Damaging Enemy Tanks 101

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

Ace_Destroyer123 #1 Posted Oct 07 2017 - 05:08

Corporal

• -Players-
  • 5191 battles
  • [PIAGO] PIAGO

Picture this, you are in an M3 Lee with the 75mm gun. You see a KV2 approaching you 290 meters away. "That is a juicy target. Alright gunner, give him a present from our mighty gun!" You fire...and what's this? A bounce?! After 6 seconds, your tank blows up. You think "OMG, this guy is cheating!" You wonder why this is happening and how this could have happen.

(Now I am not a pro, just an average player that understands this game very well)

Well it was YOUR fault for making the wrong decisions. You'd be thinking "What?! I'm the best damn player in WoT!!!"  Well your probably not. (sorry for the rudeness) Below is a guide to damage enemy tanks.

Shell Types

In the game, there are four main types of shells: AP, APCR, HEAT, and HE.

AP (Armor Piercing) shells tend to do average penetration and average damage. Used for penetrating armored targets.

APCR (Armor Piercing Composite Rigid) shells have higher velocity (how fast the shell goes) allowing it to have higher penetration than armor piercing rounds. Used for penetrating armored targets.

HEAT (High Explosive Anti-Tank) shells are very slow, yet have decent penetration (more than AP shells) and high damage. Used for penetrating armored targets. DON'T AIM AT THE EXTERNAL MODULES.

HE (High Explosive) shells have a little slower velocity than AP shells and have high damage. Don't expect to penetrate anything with this type of shell. This shell will explode into fragments which inflicts damage to enemy vehicles. Used for finishing off low HP vehicles or lightly armored targets.

Use the shells at the right situation.

Penetrating the Target

Now some new players would say "Oh penetrating enemy tanks is SO easy. Just shoot at the tank and you damage it."