Best AR system in 7.62x51?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
26 replies to this topic

Slacker #1 Posted Sep 03 2011 - 05:39

First lieutenant

• Players
  • 2507 battles
What do you guys think is a good choice in terms of these rifles? I am looking for a gun for the range and deer hunting.

I was thinking this Panther arms and to just modify it for my purposes. So what do you think is the best AR platform in 7.62x51 for 2k or under?

Toasted_Rofls #2 Posted Sep 04 2011 - 04:20

Major

• Players
  • 9759 battles

View PostSlacker, on Sep 03 2011 - 05:39, said:

What do you guys think is a good choice in terms of these rifles? I am looking for a gun for the range and deer hunting.

I was thinking this Panther arms and to just modify it for my purposes. So what do you think is the best AR platform in 7.62x51 for 2k or under?

I have no experience with a 7.62 AR, let me be honest. And your budget rules out the KAC offerings, which are widely regarded as the best 7.62 AR's on the market. However, I do have a suggestion I can make with confidence after looking into a 7.62 AR myself: Spend a little extra, and get one for LMT or Larue if possible. If you see one on sale, grab one.

On the other hand, do you think a AR style rifle might be overkill for deer hunting? I myself do not, nor have, hunted, so I am no expert, but I would think you would be better off with a nice bolt action and a good scope for the same cost. The 7.62 are was originally designed as a military rifle, then repurposed for sports shooters as well as to be a marksman rifle. It's more expensive than a bolt action, and weighs more to. As for having a AR for the range, a good 5.56 will coast half as much, have cheaper ammo and more parts, and generally be better. Not only that, it makes a good varmit rifle to, or so I've heard, as long as you get one with a good barrel.

Mechanize #3 Posted Sep 04 2011 - 04:57

Major

• Beta Testers
  • 1241 battles