Jump to content


Purchasing a new Mac


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

CDN_Peacekeeper #1 Posted Jan 05 2018 - 12:48

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 34446 battles
  • 483
  • Member since:
    05-30-2015

Hey guys, not sure if this is the correct place to post this but so be it.

I'm updating my 2012 macbook pro.  Just wondering from the mac pro's on here if the following is good to get in terms of speed and graphics..

I'm buying a new macbook pro because of many reasons, but I do wanna make sure it can run the HD client of WoT's as well..

 

THis is what I'm looking at.

 

15.4-inch Macbook Pro 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 with Retina display - Space Grey

 

Originally released October 2016
Touch Bar with integrated Touch ID sensor
15.4-inch (diagonal) LED-backlit display; 2880x1800 native resolution at 220 pixels per inch
16GB of 2133MHz LPDDR3 onboard memory
256GB PCIe-based onboard SSD1
720p FaceTime HD Camera
Radeon Pro 450 with 2GB of GDDR5 memory

 

and this one

 

15.4-inch MacBook Pro 2.2GHz quad-core Intel i7 with Retina display

 

Originally released May 2015
15.4-inch (diagonal) Retina display; 2880x1800 resolution at 220 pixels per inch
16GB of 1600MHz DDR3L onboard memory
256GB PCIe-based flash storage
720p FaceTime HD Camera
Intel Iris Pro Graphics

 

 

The bottom one is cheaper of course... but any insight would be fantastic...

Thanks in advance.

 

R

 



Augustus_Sohn #2 Posted Jan 05 2018 - 12:58

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 2225 battles
  • 736
  • [WCTNT] WCTNT
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014

For us Mac users, the specs may work properly, but it's the wrapper that really counts. My specs on my '13 are great, but it's the Wrapper that makes Tanks work. We will see when the time comes. Until then, I am running around like crazy trying to get old Windows gear top work. Otherwise I've got a few months of Premium time that will waste away until I get better gear. (I just bought a year)

 

Edit: I think any of those would work fine, but in their cases if you don't use the Wrapper, you can just partition. IN that case, bigger is better, IMO.


Edited by A_U_G_U_S_T_U_S, Jan 05 2018 - 13:03.


CDN_Peacekeeper #3 Posted Jan 05 2018 - 13:31

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 34446 battles
  • 483
  • Member since:
    05-30-2015

View PostA_U_G_U_S_T_U_S, on Jan 05 2018 - 12:58, said:

For us Mac users, the specs may work properly, but it's the wrapper that really counts. My specs on my '13 are great, but it's the Wrapper that makes Tanks work. We will see when the time comes. Until then, I am running around like crazy trying to get old Windows gear top work. Otherwise I've got a few months of Premium time that will waste away until I get better gear. (I just bought a year)

 

Edit: I think any of those would work fine, but in their cases if you don't use the Wrapper, you can just partition. IN that case, bigger is better, IMO.

 

I really have to understand what a wrapper does... So If I DONT use a wrapper, I can partition a Windows in my mac?

Morty__ #4 Posted Jan 05 2018 - 13:51

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 21889 battles
  • 263
  • Member since:
    10-25-2015

View PostCDN_Peacekeeper, on Jan 05 2018 - 07:31, said:

 

I really have to understand what a wrapper does... So If I DONT use a wrapper, I can partition a Windows in my mac?

 

Both options are expensive so I'd personally get the one with Radeon 450 since you're planning to play games with it.

The Mac Wrapper allows you to run WOT directly in Mac OS but it's not supposed to be very good. I'd recommend running bootcamp (dual boot). Bootcamp is free and there's no virtualization



CDN_Peacekeeper #5 Posted Jan 05 2018 - 14:22

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 34446 battles
  • 483
  • Member since:
    05-30-2015

View PostMorty__, on Jan 05 2018 - 13:51, said:

 

Both options are expensive so I'd personally get the one with Radeon 450 since you're planning to play games with it.

The Mac Wrapper allows you to run WOT directly in Mac OS but it's not supposed to be very good. I'd recommend running bootcamp (dual boot). Bootcamp is free and there's no virtualization

 

What do you mean the wrapper is not supposed to be very good... I'm currently running it on my iMac at work and it runs fine at lower graphic settings.

I've heard of bootcamp before... do you run that? or have you?  Easy to set up?



Sensei_101 #6 Posted Jan 05 2018 - 15:41

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 15677 battles
  • 512
  • Member since:
    04-23-2015

The Wrapper currently in use does not support HD play; however, it is the best version of the Wrapper ever fielded. 

 

Remember the Wrapper is not supported in any way by WoT so when the graphics engine changes, there is no guarantee that a Wrapper will be available quickly, or at all.

 

In all liklyhood WoT on Mac will march on but, as it does now without full graphics support, but I am just guessing based on past experience.


Edited by Sensei_101, Jan 05 2018 - 15:42.


AndrewSledge #7 Posted Jan 05 2018 - 15:43

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 29780 battles
  • 1,588
  • Member since:
    04-14-2014
I would get the top one, as it has a better graphics card. The graphics card will make the main difference in the game performance.

CDN_Peacekeeper #8 Posted Jan 05 2018 - 15:57

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 34446 battles
  • 483
  • Member since:
    05-30-2015

do any of you run bootcamp?

pros and cons?



4TheBox #9 Posted Jan 05 2018 - 16:08

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 25980 battles
  • 846
  • Member since:
    04-13-2013

I will just leave this here. BTW, I am not against OP's decision!

 


Edited by 4TheBox, Jan 05 2018 - 16:12.


Morty__ #10 Posted Jan 05 2018 - 16:11

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 21889 battles
  • 263
  • Member since:
    10-25-2015

View PostCDN_Peacekeeper, on Jan 05 2018 - 09:57, said:

do any of you run bootcamp?

pros and cons?

 

Yes, I do run bootcamp. 

 

Pros:

 - it's free

 - it works really well

 - there's no virtualization

 

Cons:

 - you have to choose whether to use Windows or Mac OS, when you want to switch from one OS to the other you have to reboot

 - sharing files between windows and mac os can be a pain (your windows OS cannot read your Mac OS files)

 - you have to buy a Windows license

 

I found it to be easy to set up



CDN_Peacekeeper #11 Posted Jan 05 2018 - 16:21

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 34446 battles
  • 483
  • Member since:
    05-30-2015

View Post4TheBox, on Jan 05 2018 - 16:08, said:

I will just leave this here. BTW, I am not against OP's decision!

 

 

Funny... but I use my macbook pro for other things... gaming.. and by that I mean WoT is the only game I play.  Counts for like 5% of why I use a Mac... just saying

Augustus_Sohn #12 Posted Jan 05 2018 - 16:57

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 2225 battles
  • 736
  • [WCTNT] WCTNT
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014

View PostCDN_Peacekeeper, on Jan 05 2018 - 07:21, said:

 

Funny... but I use my macbook pro for other things... gaming.. and by that I mean WoT is the only game I play.  Counts for like 5% of why I use a Mac... just saying

 

I’m in the same boat, so I’m very interested in what occurs here. 

black_colt #13 Posted Jan 05 2018 - 17:19

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3641 battles
  • 2,594
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostCDN_Peacekeeper, on Jan 05 2018 - 03:48, said:

Hey guys, not sure if this is the correct place to post this but so be it.

I'm updating my 2012 macbook pro.  Just wondering from the mac pro's on here if the following is good to get in terms of speed and graphics..

I'm buying a new macbook pro because of many reasons, but I do wanna make sure it can run the HD client of WoT's as well..

 

THis is what I'm looking at.

 

15.4-inch Macbook Pro 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 with Retina display - Space Grey

 

Originally released October 2016
Touch Bar with integrated Touch ID sensor
15.4-inch (diagonal) LED-backlit display; 2880x1800 native resolution at 220 pixels per inch
16GB of 2133MHz LPDDR3 onboard memory
256GB PCIe-based onboard SSD1
720p FaceTime HD Camera
Radeon Pro 450 with 2GB of GDDR5 memory

 

and this one

 

15.4-inch MacBook Pro 2.2GHz quad-core Intel i7 with Retina display

 

Originally released May 2015
15.4-inch (diagonal) Retina display; 2880x1800 resolution at 220 pixels per inch
16GB of 1600MHz DDR3L onboard memory
256GB PCIe-based flash storage
720p FaceTime HD Camera
Intel Iris Pro Graphics

 

 

The bottom one is cheaper of course... but any insight would be fantastic...

Thanks in advance.

 

R

 

 

A dedicated video card is the way to go [Oct 2016 model] if you are considering using the hardware to run the WoT Mac Wrapper.

 

As for Boot Camp I run MS Windows natively on all of my Apple-branding Intel-based hardware ONLY for when I want to access the Common Test Server and for Encore.   Boot Camp is a good solution for this as I do not have to jury-rig the WoT Mac Wrapper to run either apps.

 

However with a 256GB SSD you will find that you are constrained for space as 128GB is what I have found to the minimum for a MS Windows partition - that leaves you only 128GB for OS X/macOS - probably not a value as you stated that you will use OS X/macOS 95 percent of the time.

 

IMHO just stay with OS X/macOS, the WoT Mac Wrapper, and the Oct 2016 model.

 

Other Comments:

 

The WoT Mac Wrapper is NOT emulation - rather it uses WINE [Wine is Not Emulation] to translate MS Windows API calls on the fly to POSIX compliant API calls.  While Wargaming does not support the WoT Mac Wrapper they commissioned CodeWeavers to produce the WoT Mac Wrapper.  Based on my interaction with CodeWeavers you can be assured that they are looking closely at the Encore engine for any issues.

 

Currently 64-bit WINE [which would enable the HD client] is currently still a work in progress as OS X/macOS writes to memory space that 64-bit MS Windows expects not to be changed.  It is unlikely Apple will change that as it would break too many native apps.  However the WINE team [which is part of CodeWeavers] are very smart and creative so they may be able to create a work-around.

 

The WoT Mac Wrapper does have full graphics support so not sure what that means. 

 

 

 



4TheBox #14 Posted Jan 06 2018 - 16:25

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 25980 battles
  • 846
  • Member since:
    04-13-2013

View PostCDN_Peacekeeper, on Jan 05 2018 - 10:21, said:

 

Funny... but I use my macbook pro for other things... gaming.. and by that I mean WoT is the only game I play.  Counts for like 5% of why I use a Mac... just saying

 

I am using WoT Mac Wrapper for my Macbook Pro but my graphic setting there is minimum to enjoy high FPS. I hardly play there.

 

Bootcamp will be my choice if I have to use Windows programs on Mac.

 

I used to use parallels (https://www.parallels.com/) to test web site on IE on my Macbook pro. It worked OK.

Another free option will be Orace VirtualBox (https://www.virtualbox.org/) but I found it is dreadfully slow.

 

I hope this helps. Good hunting!

 



black_colt #15 Posted Jan 06 2018 - 17:57

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3641 battles
  • 2,594
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View Post4TheBox, on Jan 06 2018 - 07:25, said:

 

I am using WoT Mac Wrapper for my Macbook Pro but my graphic setting there is minimum to enjoy high FPS. I hardly play there.

 

Bootcamp will be my choice if I have to use Windows programs on Mac.

 

I used to use parallels (https://www.parallels.com/) to test web site on IE on my Macbook pro. It worked OK.

Another free option will be Orace VirtualBox (https://www.virtualbox.org/) but I found it is dreadfully slow.

 

I hope this helps. Good hunting!

 

 

​Hmm - I get about 50 FPS with Medium/High graphics settings [depends on WiFi network speed] on my late 2014 MacBook Pro Pro with a 2GB NVIDIA dedicated card running the WoT Mac Wrapper.  The WoT Mac Wrapper runs best if you have a dedicated video card.  Also I use the new native NVIDIA drivers instead of the Apple supplied drivers which may account for this FPS.

 

While this conversation is about purchasing a MacBook Pro I wanted to also bring up that my late 2015 27-inch iMac 5K Retina gets 60/70 FPS running High and all the sliders set at Max with a 4GB dedicated video card running two monitors at 2560x1440 and the game set to run windowless as additional proof that a dedicated video card is best for running the WoT Mac Wrapper.

 

If you can set aside at least 256GB SSD space to allocate to MS Windows then running MS Windows on your Apple-branded Intel-based hardware is the best option for MS Windows apps.

 

Parallels and VirtualBox extract too much of a performance penalty compared to booting into MS Windows so I do not use them for World of Tanks.  Nor do I recommend using them for World of Tanks.  

 

For CDN_Peacekeeper the MacBook Pro with the dedicated video card will IMHO serve them very well based on their requirements [only use the WoT Mac Wrapper about five percent of the time].


Edited by black_colt, Jan 06 2018 - 18:07.


Deutschland_Johnny #16 Posted Jan 06 2018 - 20:32

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 15997 battles
  • 41
  • Member since:
    06-24-2015

Hello Fello Mac Users,

 

I just want to add my two cents. And thinking forward to March 2018 when WOT 1.0 should be released.

 

I am a comercial photographer, hence my Mac Pro specs. Was not intending to play games on this machine, but I dod not want two machines as I prefer a tidy studio.

 

I run WOT with the Mac Wrapper on my new 2013 (really mid 2017) Mac Pro 

3.5GHz

6-Core

Intel Xeon E5 with 12MB L3 cache and Turbo Boost up to 3.9GHz

64GB 1866MHz DDR3 ECC memory

Dual AMD FirePro D500 GPU's

1TB PCIe-based SSD

BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K Display

 

After seeing the previews of what WOT will be offering in the version 1.0, I am thinking of running Windows 10 Pro under Boot Camp so I can utilize AMD CrossFire to merge the two FirePro cards.

 

Has anybody put any thought toward the future of WOT, and how we can keep or frame rates and setting?

 

Cheers,

Johnny



black_colt #17 Posted Jan 06 2018 - 23:22

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3641 battles
  • 2,594
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostDeutschland_Johnny, on Jan 06 2018 - 11:32, said:

Hello Fello Mac Users,

 

I just want to add my two cents. And thinking forward to March 2018 when WOT 1.0 should be released.

 

I am a comercial photographer, hence my Mac Pro specs. Was not intending to play games on this machine, but I dod not want two machines as I prefer a tidy studio.

 

I run WOT with the Mac Wrapper on my new 2013 (really mid 2017) Mac Pro 

3.5GHz

6-Core

Intel Xeon E5 with 12MB L3 cache and Turbo Boost up to 3.9GHz

64GB 1866MHz DDR3 ECC memory

Dual AMD FirePro D500 GPU's

1TB PCIe-based SSD

BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K Display

 

After seeing the previews of what WOT will be offering in the version 1.0, I am thinking of running Windows 10 Pro under Boot Camp so I can utilize AMD CrossFire to merge the two FirePro cards.

 

Has anybody put any thought toward the future of WOT, and how we can keep or frame rates and setting?

 

Cheers,

Johnny

 

​You would need to ask the PC Forums if they are running the native game with Crossfire using MS Windows without issues. 

 

A Crossfire profile for World of Tanks was included in Crimson 16.6.2 - http://support.amd.c...se-Notes.aspx​.

 

As the AMD drives installed through Boot Camp tend to lag behind - you may want to check out BootcampDrivers - https://www.bootcampdrivers.com/

 

I have been using the unofficial AMD drivers for MS Windows for awhile without issue for quite a while when I run MS Windows on my late 2015 27-inch iMac 5K Retina [4.0GHz Core i7, 512GB SSD, 32GB RAM, and a 4GB AMD R9 M395x dedicated video card] to great success.

 

As a technicality - you do not run MS Windows under Boot Camp.  Boot Camp creates the appropriate partitions and boot software so that you can run it natively on Apple-branded Intel-based hardware.



CDN_Peacekeeper #18 Posted Jan 09 2018 - 14:41

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 34446 battles
  • 483
  • Member since:
    05-30-2015

So I went ahead and bought my mac.

 

I got this one:

15.4-inch Macbook Pro 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 with Retina display - Space Grey

 

Originally released October 2016
Touch Bar with integrated Touch ID sensor
15.4-inch (diagonal) LED-backlit display; 2880x1800 native resolution at 220 pixels per inch
16GB of 2133MHz LPDDR3 onboard memory
256GB PCIe-based onboard SSD1
720p FaceTime HD Camera
Radeon Pro 450 with 2GB of GDDR5 memory

 

 

I don't get it until next week, do I need the utility to install it, or can I just install it from scratch... speaking about the wrapper that is.



the_dude_76 #19 Posted Jan 09 2018 - 16:34

    Major

  • Players
  • 31822 battles
  • 2,515
  • [GSRM] GSRM
  • Member since:
    12-27-2011

Block Quote

 Funny... but I use my macbook pro for other things... gaming.. and by that I mean WoT is the only game I play.  Counts for like 5% of why I use a Mac... just saying 

 

And yet PC users NEVER have to run a Mac OS to do all of the other things that you use your computer for...

 

Sorry, I just don't get it.



black_colt #20 Posted Jan 09 2018 - 16:53

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3641 battles
  • 2,594
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View Postthe_dude_76, on Jan 09 2018 - 07:34, said:

 

And yet PC users NEVER have to run a Mac OS to do all of the other things that you use your computer for...

 

Sorry, I just don't get it.

 

And yet OS X/macOS users NEVER have to run MS Windows to do all the other things that you use your computer for ... having to pay a ransom to get your data, run virus protection, run anti-malware software.

 

Sorry I just do not get it.


Edited by black_colt, Jan 09 2018 - 16:58.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users