Jump to content


why is my ping gradually increasing?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
71 replies to this topic

Asassian7 #1 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 03:30

    Major

  • Players
  • 24818 battles
  • 11,514
  • [YOUJO] YOUJO
  • Member since:
    12-26-2011

Please tell me Im not the only one with this issue.

 

when the central server was released, my ping was 200. yes, New Zealand. etc etc etc that doesn't matter. but, since the release of the central server, my ping has gradually increased, up to 230, then to 250, then to 280, now its 300! and today, for some bizzare reason, its Motherhecking 430????? I restarted the client and its 470? WHY?

 

FYI, ping from NZ to any server in the USA should not be going over 250-260ish. I get 320 ping to EU servers, which is on the other side of the planet. I should not be getting ping this high to a server that is closer both geographically and via internet cables, than European servers.

 

my internet hasn't changed. in fact, my internet is actually a good 30mbps FASTER than it was when the central server went live. (70/30 up/down to 100/50 up down - and more stable connection) so why is my ping to the WoT server, and ONLY the WoT server (no other games are effected, not even WoWS NA) increasing so much? 200 is playable, 250 is even playable (it was my ping to NA east) but 300 is nearly unplayable (can't hit moving targets) let alone 400. 

 

how can I fix this?

 

edit: forgot to mention, this is just a stable ping. its not packet lossy or laggy or anything like that. its just a stable 400+ ping. 


Edited by Asassian7, Apr 05 2018 - 03:44.


SpectreHD #2 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 03:34

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 16529 battles
  • 16,682
  • [TT] TT
  • Member since:
    07-12-2010

Because the server is running.

 

Seriously though, could be the underwater fiber cable or some routing issues between you and the servers especially within the continental US.


Edited by SpectreHD, Apr 05 2018 - 03:36.


Asassian7 #3 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 03:40

    Major

  • Players
  • 24818 battles
  • 11,514
  • [YOUJO] YOUJO
  • Member since:
    12-26-2011

View PostSpectreHD, on Apr 05 2018 - 14:34, said:

Because the server is running.

 

Seriously though, could be the underwater fiber cable or some routing issues between you and the servers especially within the continental US.

 

I mean, issues with the cables would explain a one time jump and then the ping going back down. but this is just constant, gradual increase in ping. its just slowly going up and up and up and up and I have no idea why. 

 

edit: my ping to LATAM is now lower than my ping to central. my ping to LATAM should be a good 100-200 above central. this is rediculous


Edited by Asassian7, Apr 05 2018 - 03:42.


ColonelHeinzGuderian #4 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 03:46

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 22259 battles
  • 212
  • Member since:
    11-05-2012

View PostAsassian7, on Apr 04 2018 - 21:30, said:

Please tell me Im not the only one with this issue.

 

when the central server was released, my ping was 200. yes, New Zealand. etc etc etc that doesn't matter. but, since the release of the central server, my ping has gradually increased, up to 230, then to 250, then to 280, now its 300! and today, for some bizzare reason, its Motherhecking 430????? I restarted the client and its 470? WHY?

 

FYI, ping from NZ to any server in the USA should not be going over 250-260ish. I get 320 ping to EU servers, which is on the other side of the planet. I should not be getting ping this high to a server that is closer both geographically and via internet cables, than European servers.

 

my internet hasn't changed. in fact, my internet is actually a good 30mbps FASTER than it was when the central server went live. (70/30 up/down to 100/50 up down - and more stable connection) so why is my ping to the WoT server, and ONLY the WoT server (no other games are effected, not even WoWS NA) increasing so much? 200 is playable, 250 is even playable (it was my ping to NA east) but 300 is nearly unplayable (can't hit moving targets) let alone 400. 

 

how can I fix this?

 

edit: forgot to mention, this is just a stable ping. its not packet lossy or laggy or anything like that. its just a stable 400+ ping. 

 

Russian taps on the underwater cables...

Kamahl1234 #5 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 03:53

    Major

  • Players
  • 18393 battles
  • 10,078
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

View PostAsassian7, on Apr 05 2018 - 02:40, said:

 

I mean, issues with the cables would explain a one time jump and then the ping going back down. but this is just constant, gradual increase in ping. its just slowly going up and up and up and up and I have no idea why. 

 

edit: my ping to LATAM is now lower than my ping to central. my ping to LATAM should be a good 100-200 above central. this is rediculous

 

Isn't the LATAM server geographically closer to you than Central?

unclebedhead #6 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 03:54

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 14031 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    07-10-2016
It's not just you. I live in Colorado (Central US) and my ping is normally around 30. Right now it's around 280. Can't play with lag this bad.

the_Deadly_Bulb #7 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 03:55

    Major

  • Players
  • 21757 battles
  • 3,720
  • [WCTNT] WCTNT
  • Member since:
    03-11-2014

Hard to say why.

I have been more laggy than usual today OP.

Running about twice my usual ping of 60



the_Deadly_Bulb #8 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 03:56

    Major

  • Players
  • 21757 battles
  • 3,720
  • [WCTNT] WCTNT
  • Member since:
    03-11-2014

View PostKamahl1234, on Apr 04 2018 - 18:53, said:

 

Isn't the LATAM server geographically closer to you than Central?

 

Geography has little to do with ping when you're dealing with a rather underdeveloped area such as S.America.

spud_tuber #9 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 04:09

    Major

  • Players
  • 50948 battles
  • 6,225
  • Member since:
    08-26-2013
Have you tried running ping plotter to see if any obvious issues show up?

tod914 #10 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 04:16

    Major

  • Players
  • 57643 battles
  • 3,966
  • Member since:
    12-23-2013

This is what support will tell you to do first after submitting a ping plot and the other file they request in the support ticket.   Maybe give this a go.  I also noticed when I have called my ISP in the past and asking them to reset my IP address it's helped.  For a little while anyway.  Then I end up getting rerouted onto the two Level 3 hubs that are causing me issues about a week later.

 

Spoiler

 

They also asked me to open up certain ports on my router.  If you need that info, I can dig it up for you.


Edited by tod914, Apr 05 2018 - 04:17.


Sleepytime #11 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 04:25

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 29545 battles
  • 242
  • Member since:
    10-23-2012

If you want to find the location of the slow down and if it is on your end,your ISPs or Wargaming's you need to run what is a called a Trace Route, it will log all the "hoops" your connection takes from your router to Wargaming's server and what the MS is for each one.

 

This video will explain how. - https://www.youtube....h?v=YzyHXHJl_mU



SacherMasoc #12 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 04:28

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 8548 battles
  • 738
  • Member since:
    01-07-2016

No, you're not alone. I'm in NZ and running tracert shows the hops all over the place with no discernible pattern or regularity. Right now I'm being directed to Sydney but from there it's fairly direct, resulting in sub 250 ping to Chicago. This is fine and may stay that way for months before tracert shows I'm going through Japan, China, Australia, Japan again, somewhere else random, then three or four hops in the states before Chicago. If I want to play NA during these times I'm doing it with 300-400 ping.

 

WG 'Support' recommends running PingPlotter and providing a WGCheck report in the hopes that they may be able to assist from their end. Last time I optimistically wasted my time and sanity going down this road, they told me that mods were responsible for my ping. Even if that were possible, I was completely vanilla. So I don't suggest that you submit a ticket and deal with that nonsense.

 

I've found globe-trotting periods such as described to last one to two weeks tops during which I either don't play or suck it up. If I were a more regular player I'd look into tunnelling and port forwarding but I'm too much of a noob with all that to bother. WTFast did help somewhat, but now the 'free trial' costs money that I can't justify spending.



The_GreatOne #13 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 04:33

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 34724 battles
  • 123
  • Member since:
    05-21-2015

View PostSleepytime, on Apr 04 2018 - 22:25, said:

If you want to find the location of the slow down and if it is on your end,your ISPs or Wargaming's you need to run what is a called a Trace Route, it will log all the "hoops" your connection takes from your router to Wargaming's server and what the MS is for each one.

 

This video will explain how. - https://www.youtube....h?v=YzyHXHJl_mU

 

instead of this you can simply just do a command prompt ping from here to wot servers

meaning ping worldoftanks.com and do another with ping google.com

you can see the clear difference i get 500 ping to wot and 40 to google

clearly on the wot central servers



Markhamwaxers #14 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 05:03

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 17080 battles
  • 181
  • [MAHOU] MAHOU
  • Member since:
    07-14-2012
packet loss???

Asassian7 #15 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 05:16

    Major

  • Players
  • 24818 battles
  • 11,514
  • [YOUJO] YOUJO
  • Member since:
    12-26-2011

View PostKamahl1234, on Apr 05 2018 - 14:53, said:

 

Isn't the LATAM server geographically closer to you than Central?

Geographically, yes. But via internert cables, no. Theres an undersea cable directly connecting the US to NZ, IIRC. (Between Auckland and san fransisco I Believe) but nothing connecting directly to SA. So to get to LATAM the connection has to go to NA, then down through mexico and into SA.



TornadoADV #16 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 05:21

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 24070 battles
  • 719
  • [ESC] ESC
  • Member since:
    01-05-2012
Sounds like inefficent packet routing is sneaking in. People had that issue with the USE servers while they were on the East Coast themselves!

Asassian7 #17 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 05:29

    Major

  • Players
  • 24818 battles
  • 11,514
  • [YOUJO] YOUJO
  • Member since:
    12-26-2011

View PostMarkhamwaxers, on Apr 05 2018 - 16:03, said:

packet loss???

I said in the OP, no packet loss.



vitiaz #18 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 06:06

    Private

  • Players
  • 46006 battles
  • 1
  • [77ARC] 77ARC
  • Member since:
    08-10-2011

View Postunclebedhead, on Apr 04 2018 - 19:54, said:

It's not just you. I live in Colorado (Central US) and my ping is normally around 30. Right now it's around 280. Can't play with lag this bad.

 

I'm in CO too...seeing similar issues. Have you filed a ticket?

Thunder_Storm_713 #19 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 06:24

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 13168 battles
  • 403
  • Member since:
    06-08-2015

Weird, I'm also from New Zealand and I used to get 230 on the central server. In the last few days though I have actually been experiencing 300+ ping. 

And yes LATAM is geographically closer to New Zealand, but for some reason I get even worse ping there.



SpectreHD #20 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 06:30

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 16529 battles
  • 16,682
  • [TT] TT
  • Member since:
    07-12-2010

View PostAsassian7, on Apr 05 2018 - 10:40, said:

 

I mean, issues with the cables would explain a one time jump and then the ping going back down. but this is just constant, gradual increase in ping. its just slowly going up and up and up and up and I have no idea why. 

 

edit: my ping to LATAM is now lower than my ping to central. my ping to LATAM should be a good 100-200 above central. this is rediculous

 

I see. I live in Brunei in SEA and the ping was fine yesterday with the usual 250 when I played at 10 p.m. yesterday. When did the ping increase started increasing?

 

I can check my ping later after I get off from work in 4 hours time to see if it is something between here and USC. At least then we can see if the connection from NZ to USC is where the problem is. That is of course NZ connections also go through the same cable as I do from over here.


Edited by SpectreHD, Apr 05 2018 - 06:31.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users