3 tier battles a deterrent for new players?

• Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

Tedsc #1 Posted Sep 19 2017 - 00:53

Staff sergeant

• -Players-
  • 23714 battles

Once you get to tier 5 and 6 the newness wears off.  At that point you are grinding stock tanks with less than 100% crews.  Roughly half of your battles are bottom tier.  Wargaming says you can be effective in that KV1 against a fully upgraded T29 who may or may not have a 100% crew and a few skills/perks to boot.  

That game play experience is not fun.  Some people see it as the painful process to be endured to get to the tier 9 and 10 games where vehicles are much more equal.  But how many other just see it as a poorly designed game and move on to something else?

When I just started playing WoT, I asked a few other people about it and a common theme was that it is a game that exists for people who have played forever.  The odds heavily tilted in their favor so unless you are prepared to be the underdog for a very long time, don't bother.

3 tier battles is largely where that sentiment comes from IMO.

Kamahl1234 #2 Posted Sep 19 2017 - 01:10

Major

• Players
  • 18002 battles

One of the biggest hurdles new players have to overcome, while in part what you're saying, is also the same misguided mindset you seem to be expressing.

What this hurdle is, is realizing that no matter what tank you're in, you shouldn't press a tank with advantages over you by yourself, unless you have no choice. New players struggle with this concept, and even experienced players do. A KV-1 will never fight a T29 in solo combat on even ground and be victorious. Same thing would happen with a KV-1 vs a KV-85, or even a sniping T67. There will always be a tank with advantages over yours.