Jump to content


Update 1.0 - In-Game Crashes, Graphics Anomalies, Unable to Connect/Load


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

black_colt #1 Posted Apr 05 2018 - 20:40

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3837 battles
  • 2,743
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

WoT Mac Wrapper Users,

 

If you are experiencing in-game crashes, graphics anomalies, unable to connect or load the game then CodeWeavers has the following suggestions:

 

Lower the graphics settings in the game

 

Try loading the game from a different user on the same computer

 

Completely remove and reinstall the WoT Mac Wrapper using the following method - https://www.codeweavers.com/compatibility/crossover/tips/world-of-tanks/how-to-wipe-and-reset-world-of-tanks-mac

 

The issues are related to a memory leak in the current 32-bit WoT Mac Wrapper and have nothing to do with your Mac machine.

 

CodeWeavers understands your frustration and has asked for and would appreciate your patience while they work through this.

 

Finally, CodeWeavers has approached Wargaming with a 64-bit port, which resolves the memory leak, but the 64-bit port has not yet been approved by Wargaming for release.

 

Thanks to all of the individuals who have submitted Support Tickets to CodeWeavers and reported back to the Forums with update[s] from CodeWeavers for helping identify and get some suggestions on how to resolve.


Edited by black_colt, Apr 05 2018 - 20:40.


Jack_Sweeney_1 #2 Posted Apr 06 2018 - 12:58

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 7872 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    09-08-2015

Received the same reply from CodeWeavers.

 

Have reduced graphics to medium, now get 3-4 games before crash, freeze or green triangles for ground instead of 1 or 2 games.

 

iMac 27 inch mid 2011, 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7,16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3,AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2 GB running OS High Sierra 10.13.4 and WoT client 2.0.21.

 

Waiting patiently for 64-bit port.



crentesafada #3 Posted Apr 07 2018 - 14:35

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 7559 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    08-18-2014

For me, the fames runs great, but the trees on the background flashing all the time, also, soon as I try to load the second battle, the game stop...

 

MacBook Pro 15 2017 2.3 Intel Core i5 8GB DDR3, Intel Iris Plus Graphics 640 1536MB. OS High Sierra.



black_colt #4 Posted Apr 07 2018 - 17:14

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3837 battles
  • 2,743
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View Postcrentesafada, on Apr 07 2018 - 05:35, said:

For me, the fames runs great, but the trees on the background flashing all the time, also, soon as I try to load the second battle, the game stop...

 

MacBook Pro 15 2017 2.3 Intel Core i5 8GB DDR3, Intel Iris Plus Graphics 640 1536MB. OS High Sierra.

 

What happens if you lower the graphics settings?

Jack_Sweeney_1 #5 Posted Apr 08 2018 - 22:31

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 7872 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    09-08-2015

Just came in from my garage, where I have a 2009 iMac with 4GB.  Installed the 2.0 client, downloaded the 1.0 game, and set the graphics at minimum, as the game recommended.  Played 18 straight games without problem.

 



alloyA #6 Posted Apr 10 2018 - 14:57

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 5674 battles
  • 61
  • [MUG-T] MUG-T
  • Member since:
    12-27-2017
I lowered the game setting to minimum, (I can't find any way to lower the graphics any other place), my iMac doesn't crash, but whenever I move my tank through the map, the trees and bushes flash. If I stop in a bush, or stop to take a shot, the flashing stops. Any ideas? 

black_colt #7 Posted Apr 10 2018 - 15:36

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3837 battles
  • 2,743
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostalloyA, on Apr 10 2018 - 05:57, said:

I lowered the game setting to minimum, (I can't find any way to lower the graphics any other place), my iMac doesn't crash, but whenever I move my tank through the map, the trees and bushes flash. If I stop in a bush, or stop to take a shot, the flashing stops. Any ideas? 

 

No - recommend that you raise a Support Ticket with CodeWeavers as they produced the WoT Mac Wrapper for Wargaming.

 

For your convenience - https://www.codeweav...tact-us#support

 

 



black_colt #8 Posted Apr 10 2018 - 15:37

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3837 battles
  • 2,743
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostJack_Sweeney_1, on Apr 08 2018 - 13:31, said:

Just came in from my garage, where I have a 2009 iMac with 4GB.  Installed the 2.0 client, downloaded the 1.0 game, and set the graphics at minimum, as the game recommended.  Played 18 straight games without problem.

 

 

Thanks for the update.

 



Jack_Sweeney_1 #9 Posted Apr 11 2018 - 13:33

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 7872 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    09-08-2015

I have been experimenting with the 27 inch iMac above.  Frustrating and time consuming, but have found that by lowering my Mac's graphics in system prefs from the default of 2560x1440 to 1920x1080 and the in game settings to minimum graphics, I am averaging 18-20 games before the game freezes or graphic anomalies occur forcing a quit and restart.  Now, I am not an expert gamer and suffer permanent hand damage from carpal tunnel which results in not living through at least half of my games, so this results in shorter games than some of you, so the above results could vary.

 

I truly hope for a CodeWeavers/WoT solution to this, as I am missing the fabulous new graphics, but NOT missing the aggravating problems.  Thanks for sharing with me.



8TrackTape #10 Posted Apr 15 2018 - 17:46

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 4003 battles
  • 9
  • [C_NTS] C_NTS
  • Member since:
    07-24-2016

View PostJack_Sweeney_1, on Apr 11 2018 - 13:33, said:

I have been experimenting with the 27 inch iMac above.  Frustrating and time consuming, but have found that by lowering my Mac's graphics in system prefs from the default of 2560x1440 to 1920x1080 and the in game settings to minimum graphics, I am averaging 18-20 games before the game freezes or graphic anomalies occur forcing a quit and restart.  Now, I am not an expert gamer and suffer permanent hand damage from carpal tunnel which results in not living through at least half of my games, so this results in shorter games than some of you, so the above results could vary.

 

I truly hope for a CodeWeavers/WoT solution to this, as I am missing the fabulous new graphics, but NOT missing the aggravating problems.  Thanks for sharing with me.

 

Another point on the graph: I took your advice and dropped my screen resolution to 1920x1080 but left my graphics at Medium (playing on Low kind of defeats the purpose of the 1.0 update :)).

I've only been playing in 60-90 minute spurts, but the game hasn't crashed on me. So far, so good.



jocarot #11 Posted Apr 21 2018 - 21:05

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 22226 battles
  • 27
  • Member since:
    09-22-2010

View Post8TrackTape, on Apr 15 2018 - 12:46, said:

 

Another point on the graph: I took your advice and dropped my screen resolution to 1920x1080 but left my graphics at Medium (playing on Low kind of defeats the purpose of the 1.0 update :)).

I've only been playing in 60-90 minute spurts, but the game hasn't crashed on me. So far, so good.

This works, buy playing 1920x1080 in a 5k monitor is a total waste....

 


Edited by jocarot, Apr 21 2018 - 21:11.


j76nj #12 Posted Apr 24 2018 - 15:36

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 7003 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    01-20-2015

View Postcrentesafada, on Apr 07 2018 - 14:35, said:

For me, the fames runs great, but the trees on the background flashing all the time, also, soon as I try to load the second battle, the game stop...

 

MacBook Pro 15 2017 2.3 Intel Core i5 8GB DDR3, Intel Iris Plus Graphics 640 1536MB. OS High Sierra.

 

I have the same issue with the MacBook Pro.   The flashing trees are highly annoying.   They even flicker in the garage.   I opened a ticket with Codeweavers shortly after the 1.0 release.     

8TrackTape #13 Posted Apr 25 2018 - 20:03

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 4003 battles
  • 9
  • [C_NTS] C_NTS
  • Member since:
    07-24-2016

View Postjocarot, on Apr 21 2018 - 21:05, said:

This works, buy playing 1920x1080 in a 5k monitor is a total waste....

 

 

I would say so, but gaming on a Mac involves some tradeoffs. Good thing I'm not a hardcore gamer.

tobidog #14 Posted May 01 2018 - 22:06

    Private

  • Players
  • 7076 battles
  • 3
  • [TLED] TLED
  • Member since:
    07-19-2012
Also experiencing these problems on a MacBook pro.

black_colt #15 Posted May 02 2018 - 16:19

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3837 battles
  • 2,743
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View Post8TrackTape, on Apr 25 2018 - 11:03, said:

 

I would say so, but gaming on a Mac involves some tradeoffs. Good thing I'm not a hardcore gamer.

 

There are only tradeoffs when you are trying to play a game that was designed to use DirectX [available only on MS Windows] in macOS.

 

Had the game been designed to use OpenGL then I suspect the magnitude of issues would be significantly lower.

 

 

 


Edited by black_colt, May 02 2018 - 18:25.


RenamedUser_1017584011 #16 Posted May 03 2018 - 14:54

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 9372 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    12-16-2015

Since this morning the game won't even start anymore, get the logo in the menu bar, click it.. nothing.

Also can't close the game that.. seems to have started but is invissible... so have to force quit it.

Any ideas?

Macbook Pro 2.6Ghz Intel Core i7

16GB 1600mhz DDR3

Intel Iris Pro 1536Mb

on High Sierra



black_colt #17 Posted May 03 2018 - 19:45

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3837 battles
  • 2,743
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostRenamedUser_1017584011, on May 03 2018 - 05:54, said:

Since this morning the game won't even start anymore, get the logo in the menu bar, click it.. nothing.

Also can't close the game that.. seems to have started but is invissible... so have to force quit it.

Any ideas?

Macbook Pro 2.6Ghz Intel Core i7

16GB 1600mhz DDR3

Intel Iris Pro 1536Mb

on High Sierra

 

I recommend the following - and yes I realize that it is an ordeal ....

 

Completely remove and reinstall the WoT Mac Wrapper using the following method - https://www.codeweavers.com/compatibility/crossover/tips/world-of-tanks/how-to-wipe-and-reset-world-of-tanks-mac

 

 



BeigyIsGod #18 Posted May 06 2018 - 19:59

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 4853 battles
  • 36
  • Member since:
    06-02-2017
2015 MacBook Pro 13" 2.7 gHz intel core i5, playing on a separate monitor 27" ASUS. green triangles after about 3-4 games. every time i play any italian tank after another tank my game freezes or crashes.. and my game takes about 5 minutes to load and ive been killed by the time i get back and result in either a temp ban or warning. very very very frustrating and WG has the power to made a 64bit port but they won't. sad.

Texas_Vet #19 Posted May 11 2018 - 03:35

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 2311 battles
  • 64
  • [ECV] ECV
  • Member since:
    07-18-2015

Have done all of the above to include shutdown, boot with Control R option - reinstall o/s, and the problem repeats.

 

Guess I will just wait until a fix is in place.   It hangs after user authentication and during the client loading process.  Very frustrating.  Well World of Warships is working just fine with low graphic settings in places.



black_colt #20 Posted May 11 2018 - 15:52

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3837 battles
  • 2,743
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostTexas_Vet, on May 10 2018 - 18:35, said:

Have done all of the above to include shutdown, boot with Control R option - reinstall o/s, and the problem repeats.

 

Guess I will just wait until a fix is in place.   It hangs after user authentication and during the client loading process.  Very frustrating.  Well World of Warships is working just fine with low graphic settings in places.

 

Interesting - just to confirm that you did the following and it did not work - correct?

 

Completely remove and reinstall the WoT Mac Wrapper using the following method - https://www.codeweavers.com/compatibility/crossover/tips/world-of-tanks/how-to-wipe-and-reset-world-of-tanks-mac

 






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users