Jump to content


WoT 1.0 on Mac.


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

CapnNoahJoJo03 #1 Posted Feb 07 2018 - 03:53

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 15916 battles
  • 836
  • [HSOLO] HSOLO
  • Member since:
    04-08-2016

Just would like to know is their gonna be a Mac wrapper released within a few days of The Big One, are we gonna have to wait, or is it gonna be like all other updates where everything is already done? Any feedback I would be preciated.

 

                  P.S Macs Rule!!!



TeaTimeWithKongou #2 Posted Feb 07 2018 - 04:14

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 8463 battles
  • 793
  • Member since:
    04-06-2016
It should be released on Mac at the same time I believe, still don't know why you would game on a Mac in the first place

CapnNoahJoJo03 #3 Posted Feb 07 2018 - 04:17

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 15916 battles
  • 836
  • [HSOLO] HSOLO
  • Member since:
    04-08-2016
Cuz reasons, like money

amerikafka #4 Posted Feb 07 2018 - 04:34

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 13851 battles
  • 268
  • [HHOUR] HHOUR
  • Member since:
    04-24-2015

View PostTeaTimeWithKongou, on Feb 07 2018 - 04:14, said:

It should be released on Mac at the same time I believe, still don't know why you would game on a Mac in the first place

 

Not sure what you are doing in the WoT Mac Wrapper Support forum in the first place - perhaps your situational awareness needs a bit of tweaking?

black_colt #5 Posted Feb 07 2018 - 19:24

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3705 battles
  • 2,692
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostCapnNoahJoJo03, on Feb 06 2018 - 18:53, said:

Just would like to know is their gonna be a Mac wrapper released within a few days of The Big One, are we gonna have to wait, or is it gonna be like all other updates where everything is already done? Any feedback I would be preciated.

 

                  P.S Macs Rule!!!

 

CodeWeavers [who produced the WoT Mac Wrapper] is aware of the upcoming release and are working to ensure that there are no issues upon release.

 

Hopefully there will be a brief period between when the code is frozen and the release date so that they can test and release to Wargaming for approval to release.

 

As with any release we should expect issues.

 

 



black_colt #6 Posted Feb 07 2018 - 19:36

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3705 battles
  • 2,692
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostTeaTimeWithKongou, on Feb 06 2018 - 19:14, said:

It should be released on Mac at the same time I believe, still don't know why you would game on a Mac in the first place

 

Because we chose to do so - just like you chose to run MS Windows.

 



lenticular #7 Posted Feb 09 2018 - 01:09

    Captain

  • Players
  • 38538 battles
  • 1,337
  • Member since:
    06-08-2012

View PostTeaTimeWithKongou, on Feb 06 2018 - 19:14, said:

still don't know why you would game on a Mac in the first place

 

When I can, I play on my custom-built gaming PC. But a lot of times my kids are using that machine, so the Mac Wrapper lets me play on my laptop. 



pommis #8 Posted Feb 09 2018 - 09:14

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 32
  • Member since:
    10-23-2014
Test server for 1.0 is running.Any chance to Trye it whit wrapper?

CapnNoahJoJo03 #9 Posted Feb 09 2018 - 16:38

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 15916 battles
  • 836
  • [HSOLO] HSOLO
  • Member since:
    04-08-2016

View Postpommis, on Feb 09 2018 - 09:14, said:

Test server for 1.0 is running.Any chance to Trye it whit wrapper?

 

There is an extremely complicated way to play Test Server on Mac, but not know how do I.

black_colt #10 Posted Feb 10 2018 - 00:54

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3705 battles
  • 2,692
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostCapnNoahJoJo03, on Feb 09 2018 - 07:38, said:

 

There is an extremely complicated way to play Test Server on Mac, but not know how do I.

 

Here is the link to the forum post from dstud208 that might help - http://forum.worldof...2#entry10550262

TuskerDat #11 Posted Feb 10 2018 - 05:11

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 15703 battles
  • 16
  • [-AK-] -AK-
  • Member since:
    09-15-2014

View Postblack_colt, on Feb 07 2018 - 19:24, said:

 

CodeWeavers [who produced the WoT Mac Wrapper] is aware of the upcoming release and are working to ensure that there are no issues upon release.

 

Hopefully there will be a brief period between when the code is frozen and the release date so that they can test and release to Wargaming for approval to release.

 

As with any release we should expect issues.

 

 

 

Thanks for that update. I wish wargaming gave us mac users our prem. time back. It seems every update is a crapshoot as to when we play again. Does Warships work yet?

black_colt #12 Posted Feb 10 2018 - 18:16

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3705 battles
  • 2,692
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostTuskerDat, on Feb 09 2018 - 20:11, said:

 

Thanks for that update. I wish wargaming gave us mac users our prem. time back. It seems every update is a crapshoot as to when we play again. Does Warships work yet?

 

Premium time back?

 

Currently not having any issues with the last couple updates to the game in the WoT or WoW Mac Wrapper on my MacBook Pro and iMac so not sure what you are referring to as a [crapshoot]

 

 

 

 



TuskerDat #13 Posted Feb 11 2018 - 03:23

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 15703 battles
  • 16
  • [-AK-] -AK-
  • Member since:
    09-15-2014

View Postblack_colt, on Feb 10 2018 - 18:16, said:

 

Premium time back?

 

Currently not having any issues with the last couple updates to the game in the WoT or WoW Mac Wrapper on my MacBook Pro and iMac so not sure what you are referring to as a [crapshoot]

 

 

Sorry, I'm not referring to the most current updates. That said, I've experienced many weeks of downtime in the past. The most serious was a 30-60 outage about two years ago that cost me a month's worth of premium time. It pissed me off but I eventually came back and tried  - WoWS which subsequently did the same thing. Now I've come to expect the second class treatment based on those incidents.

black_colt #14 Posted Feb 11 2018 - 05:59

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3705 battles
  • 2,692
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostTuskerDat, on Feb 10 2018 - 18:23, said:

 

Sorry, I'm not referring to the most current updates. That said, I've experienced many weeks of downtime in the past. The most serious was a 30-60 outage about two years ago that cost me a month's worth of premium time. It pissed me off but I eventually came back and tried  - WoWS which subsequently did the same thing. Now I've come to expect the second class treatment based on those incidents.

 

Wargaming has NOT done a good job of informing WoT Mac Wrapper users that they do not support the game PRIOR to downloading.

 

IMHO you should need to click-through a warning dialog box [which calls out that the app is NOT supported in any way] before you can even download the game.



pommis #15 Posted Feb 11 2018 - 09:07

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 32
  • Member since:
    10-23-2014
Hope they can go back to hd client whit wot 1.0.

black_colt #16 Posted Feb 13 2018 - 23:30

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3705 battles
  • 2,692
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View Postpommis, on Feb 11 2018 - 00:07, said:

Hope they can go back to hd client whit wot 1.0.

 

That will all depend on what version of WINE can be used.

 

The HD client of the native MS Windows game is a 32-bit executable but it demands a 64-bit operating system to have 4GB of address space available.  WOW64 in 64-bit versions of MS Windows allows 4GB of address space to be available to 32-bit executables and that is why you can have the HD client as well as the SD client on 64-bit versions of MS Windows.

 

However IIRC the WoT Mac Wrapper is based on WINE 1.9.x which does not have 4GB of address space available.  Hence the inability to run the HD client in the current WoT Mac Wrapper even though OS X/macOS has been a 64-bit OS since IIRC OS X 10.8 [2012].

 






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users