Jump to content


Underperforming PC


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

EastCoast_Mobster #1 Posted Dec 27 2017 - 01:51

    Captain

  • Players
  • 20433 battles
  • 1,389
  • [-EV-] -EV-
  • Member since:
    06-15-2013

I have a MSI laptop with a GTX 1050 I payed, $1100 for.Looking at it now horrible decision for the cost many better laptops out there. I use this computer when I am at the Girlfriends for the weekend or on vacation, or when my motherboard randomly decides to die. Well I use to be able to play Tanks on Low settings with a 50ish pfs. I am now getting hardly 20. I have Malwarbytes, I have ran RKill, I havent done anything abnormal to the computer. So I google, "gtx 1050 underperfoming" takes me to a website called TechPowerup, I run it and it and it firstly recognizes my "Intel R HD Graphics 630". Not my NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1050, could some how my computer switched to running off  the built in VideoCard, not the GTX? And if so how do i go about checking and changing?



Salty_Socks #2 Posted Dec 27 2017 - 01:54

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 13183 battles
  • 694
  • Member since:
    08-09-2013
remove antivirus. all anitvirus programs are trash. ive had my PC for years and havent gotten a virus. also, yes your laptop can do that

Edited by Salty_Socks, Dec 27 2017 - 01:55.


X7DragonsX7 #3 Posted Dec 27 2017 - 01:59

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 191 battles
  • 21
  • Member since:
    10-27-2015
Hmm... seems odd.

Morty__ #4 Posted Dec 27 2017 - 02:13

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 21931 battles
  • 263
  • Member since:
    10-25-2015
In the Nvidia control panel you can force the 1050 card to be used always or for certain apps

Lethalhavoc #5 Posted Dec 27 2017 - 02:26

    Major

  • Players
  • 38720 battles
  • 11,572
  • Member since:
    01-18-2013

You have yourself a serious case of bugged drivers.

 

Step one, uninstall your GPU driver.

Step two, uninstall your Nvidia app.

https://www.youtube....h?v=DmmizuRJGvI

Step three, reboot.

Step four, download and install new Nvidia drivers https://www.geforce.com/drivers

Step five download and install Geforce experience https://www.nvidia.c...rce-experience/

Step six, reboot.

Step seven, go into your Nvidia app and turn off the power saver.

https://www.youtube....h?v=HDKABeVisIY

 

Step eight, profit.

 

On a side note, your GTX is roughly the same as the older 960m graphics, which should run the game just fine in 1080p and in high/ultra settings.


Edited by Lethalhavoc, Dec 27 2017 - 03:48.


moon111 #6 Posted Dec 27 2017 - 02:34

    Major

  • Players
  • 32346 battles
  • 2,524
  • Member since:
    06-29-2013
Look into msconfig or STartup items.

JesterOne #7 Posted Dec 27 2017 - 02:40

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 22464 battles
  • 334
  • Member since:
    06-09-2012

View PostSalty_Socks, on Dec 27 2017 - 08:54, said:

remove antivirus. all anitvirus programs are trash. ive had my PC for years and havent gotten a virus. also, yes your laptop can do that

 

That is horrible advice.

 

But yeah, seems the dedicated graphics card is somehow disabled and not being used. Could be a driver issue or it's deactivated in BIOS maybe?



Lethalhavoc #8 Posted Dec 27 2017 - 02:42

    Major

  • Players
  • 38720 battles
  • 11,572
  • Member since:
    01-18-2013

View PostJesterOne, on Dec 26 2017 - 21:40, said:

 

That is horrible advice.

 

But yeah, seems the dedicated graphics card is somehow disabled and not being used. Could be a driver issue or it's deactivated in BIOS maybe?

 

If he follows the steps i outlined for him, he shouldn't have to go into the BIOS and disable the IGP.



EastCoast_Mobster #9 Posted Dec 27 2017 - 03:10

    Captain

  • Players
  • 20433 battles
  • 1,389
  • [-EV-] -EV-
  • Member since:
    06-15-2013

View PostLethalhavoc, on Dec 26 2017 - 20:42, said:

 

If he follows the steps i outlined for him, he shouldn't have to go into the BIOS and disable the IGP.

 

I am now running at 90ish fps with custom setting that looks considerably better than what i was running! My first game with reinstalled drivers

Victory!
Battle: Fjords 
Vehicles: Bat.-Châtillon 25 t
Experience received: 1,859
Bonds received: 4
Credits earned: 97,312 (compensation for damage caused by allies: 315)
Battle achievements: High Caliber, Confederate, Mastery Badge: "III Class"

 

5004 damage.

 

Thank you, I followed your advice to a Tee and it worked! I really appreciate the help! 



Guest_EL_MIG_* #10 Posted Dec 27 2017 - 03:39

  • Guest

dude, i have an old back up laptop , 2x cpu crapgraphics card, but recently my pc took a crap  and used my old laptop to play, needs less to say i barely run the game at 15 fps, plus stutters.  so i installed a program called, game fire, got it for free from , snapfiles.com, It turn of windows programs that run on the back ground and lets me play the game although at 15 fps but no stutters . I just turn on game mode plus i check some boxes. any way you may try it if u want.

http://www.snapfiles.../gamefire.html       this is the link


Edited by EL_MIG, Dec 27 2017 - 03:42.


Lethalhavoc #11 Posted Dec 27 2017 - 03:47

    Major

  • Players
  • 38720 battles
  • 11,572
  • Member since:
    01-18-2013

View PostEastCoast_Mobster, on Dec 26 2017 - 22:10, said:

 

I am now running at 90ish fps with custom setting that looks considerably better than what i was running! My first game with reinstalled drivers

Victory!
Battle: Fjords 
Vehicles: Bat.-Châtillon 25 t
Experience received: 1,859
Bonds received: 4
Credits earned: 97,312 (compensation for damage caused by allies: 315)
Battle achievements: High Caliber, Confederate, Mastery Badge: "III Class"

 

5004 damage.

 

Thank you, I followed your advice to a Tee and it worked! I really appreciate the help! 

 

Nice! :honoring:



Lethalhavoc #12 Posted Dec 27 2017 - 03:52

    Major

  • Players
  • 38720 battles
  • 11,572
  • Member since:
    01-18-2013

View PostEL_MIG, on Dec 26 2017 - 22:39, said:

dude, i have an old back up laptop , 2x cpu crapgraphics card, but recently my pc took a crap  and used my old laptop to play, needs less to say i barely run the game at 15 fps, plus stutters.  so i installed a program called, game fire, got it for free from , snapfiles.com, It turn of windows programs that run on the back ground and lets me play the game although at 15 fps but no stutters . I just turn on game mode plus i check some boxes. any way you may try it if u want.

http://www.snapfiles.../gamefire.html       this is the link

 

Game boosters are handy, but have you set it's power options to performance?

You can also go into your msconfig and turn all the junk off that you don't need, it works a bit better than a booster.

And have you increased your virtual ram?  Doing that also helps with a few extra fps.



firekitty #13 Posted Dec 27 2017 - 18:33

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 42872 battles
  • 792
  • [IMWAR] IMWAR
  • Member since:
    10-26-2012

OP,

  First, make sure ALL DRIVERS are up to date. This can be done manually from device manager/ L click each to expand drop down, R click, L click search on line for driver prompt. No need to use software for driver updates.

  Make as much RAM free as possible. Delete, move to D drive photos/documents, etc. 

  In C drive games, open the wot folder. Go to replays- delete any you do not want to keep. All this, frees up space, allowing the peak demands of the game to be met easier.

  Always use hard wire connects to internet, key board, and mouse.



lOne_zErg #14 Posted Dec 28 2017 - 18:16

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 6938 battles
  • 195
  • Member since:
    01-05-2014

View PostJesterOne, on Dec 27 2017 - 01:40, said:

 

That is horrible advice.

 

But yeah, seems the dedicated graphics card is somehow disabled and not being used. Could be a driver issue or it's deactivated in BIOS maybe?

 

no it isn't. The best anti-virus is common sense. No av is going to catch a 0-day and unless you're stupid, you shouldn't be downloading and running executables without scanning them on virustotal. 

X7DragonsX7 #15 Posted Dec 29 2017 - 01:47

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 191 battles
  • 21
  • Member since:
    10-27-2015

View Posthydesdelca, on Dec 28 2017 - 11:16, said:

 

no it isn't. The best anti-virus is common sense. No av is going to catch a 0-day and unless you're stupid, you shouldn't be downloading and running executables without scanning them on virustotal. 

So is this guy one of those Indian tech support scammers lol?



ShenaPinelo #16 Posted Feb 05 2018 - 10:32

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    02-05-2018

Install a good antivirus software as I have fooled by a number of antivirus software that just increases your headache and doesn't provide any relief. Secondly, I will suggest you buy a good gaming laptop and here are few best gaming laptops' reviews (https://10hightech.c...gaming-laptops/ )

Actually, gaming laptops are not only portable and lightweight but these are also cheap as compared to PCs. So, if you haven't fixed your PC error then just start reviewing any gaming laptop. 

 



Sahiba_Qureshi #17 Posted Mar 26 2018 - 17:20

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    03-26-2018

View PostShenaPinelo, on Feb 05 2018 - 10:32, said:

Install a good antivirus software as I have fooled by a number of antivirus software that just increases your headache and doesn't provide any relief. Secondly, I will suggest you buy a good gaming laptop and here are few best gaming laptops' reviews (https://99sides.com/)

Actually, gaming laptops are not only portable and lightweight but these are also cheap as compared to PCs. So, if you haven't fixed your PC error then just start reviewing any gaming laptop. 

 

You know you are absolutely right here. These creepy anti-virus does only increase the burden on us. Instead, forget about everything and use the official anti-virus from Microsoft itself called Windows Defender. I have tried many anti-virus software and has spend enough of my money but nothing understands the windows better than Microsoft itself. Just keep the Windows Defender updated. Also, I have Alienware AW13R3-7000SLV-PUS Laptop and it's working quite best for me. I play those big games including World Of Tanks, Call of Duty and i love it. Hope anyone going through here can be benefited from this. Thanks.


Edited by Sahiba_Qureshi, Nov 19 2018 - 10:17.


harryray89 #18 Posted Apr 08 2018 - 12:55

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    04-08-2018

I think it's a driver related problem. I had an issue not same. I just uninstalled the driver and then download the latest version from https://www.geforce.com/drivers. You can do and check what happen.

And yes, you can check this video tutorial. You can check some best laptop for gaming...


Edited by harryray89, Sep 05 2018 - 19:01.


jonsommernow #19 Posted Apr 15 2018 - 04:20

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    04-15-2018

View Postharryray89, on Apr 08 2018 - 12:55, said:

I think it's a driver related problem. I had an issue not same. I just uninstalled the driver and then download the latest version from https://www.geforce.com/drivers . You can do and check what happen.

And yes, you can check this video tutorial. You can check some best laptop for gaming.

 

Thanks Harry! that video helped a lot. Do you know what type of gaming footrest you use? I got a footrest from my office but it's not that suitable for gaming.

ArtemusGordon #20 Posted Apr 15 2018 - 04:42

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 4889 battles
  • 89
  • Member since:
    02-17-2014
Laptops and gaming, I guess I'll never understand why anyone would do such a thing then complain about it.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users