Jump to content


Tortoise


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

ThegoodoldBoy #1 Posted Oct 03 2017 - 03:08

    Private

  • Players
  • 35596 battles
  • 8
  • [VGASR] VGASR
  • Member since:
    09-24-2012

Good Job WG.

you guys has as stock gun a qqf 32 pdr with over 2900 kg and then ist not possible to Mount the top gun with less weight,really good Job

why i have to researche the tracks when the stock tracks can carry a heavier gun?

Retarded?



HowitzerBlitzer #2 Posted Oct 03 2017 - 03:30

    Major

  • Players
  • 14215 battles
  • 7,469
  • Member since:
    06-16-2013
Demount your equipment, it adds weight...

nekojima #3 Posted Oct 03 2017 - 03:31

    Captain

  • Players
  • 36723 battles
  • 1,259
  • [REL-A] REL-A
  • Member since:
    09-05-2012

You could buy the track equipment and use them thereby by-passing the tracks or get the tracks last. So two more options for you, than the one you chose. At 35k battles, you haven't done that before?

 



The_Chieftain #4 Posted Oct 03 2017 - 03:33

    Military Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 9996 battles
  • 9,550
  • [WGA-A] WGA-A
  • Member since:
    09-08-2011

View PostThegoodoldBoy, on Oct 03 2017 - 02:08, said:

Good Job WG.

you guys has as stock gun a qqf 32 pdr with over 2900 kg and then ist not possible to Mount the top gun with less weight,really good Job

why i have to researche the tracks when the stock tracks can carry a heavier gun?

Retarded?

 

Hmm. Let me have a look at it. I'm unlocking the Tortoise tomorrow.

MeKanism #5 Posted Oct 03 2017 - 04:15

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 2166 battles
  • 599
  • Member since:
    09-25-2015

View PostThe_Chieftain, on Oct 02 2017 - 18:33, said:

 

Hmm. Let me have a look at it. I'm unlocking the Tortoise tomorrow.

 

he has spoken

Karl__Childers #6 Posted Oct 03 2017 - 05:07

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 10741 battles
  • 628
  • Member since:
    02-04-2014

View Postnekojima, on Oct 02 2017 - 21:31, said:

You could buy the track equipment and use them thereby by-passing the tracks or get the tracks last. So two more options for you, than the one you chose. At 35k battles, you haven't done that before?

 

 

He's asking why the stock gun is heavier than the top gun but he has to unlock tracks to mount the lighter gun...

RetroMan55 #7 Posted Oct 03 2017 - 05:23

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 70266 battles
  • 974
  • [DWING] DWING
  • Member since:
    02-07-2014

View PostThe_Chieftain, on Oct 02 2017 - 20:33, said:

 

Hmm. Let me have a look at it. I'm unlocking the Tortoise tomorrow.

 

If you unlock the Conway first you will get the 60,000 XP 120mm gun on the Tortoise unlocked for free (or build 60,000 XP on the Tortoise towards the Tier 10 tank while you unlock the Conway).  Also, if you buy the equipment suspension, not only will the Tortoise be harder to track, but you can put that 21,300 XP towards the FV215b-183 and shave a combined 81,300 XP off the 235,000 XP needed.  It works if you are close going up the turreted British TD line.

 

For those still grinding the AT-15, you can save 16,000 XP on the largest engine by not buying it yet as it is the stock engine on the Tortoise and doesn't add much to the AT-15's performance, taking 16,000 off the 161,000 XP to unlock the Tortoise.



RetroMan55 #8 Posted Oct 03 2017 - 05:30

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 70266 battles
  • 974
  • [DWING] DWING
  • Member since:
    02-07-2014

View PostKarl__Childers, on Oct 02 2017 - 22:07, said:

 

He's asking why the stock gun is heavier than the top gun but he has to unlock tracks to mount the lighter gun...

 

Because there isn't much room to carry any equipment with either of the first two guns. There is no load capacity available.  Stock it weighs 77 tons with a 77 ton weight limit.  So even if you shave some weight off by switching to the B barrel gun, you still can't put much in the way of equipment on the TD until you deal with the suspension weight issue.

Dirizon #9 Posted Oct 03 2017 - 06:10

    Major

  • Players
  • 25998 battles
  • 3,529
  • Member since:
    06-05-2011

View PostRetroMan55, on Oct 02 2017 - 23:53, said:

 

If you unlock the Conway first you will get the 60,000 XP 120mm gun on the Tortoise unlocked for free (or build 60,000 XP on the Tortoise towards the Tier 10 tank while you unlock the Conway).  Also, if you buy the equipment suspension, not only will the Tortoise be harder to track, but you can put that 21,300 XP towards the FV215b-183 and shave a combined 81,300 XP off the 235,000 XP needed.  It works if you are close going up the turreted British TD line.

 

For those still grinding the AT-15, you can save 16,000 XP on the largest engine by not buying it yet as it is the stock engine on the Tortoise and doesn't add much to the AT-15's performance, taking 16,000 off the 161,000 XP to unlock the Tortoise.

 

tortoise top engine, is Caern top engine. If wanted free, you can grind FV385-ConqGC artys for it free. 

 

  2Opdr  A  also unlocked free, from stock charioteer, to use on AT15, or you can go ChurchGC route and get 32pdr 2 tiers before for AT15. Challenger way unlocks 17 pdr for AT8. Cromwell is any easy way to get challenger+charioteer engines



RetroMan55 #10 Posted Oct 03 2017 - 09:51

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 70266 battles
  • 974
  • [DWING] DWING
  • Member since:
    02-07-2014

View PostDirizon, on Oct 02 2017 - 23:10, said:

 

tortoise top engine, is Caern top engine. If wanted free, you can grind FV385-ConqGC artys for it free. 

 

  2Opdr  A  also unlocked free, from stock charioteer, to use on AT15, or you can go ChurchGC route and get 32pdr 2 tiers before for AT15. Challenger way unlocks 17 pdr for AT8. Cromwell is any easy way to get challenger+charioteer engines

 

Yes, in fact I did all this too - including using the Churchill GC to open the 32pdr as it is much easier to do at Tier 6 than 8.  As a rule I look for crossover guns, radios, and engines, to save time grinding.  Often some items are stock on a tank up the line.  Turrets are a necessary step, but the Equipment version of suspensions can save grinding on Tiers 8-10 when time is limited and you want to apply the XP of unlocking tracks until later.

The_Chieftain #11 Posted Oct 03 2017 - 20:31

    Military Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 9996 battles
  • 9,550
  • [WGA-A] WGA-A
  • Member since:
    09-08-2011

View PostThegoodoldBoy, on Oct 03 2017 - 02:08, said:

Good Job WG.

you guys has as stock gun a qqf 32 pdr with over 2900 kg and then ist not possible to Mount the top gun with less weight,really good Job

why i have to researche the tracks when the stock tracks can carry a heavier gun?

Retarded?

 

OK, you're going to have to explain to me exactly what's on your TD, because I'm not seeing a problem.

 

I unlock and purchase the Tortoise. With the stock tracks, I can mount the 120mm L1A1. I go back to the stock gun, I upgrade to the best radio and engine. (Which shouldn't make a difference, as they are all the same weight). I am still able to mount the top gun on stock tracks.

 

You sure you're clicking the right things?

 

 



Ie_Shima #12 Posted Oct 03 2017 - 20:44

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 2350 battles
  • 202
  • Member since:
    05-28-2016

View PostThe_Chieftain, on Oct 03 2017 - 20:31, said:

 

OK, you're going to have to explain to me exactly what's on your TD, because I'm not seeing a problem.

 

I unlock and purchase the Tortoise. With the stock tracks, I can mount the 120mm L1A1. I go back to the stock gun, I upgrade to the best radio and engine. (Which shouldn't make a difference, as they are all the same weight). I am still able to mount the top gun on stock tracks.

 

You sure you're clicking the right things?

 

 

 

​He has equipment on his tank, which means when he tries to mount the top gun he ends up being over weight.  Since he hasn't bothered to check why his tank might be a tad heavy, he comes to the forums to b*tch about how everyone else is to blame.  

stalkervision #13 Posted Oct 05 2017 - 15:53

    Major

  • Players
  • 49839 battles
  • 7,829
  • Member since:
    11-12-2013
just have to use the added cheater tracks and suspension is all. :)




3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users