Jump to content


dell 580-023w computer

maximum graphics computers

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

Glockwolf #1 Posted Dec 08 2017 - 04:36

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 21327 battles
  • 64
  • [BS_BS] BS_BS
  • Member since:
    09-13-2012
Would the Dell 580-023w computer Walmart has with Intel Core i5-7400 processor, 8GB DDR4 RAM, 1 TB hard drive, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 3GB GDDR5 graphics card run maximum graphics?

SnowPanzer #2 Posted Dec 08 2017 - 04:40

    Major

  • Players
  • 40563 battles
  • 2,464
  • [SPDA] SPDA
  • Member since:
    12-25-2011

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop, 15.6" Full HD, Intel Core i7-7700HQ CPU, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 256GB SSD, GeForce GTX 1060-6GB, VR Ready, Red Backlit KB, Metal Chassis, G3-571-77QK

 

I just picked up this one and it does



Striker_70 #3 Posted Dec 08 2017 - 04:40

    Major

  • Players
  • 18915 battles
  • 5,516
  • Member since:
    04-02-2013

At 1080p and below?  Definitely

At 1440p?  Most likely



Striker_70 #4 Posted Dec 08 2017 - 04:43

    Major

  • Players
  • 18915 battles
  • 5,516
  • Member since:
    04-02-2013
 

View PostSnowPanzer, on Dec 07 2017 - 21:40, said:

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop, 15.6" Full HD, Intel Core i7-7700HQ CPU, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 256GB SSD, GeForce GTX 1060-6GB, VR Ready, Red Backlit KB, Metal Chassis, G3-571-77QK

 

I just picked up this one and it does

 

The 1060 6GB is a better card.  It's not only faster, it also has more memory.  Your results will be a bit different at higher resolutions

JONDIESATTHEEND #5 Posted Dec 08 2017 - 08:08

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 6638 battles
  • 31
  • Member since:
    05-22-2016

View PostGlockwolf, on Dec 08 2017 - 04:36, said:

Would the Dell 580-023w computer Walmart has with Intel Core i5-7400 processor, 8GB DDR4 RAM, 1 TB hard drive, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 3GB GDDR5 graphics card run maximum graphics?

 

​Yes it will. I have about the same hardware and I run on maximum graphics at about 115 fps. The guy who recommended the laptop failed to mention it is $1000 and you will be looking at a 15 inch screen. I would recommend getting a 144hz gaming monitor. 

Clickez4Fun #6 Posted Dec 08 2017 - 08:15

    Major

  • Players
  • 30602 battles
  • 2,323
  • Member since:
    04-21-2011

Did someone mention Dell?

 

The same Dell with the expected 10%, out of the box, failure rate?

 

 

What is this 1TB hard drive? 

 

 

15" screen? I don't think Lenscrafters makes strong enough glasses for me to see anything on a 15" screen. 

 

 

 



F0R_M07H3R_RU5514 #7 Posted Dec 08 2017 - 13:06

    Major

  • Players
  • 45608 battles
  • 5,453
  • Member since:
    07-25-2012

View PostGlockwolf, on Dec 07 2017 - 22:36, said:

Would the Dell 580-023w computer Walmart has with Intel Core i5-7400 processor, 8GB DDR4 RAM, 1 TB hard drive, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 3GB GDDR5 graphics card run maximum graphics?

 

Isn't the 58--023w an HP machine?

Worland #8 Posted Dec 08 2017 - 15:13

    Major

  • Players
  • 16557 battles
  • 4,260
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012
HP offers a similar machine, which is often on sale at Staples, for about $300 less.

SirMuttonChops #9 Posted Dec 08 2017 - 15:22

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 6783 battles
  • 773
  • [5-AP] 5-AP
  • Member since:
    01-06-2013

You'll be fine to run WoT at max settings with that.

 

I use an FX8350, 16gb DDR3 and GTX 1060 6gb and that combination has the game running at 95+fps all day.



Cpt_Zapp_Brannigan #10 Posted Dec 08 2017 - 16:55

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 28290 battles
  • 564
  • Member since:
    07-07-2013

View PostClickez4Fun, on Dec 08 2017 - 02:15, said:

Did someone mention Dell?

 

The same Dell with the expected 10%, out of the box, failure rate?

 

 

What is this 1TB hard drive? 

 

 

15" screen? I don't think Lenscrafters makes strong enough glasses for me to see anything on a 15" screen. 

 

 

 

 

I bought a dell about 8 years ago. I got less than a day out of it before it died. Returned it and bought a HP, which I still use to play WOT with min graphics and the odd stutter during gameplay.

TRK213_Turkey #11 Posted Dec 08 2017 - 17:10

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 5870 battles
  • 372
  • [WCTNT] WCTNT
  • Member since:
    01-02-2017

View PostSnowPanzer, on Dec 08 2017 - 04:40, said:

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop, 15.6" Full HD, Intel Core i7-7700HQ CPU, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 256GB SSD, GeForce GTX 1060-6GB, VR Ready, Red Backlit KB, Metal Chassis, G3-571-77QK

 

I just picked up this one and it does

I bought a Predator 17x with the GTX 1080 and it hardly notices that WoT is running even at max settings. My old PC was lucky to break 30 fps at minimum and the Predator runs 117 fps at max without even trying. I'm sure the 1060 world do just as good. I went with the 1080 to future proof my purchase a bit.



Striker_70 #12 Posted Dec 09 2017 - 03:13

    Major

  • Players
  • 18915 battles
  • 5,516
  • Member since:
    04-02-2013

View PostTRK213_Turkey, on Dec 08 2017 - 10:10, said:

I bought a Predator 17x with the GTX 1080 and it hardly notices that WoT is running even at max settings. My old PC was lucky to break 30 fps at minimum and the Predator runs 117 fps at max without even trying. I'm sure the 1060 world do just as good. I went with the 1080 to future proof my purchase a bit.

 

The problem with the OP's proposed 1060 is that it only has 3 GB of VRAM.  That means maxed out settings at higher resolutions (1440p+) have the potential to run into framerate problems, as higher resolutions require more VRAM.  These requirements are likely to increase with the upcoming HD maps too.  It's possible he may have to lower the resolution back down to 1080p or below due to the 3 GB VRAM limitation.  It's not easy to say unless you can find someone with the 3GB version of the card who tested these higher resolutions in the HD map sandbox (or someone who noted the VRAM usage at high resolutions on another card).

 

EDIT I just saw 4TankersandDog's video and he was running the new HD maps on ultra at 4k (2160p). it was using about 3.3-3.5 GB of VRAM.  So if you want to run the new HD maps at 4k then you probably won't be able to without some large framerate issues.  The stripped down 1060 GPU in the 3GB version may not even be powerful enough for that resolution anyway.  You should be just fine at 1440p and below though.


Edited by Striker_70, Dec 09 2017 - 03:43.


TheLordZeus #13 Posted Dec 09 2017 - 04:14

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 29997 battles
  • 976
  • [ANVIL] ANVIL
  • Member since:
    08-21-2011

View PostClickez4Fun, on Dec 07 2017 - 23:15, said:

Did someone mention Dell?

 

The same Dell with the expected 10%, out of the box, failure rate?

 

 

What is this 1TB hard drive? 

 

 

15" screen? I don't think Lenscrafters makes strong enough glasses for me to see anything on a 15" screen. 

 

 

 

I bought me an Alienware from Dell in 2009. She still purrs (more like growls because of the 3 fans). I don't play at maximum anymore....but after close to 8 years still going stronk. So I don't definitely call Dell a failure. 



Clickez4Fun #14 Posted Dec 09 2017 - 23:29

    Major

  • Players
  • 30602 battles
  • 2,323
  • Member since:
    04-21-2011

View PostTheLordZeus, on Dec 08 2017 - 19:14, said:

I bought me an Alienware from Dell in 2009. She still purrs (more like growls because of the 3 fans). I don't play at maximum anymore....but after close to 8 years still going stronk. So I don't definitely call Dell a failure. 

 

If you bought an Alienware, they saw you coming from several miles away.

largeelvis #15 Posted Dec 09 2017 - 23:39

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 12992 battles
  • 125
  • Member since:
    02-03-2017
I wouldn't get a package Dell. Just trying to upgrade you will find out they use a ton of cheap parts and have some proprietary issues that prevent you from adding stuff like a cpu cooler, etc. Take a look at reddit on pc masterrace, or see if you can find some systems recommended by other tech sources. Just don't go with a package Dell.

_Gungrave_ #16 Posted Dec 09 2017 - 23:55

    Major

  • Players
  • 36756 battles
  • 9,422
  • [JGRN] JGRN
  • Member since:
    12-07-2011
ewww...prebuilt computers

Sturmgeschut #17 Posted Dec 10 2017 - 05:10

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 9110 battles
  • 861
  • [SEELS] SEELS
  • Member since:
    03-13-2012

Here are my specs:

 

MOS 5610

64 kb ram

VIC-11

 

I run at max 4k



UnitG2 #18 Posted Dec 10 2017 - 18:19

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 25889 battles
  • 156
  • Member since:
    04-16-2014

A prebuilt computer can be ok and a good deal. But yes, avoid the proprietary stuff. Make sure it has a standard power supply etc. Slim or mini towers can be really difficult.

 

Nothing wrong with Dell in my book and it has the best self support website in the industry. A 10% fail rate would concern me though, but I have bought a lot of Dells for myself and others and only had a few problems. They will make you jump through hoops before they let you send it back. But I had the exact same experience with Lenovo as well.



The_Pushok #19 Posted Dec 10 2017 - 18:59

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 7462 battles
  • 219
  • [F_O_G] F_O_G
  • Member since:
    08-23-2015

I have used Dell laptops for the last 15 years or so. Have not had a failure until recently with my Alienware, the motherboard went out and the computer is 16 months old. Where I work, I say we have a failure rate under 5%, but with our new fleet of Dells, we have not had any failures yet and it is going on two years with them. My Alienware failure was the first failure I have had with a Dell computer, out of 7 I have bought for personal use. 

 

Dell gave zero issues about fixing it, they sent a box via fedex 1 day, I sent my compute to them, I had it back in four days. 

 

I do not know if I would buy Dell, except the fact I been using them so long so it is a comfort factor, and I get a nice discount compete with a 3 year warranty through my job. Before I bought my Alienware, I was looking at others but could not justify the price versus the price I was getting through my job. So I do not know, I only use laptops, but ones like that Asus someone posted on here about looks nice to have. I know Dell went private to tackle quality issues as part of the reason, I am wondering if they are improving or not, at least the fleet of work computers have no failures.







Also tagged with maximum, graphics, computers

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users