronization of components related to vehicles - Connection has been interrupted is related to an outdated XVM mod function. 

 

Posting for visibility. 



BigDollarBillz #3 Posted Aug 30 2017 - 19:43

    Major

  • Players
  • 34749 battles
  • 2,049
  • [SBW] SBW
  • Member since:
    08-28-2011
no issues so far, but only played 6 games

turboo #4 Posted Aug 30 2017 - 19:54

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 17298 battles
  • 79
  • [-GNZ-] -GNZ-
  • Member since:
    07-04-2011
Smoother than I've seen in maybe years. Fingers crossed.

Doug_Reynolds #5 Posted Aug 30 2017 - 19:58

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 15929 battles
  • 1
  • [TAC-D] TAC-D
  • Member since:
    11-21-2016
Game gets stuck at updating vehicles; aslians mod pack updated; intel core 15. Windows 10

Edited by Doug_Reynolds, Aug 30 2017 - 20:08.


Ultraraptor #6 Posted Aug 30 2017 - 23:43

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 4500 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    12-04-2015

Olá, meu problema é o seguinte. Comprei "Ouro" duas vezes e não recebi e já faz um tempinho.
Como devo proceder para resgatar essa compra?

 



black_colt #7 Posted Aug 30 2017 - 23:59

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3370 battles
  • 2,147
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostSaffr0n, on Aug 30 2017 - 10:21, said:

Error 1001: Unsynchronization of components related to vehicles - Connection has been interrupted is related to an outdated XVM mod function. 

 

Posting for visibility. 

 

Thanks for the post - it really helps !!!!!!!!


Edited by black_colt, Aug 31 2017 - 00:04.


black_colt #8 Posted Aug 31 2017 - 00:01

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3370 battles
  • 2,147
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostDoug_Reynolds, on Aug 30 2017 - 10:58, said:

Game gets stuck at updating vehicles; aslians mod pack updated; intel core 15. Windows 10

 

Please be advised that this Forum is for WoT Mac Wrapper users only.

 

However we will try ...

 

Have you disabled Torrents?  If not, please do so.  

 

Not sure how you do that in MS Windows.

 

We have a native OS X/macOS app that allows WoT Mac Wrapper users to do this with a click of a button so do not need to dig around to make a simple change.

 

If the issue still persists please raise a Support Ticket with Wargaming.


Edited by black_colt, Aug 31 2017 - 00:08.


black_colt #9 Posted Aug 31 2017 - 00:04

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3370 battles
  • 2,147
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostUltraraptor, on Aug 30 2017 - 14:43, said:

Olá, meu problema é o seguinte. Comprei "Ouro" duas vezes e não recebi e já faz um tempinho.
Como devo proceder para resgatar essa compra?

 

 

Unfortunately we cannot help with this issue in the WoT Mac Wrapper Forum - please raise a Support Ticket with Wargaming about the purchase issue.

Red_Baron007 #10 Posted Aug 31 2017 - 19:30

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 23309 battles
  • 67
  • [--DRB] --DRB
  • Member since:
    10-10-2013

I'm surprised I'm the one of the first... I play extensively on a Macbook Pro. The wrapper program seems to work fantastic in between patches, but when there is an update all hell breaks loose.

 

I played probably 8 games and then when I tried to use my AMX light it will lock up on every game. It starts to load the game and the screen goes black, or it just freezes. I can kill the game, but notice that 2 "wargaming game client" processes are there and usually a window that says the game has crashed. You normally can not close this window. The only way to kill that is to force the program to close via the activity monitor. It will crash with other tanks as well, but always with the light. Once I get back in the game with the light, that is already in progress... assuming I haven't already been killed seems just fine.

 

I reset the graphics and no change. I went into safe mode and it did join the game, but then the 2nd game it hung again. It take long enough to kill the processes and get back in that I'm hoping others have had this and it can be fixed soon. My premium time clock is ticking.

 

thanks in advance.

OSX 10.11.6

Macbook pro (I think 2013) version (has intel and nvidia graphics)

 


Edited by Red_Baron007, Aug 31 2017 - 19:39.


black_colt #11 Posted Aug 31 2017 - 21:36

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3370 battles
  • 2,147
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostRed_Baron007, on Aug 31 2017 - 10:30, said:

I'm surprised I'm the one of the first... I play extensively on a Macbook Pro. The wrapper program seems to work fantastic in between patches, but when there is an update all hell breaks loose.

 

I played probably 8 games and then when I tried to use my AMX light it will lock up on every game. It starts to load the game and the screen goes black, or it just freezes. I can kill the game, but notice that 2 "wargaming game client" processes are there and usually a window that says the game has crashed. You normally can not close this window. The only way to kill that is to force the program to close via the activity monitor. It will crash with other tanks as well, but always with the light. Once I get back in the game with the light, that is already in progress... assuming I haven't already been killed seems just fine.

 

I reset the graphics and no change. I went into safe mode and it did join the game, but then the 2nd game it hung again. It take long enough to kill the processes and get back in that I'm hoping others have had this and it can be fixed soon. My premium time clock is ticking.

 

thanks in advance.

OSX 10.11.6

Macbook pro (I think 2013) version (has intel and nvidia graphics)

 

 

Go to the following Forum thread and download the Studly Utility from dstud208 - http://forum.worldof...rapper-utility/

 

Install the Studly Utility

 

 

Quit the WoT Mac Wrapper.

 

Make sure all world_of_tanks processes are quit/closed. Use [Activity Monitor] in [Applications][Utilities] and force-quit any open world_of_tank processes.

  

Launch the Studly Utility

 

Click on [World of Tanks] then [Troubleshooting] then [Fix "Shutting Down" Bug] 

 

Launch the WoT Mac Wrapper.  

 

Please let the Forum know if this works ...

 


Red_Baron007 #12 Posted Sep 03 2017 - 03:36

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 23309 battles
  • 67
  • [--DRB] --DRB
  • Member since:
    10-10-2013

Okay thanks for the reply.

 

I did as instructed. The first thing I note is that it appears to have reset everything. Music is playing and it opened in a window instead of full.

 

That being said, I've just played for an hour with no issues. I have not updated the wrapper unless it was automatic. ?? So tanks! I think we are golden again. A bonus is I have won every single round which has NEVER happened before. lol

 

 



MM4Alam #13 Posted Sep 03 2017 - 04:25

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 603 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    01-16-2015
Apparently i cannot connect to any server (NA). Either they are down (which is usually known) or my network settings are wrong. I cannot change those settings if i cannot get in the game in the first place. Any ideas?

black_colt #14 Posted Sep 03 2017 - 06:26

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3370 battles
  • 2,147
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostRed_Baron007, on Sep 02 2017 - 18:36, said:

Okay thanks for the reply.

 

I did as instructed. The first thing I note is that it appears to have reset everything. Music is playing and it opened in a window instead of full.

 

That being said, I've just played for an hour with no issues. I have not updated the wrapper unless it was automatic. ?? So tanks! I think we are golden again. A bonus is I have won every single round which has NEVER happened before. lol

 

 

 

Hmmm ... was not aware that the setting were reset.  Will update the instructions for the future.

 

Is there a reason you have not updated to macOS [10.12.6] yet?



black_colt #15 Posted Sep 03 2017 - 06:30

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3370 battles
  • 2,147
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostMM4Alam, on Sep 02 2017 - 19:25, said:

Apparently i cannot connect to any server (NA). Either they are down (which is usually known) or my network settings are wrong. I cannot change those settings if i cannot get in the game in the first place. Any ideas?

 

You should be only connecting the NA Central server.  I am able to log into and see my garage when connected to the NA Central server - just checked a few minutes ago.

 

Try selecting NA Central versus [Auto] in the log-in screen.



MM4Alam #16 Posted Sep 03 2017 - 07:17

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 603 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    01-16-2015

View Postblack_colt, on Sep 03 2017 - 06:30, said:

 

You should be only connecting the NA Central server.  I am able to log into and see my garage when connected to the NA Central server - just checked a few minutes ago.

 

Try selecting NA Central versus [Auto] in the log-in screen.

 

Did that but as of this moment i still cannot get in.

black_colt #17 Posted Sep 03 2017 - 18:46

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3370 battles
  • 2,147
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostMM4Alam, on Sep 02 2017 - 22:17, said:

 

Did that but as of this moment i still cannot get in.

 

What version of the WoT Mac Wrapper do you have?

 

Open the WoT Mac Wrapper - do not click on [PLAY] - click on the bold [World of Tanks] next to the Apple logo - then click on [About World of Tanks] - a new window will open with the version number.

 

The latest version number is 2.0.10 (2.0.10).



MM4Alam #18 Posted Sep 03 2017 - 18:56

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 603 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    01-16-2015

View Postblack_colt, on Sep 03 2017 - 18:46, said:

 

What version of the WoT Mac Wrapper do you have?

 

Open the WoT Mac Wrapper - do not click on [PLAY] - click on the bold [World of Tanks] next to the Apple logo - then click on [About World of Tanks] - a new window will open with the version number.

 

The latest version number is 2.0.10 (2.0.10).

 

It is the latest version. 2.0.10. Where are the game files stored?  I was thinking to reinstall everything. 

black_colt #19 Posted Sep 03 2017 - 19:59

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3370 battles
  • 2,147
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostMM4Alam, on Sep 03 2017 - 09:56, said:

 

It is the latest version. 2.0.10. Where are the game files stored?  I was thinking to reinstall everything. 

 

The next steps will [Delete Completely] and [Disable Torrents].  The WoT Mac Wrapper can be very sensitive to using Torrents - not sure why.

 

Go to the following Forum thread and download the Studly Utility from dstud208

 

http://forum.worldof...rapper-utility/

 

Install the Studly Utility 

 

Go to [Documents] then [WoT] and duplicate the [replays] folder.  Move that duplicated folder to the Desktop.

 

Launch the Studly Utility

 

NOTE: If you want to keep your replays you must duplicate the [replays] folder and move it to the Desktop. The next step will completely

delete all files.

 

Click on [World of Tanks] then [General] then [Delete Completely] then Click on [OK] in the next dialog box. 

 

Next click on [Live Server] and click on your region. Your web browser will open and download the region-appropriate DMG.  After download completes - double click on the DMG and drag the WoT Mac Wrapper app to the [Applications] folder.  After the app copies eject the DMG.

 

Double click on the app to launch and wait until you see [Updating game client:] then click on the double vertical lines immediately to the left of [PLAY] button to stop the update. 

 

Quit the WoT Mac Wrapper.

 

If open quit the WoT Mac Wrapper and make sure all world_of_tanks processes are quit/closed. Use [Activity Monitor] in [Applications][Utilities] and force-quit any open world_of_tank processes.

 

Go Back to/Relaunch the Studly Utility

 

Click on [World of Tanks] then [General] then [Disable Torrents]

 

Launch the WoT Mac Wrapper.  

 

Install any updates to the WoT Mac Wrapper - this is separate from game updates which happen in the [PLAY] dialog box after the WoT Mac Wrapper

finishes launching.

 

Let the game install any updates needed in the [PLAY] dialog box.  When complete click on [PLAY] and log-into the game.

 

Edited by black_colt, Sep 03 2017 - 20:02.


Red_Baron007 #20 Posted Sep 03 2017 - 20:08

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 23309 battles
  • 67
  • [--DRB] --DRB
  • Member since:
    10-10-2013

View Postblack_colt, on Sep 03 2017 - 05:26, said:

 

Hmmm ... was not aware that the setting were reset.  Will update the instructions for the future.

 

Is there a reason you have not updated to macOS [10.12.6] yet?

Well, I'm on the road and won't be home until Tuesday. I'm a big fan of, "if it aint broke don't fix it". Especially on the road. My luck I'd update something and it wouldn't work and I would be down till I get home. ;)






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users