Jump to content


Tweaking Graphics Settings - MAC


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

ProfessionalFinn #1 Posted Mar 22 2018 - 18:38

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 19795 battles
  • 434
  • Member since:
    02-23-2016

In my quest to get the best WoT 1.0 graphics experience out of my Apple MAC, first blush V1:

 

What works for me:

  1. Selecting the "Low" Graphics menu option.  Vanilla, my fps is in the 50s.  
  2. Enable 3D Render and set to 100%.
  3. Set every graphics option  to the highest possible quality setting.  Many are grayed out or inoperable at "low". FPS runs high 30s minimum

What fails me:

  1. "Medium" Graphics setting.... awful 15fps like performance
  2. "Custom" with any Lighting or post processing enabled.  Ditto the awful fps.

Mine is Apple Mac mini with v10.13.3 macOS, 2.6 Ghz Intel Core i5, 8Mb memory, Intel Iris graphics with 1536 MB.  The display is a 29" Sony, 1080 via HDMI.

 

Image attached, screen-shot of graphics settings  described above

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File   wot3.png   256.27K

Edited by ProfessionalFinn, Mar 22 2018 - 19:03.


black_colt #2 Posted Mar 22 2018 - 18:55

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3641 battles
  • 2,565
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

Excellent - thanks for the cogent, concise, and relevant post.

 

Should really be of value for others to help find a balanced graphics setting with similar hardware/OS.



ProfessionalFinn #3 Posted Mar 22 2018 - 19:20

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 19795 battles
  • 434
  • Member since:
    02-23-2016
Another tweak.  Using the V1 settings in my first post (above) - set Anti Aliasing at 100%.   Before it was off.  The net result was fps dropped something around 10 less per second but the game graphics were noticeably better.  With AA, my fps is on average in the mid to high 20s.... making play borderline unplayable for me. 

black_colt #4 Posted Mar 22 2018 - 20:01

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3641 battles
  • 2,565
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostProfessionalFinn, on Mar 22 2018 - 10:20, said:

Another tweak.  Using the V1 settings in my first post (above) - set Anti Aliasing at 100%.   Before it was off.  The net result was fps dropped something around 10 less per second but the game graphics were noticeably better.  With AA, my fps is on average in the mid to high 20s.... making play borderline unplayable for me. 

 

Keep them coming ...

 

This is a comment and not meant to be critical of your choice of hardware - the Mac Mini is really not a good machine for gaming so you may need to steel yourself to the fact that the hardware may not be able to run above [Low]

 

I would recommend that you look at an eGPU since you have an external HMDI but it appears that Apple has pulled the ability to use Thunderbolt 2 [now only Thunderbolt 3] in the latest Public Beta.

 

It appears that the internal drive is a 5400 RPM HDD.   If so, you may want to look at getting an external drive enclosure [with Thunderbolt 2 min - Thunderbolt 3 best] place an SSD in that enclosure, install macOS and the WoT Mac Wrapper, and boot from that enclosure.  I do this all the time when testing new Public Builds to great success. 

 

Having the enclosure with Thunderbolt 3 will allow you to leverage that purchase if you replace the Mac Mini with hardware that has Thunderbolt 3.



ProfessionalFinn #5 Posted Mar 22 2018 - 20:23

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 19795 battles
  • 434
  • Member since:
    02-23-2016

View Postblack_colt, on Mar 22 2018 - 20:01, said:

 

Keep them coming ...

 

This is a comment and not meant to be critical of your choice of hardware - the Mac Mini is really not a good machine for gaming so you may need to steel yourself to the fact that the hardware may not be able to run above [Low]

 

I would recommend that you look at an eGPU since you have an external HMDI but it appears that Apple has pulled the ability to use Thunderbolt 2 [now only Thunderbolt 3] in the latest Public Beta.

 

It appears that the internal drive is a 5400 RPM HDD.   If so, you may want to look at getting an external drive enclosure [with Thunderbolt 2 min - Thunderbolt 3 best] place an SSD in that enclosure, install macOS and the WoT Mac Wrapper, and boot from that enclosure.  I do this all the time when testing new Public Builds to great success. 

 

Having the enclosure with Thunderbolt 3 will allow you to leverage that purchase if you replace the Mac Mini with hardware that has Thunderbolt 3.

Good points. WoT was discovered post the decision to go Apple Macs. You cannot feed the world from a flowerpot via optimization nor can you turn a Mac Mini into a graphics powerhouse via optimization.  For me this is about gaining marginal improvements.  The next move is to get a VR ready system.



ProfessionalFinn #6 Posted Mar 23 2018 - 02:20

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 19795 battles
  • 434
  • Member since:
    02-23-2016

WoT put out this good to great graphics vid for 1.0.... 

 

https://youtu.be/E2xUpJsxElc



_Duvan_ #7 Posted Mar 23 2018 - 06:07

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 330 battles
  • 1
  • [-KC] -KC
  • Member since:
    11-03-2017

My problems is I can't get 1.0 to load on any of my Macs. It freezes about 60 percent of the way through, so I can't even tweak my settings. Any suggestions?

 



ProfessionalFinn #8 Posted Mar 23 2018 - 09:57

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 19795 battles
  • 434
  • Member since:
    02-23-2016

View Post_Duvan_, on Mar 23 2018 - 06:07, said:

My problems is I can't get 1.0 to load on any of my Macs. It freezes about 60 percent of the way through, so I can't even tweak my settings. Any suggestions?

 

 

I experienced the same problem.  The solution for me....uninstalled WoT client, empty wastebasket, reboot and do a clean WoT client install.  Worked great.  Problem solved.

pommis #9 Posted Mar 23 2018 - 12:03

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 29
  • Member since:
    10-23-2014

Would be nice to have update to wrapper so I could use improved graphics.Now the game crashes in garage when trying to use the improved graphics.


Edited by pommis, Mar 23 2018 - 12:04.


black_colt #10 Posted Mar 23 2018 - 22:44

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3641 battles
  • 2,565
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View Postpommis, on Mar 23 2018 - 03:03, said:

Would be nice to have update to wrapper so I could use improved graphics.Now the game crashes in garage when trying to use the improved graphics.

 

Recommend that you raise a Support Ticket with CodeWeavers - https://www.codeweav...tact-us#support  - as that they are aware of the issue.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users