Some Tips For Mac User About to Install Bootcamp?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

CapnNoahJoJo03 #1 Posted Feb 12 2018 - 18:02

First lieutenant

• -Players-
  • 14339 battles
  • [HSOLO] HSOLO

Okay worst bit first. I am a complete noob when it comes to technology. Like, how do I use this toaster kind of noob. So talk to me like a baby, please. But installing bootcamp does seem rather straightforward, even for my peabrain. I’ve watched a couple videos and read a few articles, and feel ready. I do have two big questions tho. 

1: Does it cost money to install Windows? Really I just want access to WoWP and Test Server.

2: How much space should I partition to Windows if the only thing I will play is WoT- and just thought of this, now I can try WoWP- and WoWP?

If any of you have any tips to help me, or any advisements, I would appreciate em.

Edited by CapnNoahJoJo03, Feb 12 2018 - 18:02.

AndrewSledge #2 Posted Feb 12 2018 - 18:11

Captain

• -Players-
  • 29520 battles
You need to own a copy of Windows to install it, so if you don't, then yes, it will cost you money.

dnaman #3 Posted Feb 12 2018 - 18:13

Captain

• Players
  • 28432 battles
  • [_EOS_] _EOS_

Give it a lot of space.  I put an additional hard drive into my Mac Pro to deal with all the files.  I run a bunch of games on an older Mac, so the space was necessary.  Windows DOES cost money, but I bought a windows 7 license on amazon for like $20.  The 7 licenses will allow you to get windows 10 for 100% free.  So I’d suggest that route.  

Use the Microsoft ISO maker (on Microsoft’s site) to create a bootable USB to install from.  Once you have boot camp in, you’ll be able to install windows.  You’ll need that USB at that stage.

once windows is in and working (hopefully on first install), you can download and install the games.

dnaman #4 Posted Feb 12 2018 - 19:13

Captain

• Players
  • 28432 battles
  • [_EOS_] _EOS_