Jump to content


Tank Model Exporter Utility

editor modding mesh editing

  • Please log in to reply
489 replies to this topic

JLdragon #361 Posted Feb 03 2019 - 08:27

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 19006 battles
  • 640
  • Member since:
    02-14-2012

Well I dont know what i can offer as helpful, but here is a screenshot of my 3DSmax unit settings.. Also unless your adding animation, turn off your Time tag option. and hide your animation bar so that nothing is added by accident while remodeling.

 

As far as the camo thing.. do you have the Camouflage files correctly located in your Res_mod folder?

In order for them to work, you must have them there.. TE as far as i know does NOT pull the camouflage textures from the.PKG.. If you need the file.. you can find it Here

Camouflage Pattern files.. Extract, then drop the vehicle folder into your 1.3.0.1 folder.. Make sure to put a copy of it somewhere safe..

It is ALL of the camouflage texture patterns.. then that should fix the white camo icons in your TE.

As far as the glowing thing.. thats a first for me to see..



MigEater0 #362 Posted Feb 03 2019 - 14:18

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    02-03-2019
When I try to start the program it crashes when it gets to "Creating Nodes by tier (02)" with an error messages of "System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object." Any help would be appreciated.

Edit: I updated the game & it's working now.

Edited by MigEater0, Feb 03 2019 - 16:12.


Coffee_ #363 Posted Feb 03 2019 - 17:15

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43382 battles
  • 716
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

Version 79 and 80 fixes a couple of issues with the camouflage.

 



Coffee_ #364 Posted Feb 03 2019 - 17:29

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43382 battles
  • 716
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

Try deleting the entire wot_temp folder.

On my system, windows deleted the decals for the terrain for some unknown reason. There is ZERO code to delete these textures in my code. Only to write them and read them.

Open File Explorer and type %temp% and press enter. That should show the temp folder. Find and delete the wot_temp folder and restart Tank Exporter.

I updated TE to fix the camouflage issue. I wasn't opening the texture if it wasn't found in the res_mods folder. I stupid coding error!

 

PS.. I have to get a new keyboard.. This thing is skipping keys constantly! ARGH!!



Coffee_ #365 Posted Feb 03 2019 - 17:32

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43382 battles
  • 716
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

View PostMigEater0, on Feb 03 2019 - 08:18, said:

When I try to start the program it crashes when it gets to "Creating Nodes by tier (02)" with an error messages of "System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object." Any help would be appreciated.

Edit: I updated the game & it's working now.

Thanks for coming back and updating your post.. Other wise I might of spent a bunch a time chasing after a ghost in the code :)



Coffee_ #366 Posted Feb 03 2019 - 17:57

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43382 battles
  • 716
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

Make sure you use a newly exported FBX from Tank Exporter when getting the scale working. Importing a FBX from MAX that has been scaled wrong will only make things worse!
This is how I have the units set in MAX.. It works perfect for me. 

Spoiler

 

 

You may want to set the view port clipping to the minimum.

Spoiler

 



JLdragon #367 Posted Feb 03 2019 - 21:12

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 19006 battles
  • 640
  • Member since:
    02-14-2012

I'll have to try your settings coffee_ and see how it works for me instead :)..

 

I have mine set to the 1:10 cent. so that when i edit or change the geometry size of any part of the model, instead of having a value of, for example 5.11, it would be .0511, which even if i lose a very minor difference of scale, its less critical and an easier value to set for faster workflow.. Which I don't see any gaps or abnormallities in any of the remodel from that .10% difference that would otherwise cause seam gaps or anything. However your settings look interesting to me ;)



Coffee_ #368 Posted Feb 04 2019 - 15:27

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43382 battles
  • 716
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

As long as it works that's all that counts :)

 



Coffee_ #369 Posted Feb 05 2019 - 15:48

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43382 battles
  • 716
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

I am going to shut down the server I pay for to run the chat engine. No one has used it in a month.

Spending $16.00 a month for nothing has to end.



Coffee_ #370 Posted Feb 05 2019 - 17:02

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43382 battles
  • 716
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

Version 1.4 of the game will be released tonight.
How badly this breaks Tank Exporter is unknown.
I never messed with sorting out anything about these new wheeled vehicles and it might take time to get Tank Exporter to work with them.
I do not think any thing about the tracked tanks has changed and they should be handled with no issues.



Coffee_ #371 Posted Feb 06 2019 - 19:01

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43382 battles
  • 716
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

It seems all the regular tracked tanks work with Tank Exporter.
However, the new wheeled vehicles have a new storage format.

Before, there were only 2 storage formats
A. One model with multiple sub model sections.
B. Multiple models with NO sub model sections.

 

The wheel vehicles chassis has 2 models, each with 2 sub model sections.


This breaks a lot of code and will take a bit of time to fix. I will need to add a new primitive writer function just to deal with this new storage format.

Don't expect a fix in the next few days. I have other more important things to deal with.

In the mean time, all tracked tanks seem to be working as before.

 



Coffee_ #372 Posted Feb 07 2019 - 17:46

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43382 battles
  • 716
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

My wife and I are moving to a smaller but nicer home at the end of this month. For about a week at the end of this month, I will be unable to use my computer. With packing and other things pressing, I'm not sure I will have time to get TE 100% with the new wheeled models. I'll try but there is no guarantee.

Tank Export works with the new wheeled vehicles now :)


Edited by Coffee_, Feb 08 2019 - 15:40.


Coffee_ #373 Posted Feb 08 2019 - 06:55

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43382 battles
  • 716
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

Ok.. This went faster than expected.
I added the code to deal with loading the wheeled vehicles.
You can NOT however write the chassis of these wheeled tanks. It's just to much work I'm not willing to do unless I get something out of it.
The write chassis check box will be disabled if you import a FBX or load a tank that has wheels.

Spoiler

 



Coffee_ #374 Posted Feb 08 2019 - 18:29

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43382 battles
  • 716
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011
Fixed a few things.. Grab Version 82.


Olix_Vameshu #375 Posted Feb 26 2019 - 12:03

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    04-16-2018
Hey Coffee_

View PostCoffee_, on Feb 08 2019 - 18:29, said:

Fixed a few things.. Grab Version 82.

 

Hey Coffee_ can you please make a tutorial also for gun editing, i want to make T28 to look as T95 hull without the second set of tracks and with same gun manlet or whatever is called, I want to edit the first gun fron T28 with the gun the manlet of T95, WG T28 it is looking weird for me...also for others I think. I don't know how to edit the gun that is what i asked you for. Btw many many Thanks for usefull tools.

JLdragon #376 Posted Feb 26 2019 - 16:24

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 19006 battles
  • 640
  • Member since:
    02-14-2012
I believe I understand what you are wanting, however that will take a lot of script editing the model files.. there are a lot of file information and would be extremely difficult to create an actual tutorial how to go about doing this. I will take a look at what you're wanting when I get home from work tonight if coffee doesn't beat me to it.

Olix_Vameshu #377 Posted Feb 27 2019 - 09:07

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    04-16-2018
Wow thanks a lot JLd, did not expect that :D.

JLdragon #378 Posted Feb 27 2019 - 19:30

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 19006 battles
  • 640
  • Member since:
    02-14-2012

View PostOlix_Vameshu, on Feb 27 2019 - 00:07, said:

Wow thanks a lot JLd, did not expect that :D.

I decided to take the day off.. Just need a break from the work skull Drudgery..

So I've been attempting your request and I honestly dont think its going to work..

Problematic factors of failure :(

1. T95's 4 tracks vs. T28 2 tracks.. Tank Exporter does not write primitives for the track assemblies.. only the Chassis roller modifications :( Primary factor with your request

2. T95's overall Hull size vs T28.. Trying to scale the T95 down to fit to the T28 not a good match nor aligning correctly.

3. Swapping of the gun mantles.. Due to the fact that the actual mantle is part of the Hull and not assigned as turret is causing alignment issues of the gun.. Not very esthetic looking as it should. Not a pretty lineup

4. Exhaust alignment not even close to looking correct

5. I'm not keen on rescripting.. never been my strong point.. so not able to get the T28 gun you want to work correctly..

 

Overall I honestly do not think this one will be able to be done :(..

Unfortunately I am sorry to say that you are the very first player that I am not able to help with your request to make it yours :(..

I am truelly sorry, but this one is not achievable by any means on my part


Edited by JLdragon, Feb 27 2019 - 19:31.


Olix_Vameshu #379 Posted Feb 27 2019 - 21:45

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    04-16-2018
The gun is all what i need,even if is not combined from 2 differents tank at least to be edited as small as the first gun of T28, making the barel smaller to be like 95 mm, the rest i will use swap chassis from T28 prot. and edited hull of T95. I just wanted to be simple.

Coffee_ #380 Posted Mar 02 2019 - 04:48

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43382 battles
  • 716
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

I have been in the process of moving and my computer is finally back up.
The way to do this is swapping and editing the visual to get the gun in the right location.
I can help if you need it but be patient.. I have a lot of unpacking to do.

 






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users