WoT on Ubuntu Linux

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

witch359 #1 Posted Feb 17 2018 - 19:19

Sergeant

• Players
  • 14639 battles

Sorry if this is the wrong place; I know MacOS and Linux are similar...

I just downloaded and installed the latest version of Ubuntu and would like to install WoT. I know I need Wine (which I installed), but not really sure what to do next. I found a few tutorials, but always seem to run into some kind of problem installing (tutorials are obsolete?). They also tell me to do various things without really explaining how, which leaves me pretty confused.

Can anyone point me to a clear set of instructions for how to install WoT on Ubuntu? I'm not a Linux expert, so I'm looking for something step-by-step. Thank you.

Whisky_A_Go_Go #2 Posted Feb 17 2018 - 20:58

Major

• Players
  • 9937 battles

You're making a grave mistake.

I love Ubuntu. I run it on the laptop I posting this with and I have an Ubuntu Server that is a file server for my entire house.

BUT

It is NOT a gaming platform. Can you make it work? Yes. But it will in all likelihood operate at a fraction of the rate that it will in Windows.

Wine is an emulator made to get you through the odd program or two you just can't get in anything other than Windows. It's not a gaming platform at all.

If you insist on proceeding, you would simply launch the WoT installer in a Wine Environment. It's just that easy.

And it will run in that same environment, but again only at a fraction of the rate it does in Windows.

If you thought for one second that Ubuntu was some magic kingdom that was going to make everything free and everything made to run on Windows would run just as well, you thought wrong on a very large level.

witch359 #3 Posted Feb 17 2018 - 22:24

Sergeant

• Players
  • 14639 battles

That's disappointing, but I appreciate the feedback.

black_colt #4 Posted Feb 18 2018 - 00:42

Major

• -Players-
  • 3641 battles