Bad form/Wrong-strategy on my part, or ignore the battle Trolls?

strategy choosing your role protect base lemming rush collapsed flanks chess mini-map sniper/sniping old fart trolling

• Please log in to reply
67 replies to this topic

ChaosKampf #1 Posted Jan 04 2018 - 00:53

Sergeant

• -Players-
  • 3680 battles
  • [KAMPF] KAMPF

I get messages regularly both during, and after battles, all but one of which so far, has been someone informing me of how "useless" I am, in varying degrees of inventive insults and colorful language (many with a disturbing lack of language or spelling skills). Regardless, they are nearly always in response to my playing style.

I'm not good at "Brawling" no matter what Tank I use, and I know it, just like I know that I can't sing, so I don't do Karaoke. So instead of rushing off to get myself killed asap, I have set most of my Tanks up as best I can to serve in either an Overwatch, or a Sniping role. 

When using Tanks that aren't good for a sniping role, I still tend to only advance about 1/4 of the map, in the center-line. I watch the center from cover (usually alone), and once I see that there are no immediate threats, and the flanks appear to be holding, I will attempt to circle from the middle, to a position behind the weaker of my teams flanks.  Otherwise, if I see that a Flank defense has collapsed, or that it's going to collapse soon and I know I can't help the situation, I retreat to a position in which I can attempt to protect the Arty's and the Base both. Sometimes other players join me in an overwatch position when a flank collapses, but most of the time they just rush off towards an already collapsed flank and get vaporized.