• This topic is locked This topic is locked
482 replies to this topic

cnumartyr #41 Posted Nov 02 2017 - 19:12

Captain

• Players
  • 10899 battles
  • [REL2] REL2

View PostShadora, on Nov 02 2017 - 13:07, said:

HD maps will add nothing to the game.  To believe it will without any basis to determine any effect at all the game will have is silly.  What market is the HD for?  The floundering NA market?  The RU and South American market where computers would have a hard time running the new graphics?  Who exactly are the HD maps for?

I work in the accounting field and when a company spends millions of dollars on something, you can bet there were several tests to determine who the market is for and what revenue might come of it.  I highly doubt anything like this was done.  IMO, the new HD maps were due to WG thinking the other tank game would stay around and compete with them in this department, but now that the other game is all but dead, this new change will have zero effect on anything.

Besides the initial curiosity when these changes take place, the server populations will continue to decrease due to other issues that still remain unresolved.  There is no reason to believe anything other than this will happen.  As time goes on, because it will take months after the HD patch to make more maps, more people will leave the game.

I will remind you of your prediction later on and also tell you my prediction and you can tell me who is right 3 months after the HD patch.  The server pops will see no long term boost and continue to decline if new maps (or old ones returned), MM, and RNG are not addressed.

If WG didn't see WoT as a service that is constantly evolving we'd already have WoT 2.  Reason being is graphics have advanced and progressed since the game was introduced.  Graphically?  It's stale and looks old.  The new maps will update the game and give them a good platform to move forward with.