Jump to content


HD Maps take FOREVER to load


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

Project100 #1 Posted Feb 10 2018 - 18:16

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 2694 battles
  • 678
  • [DHO3] DHO3
  • Member since:
    01-01-2016

Everything is fine once they do load, slightly lower FPS and slightly higher ping than on live server, but over all this is the big complaint.

 

I am used to the long load time for the first battle of the day on live version, but always make it in with at least 20 seconds left on the countdown.

 

On CT 1.0, I have not yet made it into a battle before just about everyone else has already driven out of cap.

 

Hard Drive speed? Am I going to need to get a dedicated SSD for the 1.0 release?



Kamahl1234 #2 Posted Feb 10 2018 - 18:21

    Major

  • Players
  • 18390 battles
  • 10,078
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

Do a defrag on your drive, and see if it helps. 

 

A SSD isn't required but always helps in a game like this. 



TLWiz #3 Posted Feb 10 2018 - 18:23

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 20117 battles
  • 9,255
  • [DSSRT] DSSRT
  • Member since:
    12-26-2014
SSDs are great, and very inexpensive now too - but I could not say with certainty that it would help you much for load time as I gave up spinning HDs several years ago.  That aside, I was very happy to find my FPS (with settings on ultra) in the 90-110 range on the test server - not much different than the present game.

MoeBlack #4 Posted Feb 10 2018 - 18:43

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 37992 battles
  • 913
  • Member since:
    04-23-2012
Don’t pre-judge 1.0 based on CT results.

Project100 #5 Posted Feb 10 2018 - 18:51

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 2694 battles
  • 678
  • [DHO3] DHO3
  • Member since:
    01-01-2016

View PostDracheherr, on Feb 10 2018 - 12:43, said:

Don’t pre-judge 1.0 based on CT results.

 

I'm experiencing an issue with the CT that I've never had before in WoT and trying to troubleshoot the problem by asking on the forums.

 

I'm not pre-judging anything.



Gunadie #6 Posted Feb 10 2018 - 19:20

    Major

  • Players
  • 40185 battles
  • 4,644
  • Member since:
    08-20-2011

View PostKamahl1234, on Feb 10 2018 - 09:21, said:

Do a defrag on your drive, and see if it helps.

 

A SSD isn't required but always helps in a game like this.

 

If your still de-fraging you need a better storage.....:trollface:

Mega_Scizor #7 Posted Feb 10 2018 - 19:32

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 8762 battles
  • 11
  • [PXX] PXX
  • Member since:
    02-25-2011
While an SSD will significantly help, its not the only factor. CPU, Ram, and GPU can affect load times as well. I personally have high end components and yet still have WoT 1.0 beta on a HDD with graphics maxed out and i still load with around 20 sec to spare. While an HDD will be a significant bottleneck, it may no be the only one.

Bavor #8 Posted Feb 12 2018 - 15:38

    Major

  • Players
  • 30602 battles
  • 2,798
  • Member since:
    04-21-2013
It must be your hard drive speed or a combination of a slow hard drive and a low amount of RAM and slow CPU.  All my battles on the test server load before the countdown starts.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users