Jump to content


Purchasing a new Mac


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

black_colt #21 Posted Jan 09 2018 - 17:02

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3641 battles
  • 2,601
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostCDN_Peacekeeper, on Jan 09 2018 - 05:41, said:

So I went ahead and bought my mac.

 

I got this one:

15.4-inch Macbook Pro 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 with Retina display - Space Grey

 

Originally released October 2016
Touch Bar with integrated Touch ID sensor
15.4-inch (diagonal) LED-backlit display; 2880x1800 native resolution at 220 pixels per inch
16GB of 2133MHz LPDDR3 onboard memory
256GB PCIe-based onboard SSD1
720p FaceTime HD Camera
Radeon Pro 450 with 2GB of GDDR5 memory

 

 

I don't get it until next week, do I need the utility to install it, or can I just install it from scratch... speaking about the wrapper that is.

 

Congratulations.

 

In case you did not know you can easily migrate the data from your 2012 machine using User Migration and Time Machine.  Just back-up your 2012 machine to Time Machine. Disconnect the Time Machine device, plug in the Time Machine device into the 2016 machine, boot and follow the instructions.

 

If you already had the WoT Mac Wrapper on your 2012 machine then you just go to Applications and double-click on the WoT Mac Wrapper icon after migration.

 

 



the_dude_76 #22 Posted Jan 09 2018 - 19:24

    Major

  • Players
  • 31850 battles
  • 2,543
  • [GSRM] GSRM
  • Member since:
    12-27-2011

View Postblack_colt, on Jan 09 2018 - 15:53, said:

 

And yet OS X/macOS users NEVER have to run MS Windows to do all the other things that you use your computer for ... having to pay a ransom to get your data, run virus protection, run anti-malware software.

 

Sorry I just do not get it.

 

So Macs are better for looking at porn sites?? 

 

No offense intended but it seems like a lot of extra money and effort just to avoid downloading free anti-virus software.



CDN_Peacekeeper #23 Posted Jan 09 2018 - 20:22

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 34515 battles
  • 483
  • Member since:
    05-30-2015

View Postthe_dude_76, on Jan 09 2018 - 19:24, said:

 

So Macs are better for looking at porn sites?? 

 

No offense intended but it seems like a lot of extra money and effort just to avoid downloading free anti-virus software.

 

Obviously if you are a gamer... PC's are probably the way to go.

 

But I moved to Mac from PC about 6 years ago... and I WOULD NEVER go back to PC.



CDN_Peacekeeper #24 Posted Jan 09 2018 - 20:23

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 34515 battles
  • 483
  • Member since:
    05-30-2015

View Postblack_colt, on Jan 09 2018 - 17:02, said:

 

Congratulations.

 

In case you did not know you can easily migrate the data from your 2012 machine using User Migration and Time Machine.  Just back-up your 2012 machine to Time Machine. Disconnect the Time Machine device, plug in the Time Machine device into the 2016 machine, boot and follow the instructions.

 

If you already had the WoT Mac Wrapper on your 2012 machine then you just go to Applications and double-click on the WoT Mac Wrapper icon after migration.

 

 

 

I think I'm just gonna start fresh...

So all I need to do is download the wrapper and away I go... I don't require the Utility do i ?



the_dude_76 #25 Posted Jan 09 2018 - 21:46

    Major

  • Players
  • 31850 battles
  • 2,543
  • [GSRM] GSRM
  • Member since:
    12-27-2011

View PostCDN_Peacekeeper, on Jan 09 2018 - 19:22, said:

 

Obviously if you are a gamer... PC's are probably the way to go.

 

But I moved to Mac from PC about 6 years ago... and I WOULD NEVER go back to PC.

 

What is the advantage other than virus protection? I assume there must be something more but that was all the other guy could seem to come up with.

black_colt #26 Posted Jan 10 2018 - 00:14

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3641 battles
  • 2,601
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostCDN_Peacekeeper, on Jan 09 2018 - 11:23, said:

 

I think I'm just gonna start fresh...

So all I need to do is download the wrapper and away I go... I don't require the Utility do i ?

 

Correct - just download the latest WoT Mac Wrapper from the Wargaming website.

 

I recommend that you download and install the Studly Utility as it solves many issues with the WoT Mac Wrapper and game with a few clicks.  Look for a post from dstud208 and the download link is in the signature section.

 

 



CDN_Peacekeeper #27 Posted Jan 11 2018 - 02:02

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 34515 battles
  • 483
  • Member since:
    05-30-2015

View Postblack_colt, on Jan 10 2018 - 00:14, said:

 

Correct - just download the latest WoT Mac Wrapper from the Wargaming website.

 

I recommend that you download and install the Studly Utility as it solves many issues with the WoT Mac Wrapper and game with a few clicks.  Look for a post from dstud208 and the download link is in the signature section.

 

 

 

Mac came early and have everything installed...

I ran the graphics on min for my old mac...

for this one i set it to the middle setting... name escapes me at the moment.  But my FPS at that setting was hovering around 55-60.. Ok.. but I thought with this new hardware, I would be able to run

maximum settings... any ideas on why I can't?



black_colt #28 Posted Jan 11 2018 - 16:35

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3641 battles
  • 2,601
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostCDN_Peacekeeper, on Jan 10 2018 - 17:02, said:

 

Mac came early and have everything installed...

I ran the graphics on min for my old mac...

for this one i set it to the middle setting... name escapes me at the moment.  But my FPS at that setting was hovering around 55-60.. Ok.. but I thought with this new hardware, I would be able to run

maximum settings... any ideas on why I can't?

 

You can run at Maximum settings - I do so very often.  See about 45/50 FPS when doing so.  Just move all the sliders to Maximum.

 

 

 

 



CDN_Peacekeeper #29 Posted Jan 11 2018 - 18:02

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 34515 battles
  • 483
  • Member since:
    05-30-2015

View Postblack_colt, on Jan 11 2018 - 16:35, said:

 

You can run at Maximum settings - I do so very often.  See about 45/50 FPS when doing so.  Just move all the sliders to Maximum.

 

 

 

 

 

so just move the sliders? dont' actually change the overall setting?

black_colt #30 Posted Jan 11 2018 - 19:31

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3641 battles
  • 2,601
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostCDN_Peacekeeper, on Jan 11 2018 - 09:02, said:

 

so just move the sliders? dont' actually change the overall setting?

 

You can do both so that you can find-tune your experience.

 

When you see your Garage - go to [Settings] [Graphics] and select [High] or [Maximum]. In that same screen select [Details] and change the slider positions.

 

As I have an earlier dedicated video card [2GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M] - I just run [High] and do not change any of the sliders.



Asiaticus #31 Posted Jan 18 2018 - 21:57

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 4577 battles
  • 145
  • [NBL] NBL
  • Member since:
    07-19-2014

View Postthe_dude_76, on Jan 09 2018 - 15:46, said:

 

What is the advantage other than virus protection? I assume there must be something more but that was all the other guy could seem to come up with.

 

You know, the internet is full of the whole Mac/Windows debate thing. There are literally a couple of decades of forum flame wars on just that topic, with tens of thousands of really, really repetitive posts. It's been done to death and then its corpse has been dug up again and again to repeat the process ad nauseam.

It's amazing to me that anyone thinks there is anything new or interesting to say about this. If you like Windows, use a Windows PC. If you like Macs, use a Mac. Really, that's all that's worth saying about it.


Edited by Asiaticus, Jan 18 2018 - 21:59.


black_colt #32 Posted Jan 18 2018 - 23:18

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3641 battles
  • 2,601
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostAsiaticus, on Jan 18 2018 - 12:57, said:

 

You know, the internet is full of the whole Mac/Windows debate thing. There are literally a couple of decades of forum flame wars on just that topic, with tens of thousands of really, really repetitive posts. It's been done to death and then its corpse has been dug up again and again to repeat the process ad nauseam.

It's amazing to me that anyone thinks there is anything new or interesting to say about this. If you like Windows, use a Windows PC. If you like Macs, use a Mac. Really, that's all that's worth saying about it.

 

There will always be MS Windows bigots and those bigots probably have never used OS X/macOS.  Best spending your time playing the game or doing something else that you enjoy than responding to them as it will probably not get through.

 

I have run NeXTSTEP, OPENSTEP, BeOS, OS/2, MS Windows [v2 through 10], Classic Mac OS, Rhapsody, and too many Linux distributions to recall them all on all levels of hardware and I keep coming back to OS X/macOS simply because it works for me.

 

I could bring up that the issue that the game needs a wrapper for OS X/macOS and Linux is that MS has not and probably will not release DirectX for any OS other than MS Windows and has depreciated OpenGL on MS Windows. 

 

If you really want to extract the most out of your Intel/AMD based hardware - then run Linux.  WINE allows you to run many MS Windows apps without the need for MS Windows on Linux.  Long Live Ubuntu ...

 

 

 

 

 



Texas_Vet #33 Posted Jan 19 2018 - 19:05

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 2266 battles
  • 62
  • [ECV] ECV
  • Member since:
    07-18-2015
I have a the maxed out macbook dated 2016, to comparable specs that you referenced.  I do prefer a Windows based laptop for games.  My son got this for me to replace my failed laptop.  A but quirkey running wappers....

black_colt #34 Posted Jan 19 2018 - 19:21

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3641 battles
  • 2,601
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostTexas_Vet, on Jan 19 2018 - 10:05, said:

I have a the maxed out macbook dated 2016, to comparable specs that you referenced.  I do prefer a Windows based laptop for games.  My son got this for me to replace my failed laptop.  A but quirkey running wappers....

 

In case you did not know you can legally run MS Windows on Apple-branded Intel-based hardware for the cost of a full version of MS Windows [USD 30 to USD 120 depending on where you buy].  This is a viable option if the internal storage of the Mac is at least 256GB.

 

A Hackintosh cannot legally run OS X/macOS.

 

I run MS Windows on my late 2014 15-inch MacBook Pro and late 2015 27-inch iMac 5K Retina so I can:

 

run the Test and Common Servers.

can test various MOD packs to see if I like them.

 

Also it only takes about 25 minutes to delete the MS Windows partition, repartition, and fully install MS Windows on the iMac.  It takes about 35 minutes on the MacBook Pro since I must use a bootable USB drive. 

 

The only real vissue issue I came across [besides the horrible user interface, terrible wireless drivers, etc.] is since Apple provides custom AMD video drivers for the iMac that those drivers may not be up-to-date.  However there is a solution for that - bootcampdrivers.com


Edited by black_colt, Jan 19 2018 - 20:45.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users