Jump to content


Lagspike issues on new rig


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

__DESTRUXON__ #1 Posted Apr 13 2018 - 22:17

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 265 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-11-2016

Hey guys, I recently purchased a new laptop, which has:

 

  • ​Intel i7-7500U processor (2.7 to 3.46GHz on overclock) 2 Cores (On High Performance so 3.46Ghz)
  • GeForce 940MX graphics card or Inter® HD Graphics 620 (I have set it to use the GeForce 940MX only)
  • 12GB of Ram
  • 256GB SSD 

 

vs.

 

  • AMD E2-6110 APU 1500 Mhz, 4 Cores
  • AMD Radeon R2 Graphics
  • 6GB of Ram
  • 1TB Hard Drive

 

​My last Laptop was running the game smoothly with around 30 to 40fps on low settings so this is a relatively big upgrade. The specs for this new PC are all better than my last one but I'm getting lag spikes where my fps drops to lower than 10 when it can run at ease for more than 60fps on Med graphs since 1.0. On top of that, I have no background processes not even an antivirus software besides the regular windows defender which only uses 0.2% (It is not running any scans last one was more than a month ago) off my usage besides TS3 and I don't even use the GeForce app to further optimize the game. I have no connection issues since I have tried to connect to my modem at pt blank via Ethernet cable. It isn't a heat issue as my PC does not go past the 70 mark. Every time a lag spike occurs I hear some noise coming from the laptop which then stops (idk what could be taking some processing power or whatever since I only have TS running as stated above) and I get back to the usual 60 fps as my refresh rate is 60fps(with vertical sync). Finally, I have cleared all %temp% files and I might defrag again since it's been a while since I've done so. Any ideas as to why I'm getting those frequent fps drops?? Thanks in advance.



HellsBells_ #2 Posted Apr 13 2018 - 22:22

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 29452 battles
  • 685
  • [HLBL] HLBL
  • Member since:
    04-03-2011
its been happening since 1.0 update, since then im getting ghost shots, lag and rng issues, seems like the server is slow and not the connection, but wg will have you do all these connection tests to see what the issue is which is normal troubleshooting since they have to have evidence to isolate it to either servers or connection, ive tried lowering graphics and done a repair/fix several times.

__DESTRUXON__ #3 Posted Apr 13 2018 - 22:23

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 265 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-11-2016

It's been happening to me form before the 1.0 update...

I'm also not talking about DCing from the game cz that hasn't happened to me

 


Edited by __DESTRUXON__, Apr 13 2018 - 22:24.


WhineMaker #4 Posted Apr 13 2018 - 22:30

    Major

  • Players
  • 32151 battles
  • 3,285
  • Member since:
    04-21-2011

Run a traceroute and ping plotter to see where the lag is spiking.

 

Also have your ISP check your connection.



ColinP #5 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 04:33

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 21855 battles
  • 149
  • [CGN] CGN
  • Member since:
    10-02-2010
lag is really bad and barely can play, I only have problems with WOT

ColonelShakes #6 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 09:16

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 8868 battles
  • 803
  • [WOOOT] WOOOT
  • Member since:
    01-17-2016

Since 99 % of the player base does not experience your issue, I would have to agree with it being a network related issue ( most likely in house not upline ). I would imagine you game on wifi too ?

 

No serious gamer uses a laptop. New or old.



sleeper_agent #7 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 14:15

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 17711 battles
  • 1,159
  • Member since:
    06-19-2013

Its tough hearing about the issues people are having with new rigs.

The game has crashed on my twice. both times on an i5 laptop, never on my i7 desktop. BOth have SSD drives and decent RAM. This is likely a network issue.



__DESTRUXON__ #8 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 14:19

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 265 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-11-2016
But I've tried playing on Ethernet with the shortest possible distance from the router. My ping is always below 100 very rarely reaches 150 like 1 every 2 weeks.

__DESTRUXON__ #9 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 14:22

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 265 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-11-2016

View PostWhineMaker, on Apr 13 2018 - 22:30, said:

Run a traceroute and ping plotter to see where the lag is spiking.

 

Also have your ISP check your connection.

 

How can I do that?

KnightOfEris #10 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 16:58

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 8873 battles
  • 439
  • [AFTTE] AFTTE
  • Member since:
    12-20-2014

View Post__DESTRUXON__, on Apr 13 2018 - 22:17, said:

Hey guys, I recently purchased a new laptop, which has:

 

  • ​Intel i7-7500U processor (2.7 to 3.46GHz on overclock) 2 Cores (On High Performance so 3.46Ghz)
  • GeForce 940MX graphics card or Inter® HD Graphics 620 (I have set it to use the GeForce 940MX only)
  • 12GB of Ram
  • 256GB SSD 

 

vs.

 

  • AMD E2-6110 APU 1500 Mhz, 4 Cores
  • AMD Radeon R2 Graphics
  • 6GB of Ram
  • 1TB Hard Drive

 

​My last Laptop was running the game smoothly with around 30 to 40fps on low settings so this is a relatively big upgrade. The specs for this new PC are all better than my last one but I'm getting lag spikes where my fps drops to lower than 10 when it can run at ease for more than 60fps on Med graphs since 1.0. On top of that, I have no background processes not even an antivirus software besides the regular windows defender which only uses 0.2% (It is not running any scans last one was more than a month ago) off my usage besides TS3 and I don't even use the GeForce app to further optimize the game. I have no connection issues since I have tried to connect to my modem at pt blank via Ethernet cable. It isn't a heat issue as my PC does not go past the 70 mark. Every time a lag spike occurs I hear some noise coming from the laptop which then stops (idk what could be taking some processing power or whatever since I only have TS running as stated above) and I get back to the usual 60 fps as my refresh rate is 60fps(with vertical sync). Finally, I have cleared all %temp% files and I might defrag again since it's been a while since I've done so. Any ideas as to why I'm getting those frequent fps drops?? Thanks in advance.

 

There's nothing wrong with your network. There's some sort of thermal throttling going on, the noise you're hearing from your laptop is the fan kicking in. You might want to look into setting a more aggressive fan/performance profile, and see if that helps.



Bill_Go #11 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 17:08

    Private

  • Players
  • 33283 battles
  • 4
  • [TG] TG
  • Member since:
    11-03-2011

I agree with Knight.  Try looking at your power settings and make sure that your cooling is set to active, not passive.  If it is set to passive cooling, it will slow down rather than kick on the fan.  You can also set the processor power to max out at 99%.  I have an gen 4 i7 and it runs great at 99%, while keeping the temps reasonable.

 

 



__DESTRUXON__ #12 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 17:15

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 265 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-11-2016

View PostBill_Go, on Apr 16 2018 - 17:08, said:

I agree with Knight.  Try looking at your power settings and make sure that your cooling is set to active, not passive.  If it is set to passive cooling, it will slow down rather than kick on the fan.  You can also set the processor power to max out at 99%.  I have an gen 4 i7 and it runs great at 99%, while keeping the temps reasonable.

 

 

 

View PostKnightOfEris, on Apr 16 2018 - 16:58, said:

 

There's nothing wrong with your network. There's some sort of thermal throttling going on, the noise you're hearing from your laptop is the fan kicking in. You might want to look into setting a more aggressive fan/performance profile, and see if that helps.

 

Thanks for the input! Can you tell me what your settings are so I can try em out cz rn I just have it set to high performance.

KnightOfEris #13 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 17:58

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 8873 battles
  • 439
  • [AFTTE] AFTTE
  • Member since:
    12-20-2014

View Post__DESTRUXON__, on Apr 16 2018 - 17:15, said:

 

 

Thanks for the input! Can you tell me what your settings are so I can try em out cz rn I just have it set to high performance.

 

If you plan on using this as a gming laptop, you might want to get a cooling pad for it, which should keep temperatures low.

For the power profile, in Windows:

 

1. edit power plan in the search bar
2. Click change advanced power settings
3 Go to processor power management
4. Maximum processor state
5. change it to 100%



Bill_Go #14 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 18:06

    Private

  • Players
  • 33283 battles
  • 4
  • [TG] TG
  • Member since:
    11-03-2011

My laptop runs the game perfectly at 99%, while also reducing the temps by 10 degrees C.

 



__DESTRUXON__ #15 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 18:08

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 265 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-11-2016
How can I change the fan settings as you mentioned above? Is it along with the processing power?

the_Deadly_Bulb #16 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 18:12

    Major

  • Players
  • 20777 battles
  • 3,287
  • [WCTNT] WCTNT
  • Member since:
    03-11-2014

View Post__DESTRUXON__, on Apr 16 2018 - 09:08, said:

How can I change the fan settings as you mentioned above? Is it along with the processing power?

 

My ASUS RoG laptop came with an app that allows me to force the fan to high and keep it there.

Its called GPUTweak.


 

It also allows for some slight overclocking.



Bill_Go #17 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 18:50

    Private

  • Players
  • 33283 battles
  • 4
  • [TG] TG
  • Member since:
    11-03-2011

In your power settings, there is an option named system cooling.  Switch that to active cooling and your fan will run rather than your processor throttling.

 



KnightOfEris #18 Posted Apr 17 2018 - 09:10

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 8873 battles
  • 439
  • [AFTTE] AFTTE
  • Member since:
    12-20-2014
... and having thought about it some more, your dedicated NVIDIA GPU will probably perform best with a cooling pad, so if I were you I'd definitely get that.

__DESTRUXON__ #19 Posted Apr 17 2018 - 14:45

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 265 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-11-2016
Good news guys, I found that HP's Coolsense app was causing the fan to activate randomly while also reducing my processing speed. As a result, I turned it off so now I have the fan working actively as you mentioned above. Now the lag spikes occur way less often. However I wanna also buy a nice cooling pad without overspending so I'd like to ask for a some recommendations for a nice Cooling Pad. Sadly 50$ Canadian is as far as I can go. Noise is not that much of an issue. Thanks!!




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users