Jump to content


Stop putting me on latm


  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

PsychoticTanker #1 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 22:40

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 6945 battles
  • 25
  • Member since:
    02-10-2015
For the love of all things big and small. Holy and evil. Right and wrong... stop putting me on frackin latm server. I live in boston. No friggin wear near latm. Why the frack do I keep getting on that server?!?!?!?!??!?!?

FluffyBadBad #2 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 22:41

    Captain

  • Players
  • 29135 battles
  • 1,779
  • Member since:
    10-21-2011
or you could start clicking NA before you log in

Gang_Starr #3 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 22:46

    Major

  • Players
  • 15404 battles
  • 3,133
  • [VILIN] VILIN
  • Member since:
    04-09-2014

View PostFluffyBadBad, on Apr 16 2018 - 16:41, said:

or you could start clicking NA before you log in

 

Or maybe it's 2018 and the game can put me on the right server without me having to manually click it? It's called quality of life, there is no excuse for WG not giving us a "remember my server" option.

FluffyBadBad #4 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 22:48

    Captain

  • Players
  • 29135 battles
  • 1,779
  • Member since:
    10-21-2011

View PostGang_Starr, on Apr 16 2018 - 22:46, said:

 

Or maybe it's 2018 and the game can put me on the right server without me having to manually click it? It's called quality of life, there is no excuse for WG not giving us a "remember my server" option.

 

i know clicking is hard but sometimes you just gotta man up

DrWho_ #5 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 22:49

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 15934 battles
  • 1,236
  • Member since:
    07-29-2017

View PostFluffyBadBad, on Apr 16 2018 - 22:41, said:

or you could start clicking NA before you log in

 

His psychosis may get in the way of simple things like that

 



Worland #6 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 22:52

    Major

  • Players
  • 16766 battles
  • 4,943
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012
I seem to remember most games, including WoT, send players to the server where they are needed. It improves game play for everyone by distributing players according to the load on the servers. For instance, back when 80% of players chose to play on the NA East, the server would bog down. Lag, packet loss, hiccups galore. Too many players per server in that cluster. So the client would send players to NA West to lessen the load.

Your location and ping is seldom considered, by any game, as to which server you get sent to. Luckily, Wargaming still allows you to choose which server you play on manually. Problem solved.

Striker_70 #7 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 22:58

    Major

  • Players
  • 19653 battles
  • 6,505
  • Member since:
    04-02-2013
Stop using the autoselect option.

LeaveIT2Beaver #8 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 23:11

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 32483 battles
  • 8,819
  • [J4F] J4F
  • Member since:
    07-04-2014

View PostStriker_70, on Apr 16 2018 - 16:58, said:

Stop using the autoselect option.

 

This

Kamahl1234 #9 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 23:14

    Major

  • Players
  • 18393 battles
  • 10,078
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

View PostGang_Starr, on Apr 16 2018 - 21:46, said:

 

Or maybe it's 2018 and the game can put me on the right server without me having to manually click it? It's called quality of life, there is no excuse for WG not giving us a "remember my server" option.

 

Networking tells me that phsyical location doesn't always mean best location.  There's many metrics that contribute to connection quality, and they can vary wildly at times. 

 

And like many devs, they've spent their time on other things when the modding community has the perfect solution already, so why spend time? Lotta devs work this way to keep features moving as opposed to introducing other ideas and for many not at all changing the game. 

 

Though the devs had a in-built solution for this anyways, as you can manually select the server if it's a constant thing... It's seriously 2 clicks before logon...


Edited by Kamahl1234, Apr 16 2018 - 23:15.


Krychek #10 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 23:17

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 20627 battles
  • 334
  • Member since:
    05-21-2011
If your so lazy that you can't click a drop down menu with 2 options, how the f*** do you function in real life ?

moon111 #11 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 23:30

    Major

  • Players
  • 30938 battles
  • 2,388
  • [ANZI0] ANZI0
  • Member since:
    06-29-2013
I was playing one game and started wondering if the LA server went down and they all were on the 'NA' server.  I thought it was funny I knew there was a problem before looking, but yep, I was dropped on the LA server.

_Gungrave_ #12 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 23:34

    Major

  • Players
  • 42869 battles
  • 16,299
  • [X-OUT] X-OUT
  • Member since:
    12-07-2011

View PostKrychek, on Apr 16 2018 - 23:17, said:

If your so lazy that you can't click a drop down menu with 2 options, how the f*** do you function in real life ?

 

Its called conveinence same as the remember login info feature. People get off work, school, or their wife going on a rant and simply want to get into the game and shoot stuff.

FluffyBadBad #13 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 23:36

    Captain

  • Players
  • 29135 battles
  • 1,779
  • Member since:
    10-21-2011
back in the day, when i had to walk uphill in the snow to school, both ways, we didn't have convenience.

Edited by FluffyBadBad, Apr 16 2018 - 23:37.


MFGrant #14 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 23:39

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 12233 battles
  • 2,245
  • [DVAB] DVAB
  • Member since:
    01-04-2015

View PostFluffyBadBad, on Apr 16 2018 - 16:36, said:

back in the day, when i had to walk uphill in the snow to school, both ways, we didn't have convenience.

 

Don't forget backwards when the wind was particularly annoying.

_Platform #15 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 23:43

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 10656 battles
  • 606
  • [RELIC] RELIC
  • Member since:
    03-07-2012

View PostGang_Starr, on Apr 16 2018 - 17:46, said:

 

Or maybe it's 2018 and the game can put me on the right server without me having to manually click it? It's called quality of life, there is no excuse for WG not giving us a "remember my server" option.

 

Boo hoo.

Pipinghot #16 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 23:51

    Major

  • Players
  • 25960 battles
  • 8,925
  • [IOC] IOC
  • Member since:
    11-20-2011

Wow, I can't believe the number of people in this thread who are talking down to the OP for a very reasonable suggestion. God forbid someone ask the game publisher to make a tiny change that would benefit many millions of their players. Yes, of course you can use the selection menu every time, duh. you're not being insightful or clever.

 

The point is that there is no good reason for the game client to forget your last selection. Since nearly all players play on the exact same server every single time they log in, players almost never server-hop, it's perfectly reasonable to expect the client to default to your last selection.



FluffyBadBad #17 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 23:53

    Captain

  • Players
  • 29135 battles
  • 1,779
  • Member since:
    10-21-2011

View PostPipinghot, on Apr 16 2018 - 23:51, said:

Wow, I can't believe the number of people in this thread who are talking down to the OP for a very reasonable suggestion. God forbid someone ask the game publisher to make a tiny change that would benefit many millions of their players. Yes, of course you can use the selection menu every time, duh. you're not being insightful or clever.

 

The point is that there is no good reason for the game client to forget your last selection. Since nearly all players play on the exact same server every single time they log in, players almost never server-hop, it's perfectly reasonable to expect the client to default to your last selection.

 

the thing is that it will be fixed soon(er or later). it's not going to be permanent. no point in whining about it.


Edited by FluffyBadBad, Apr 16 2018 - 23:54.


_Gungrave_ #18 Posted Apr 16 2018 - 23:57

    Major

  • Players
  • 42869 battles
  • 16,299
  • [X-OUT] X-OUT
  • Member since:
    12-07-2011

View PostFluffyBadBad, on Apr 16 2018 - 23:53, said:

 

the thing is that it will be fixed soon(er or later). it's not going to be permanent. no point in whining about it.

 

No point talking down to people asking for it either.

FluffyBadBad #19 Posted Apr 17 2018 - 00:01

    Captain

  • Players
  • 29135 battles
  • 1,779
  • Member since:
    10-21-2011
i didn't see any asking, excuse me...

Lethalhavoc #20 Posted Apr 17 2018 - 00:31

    Major

  • Players
  • 38720 battles
  • 11,572
  • Member since:
    01-18-2013

View PostPsychoticTanker, on Apr 16 2018 - 13:40, said:

For the love of all things big and small. Holy and evil. Right and wrong... stop putting me on frackin latm server. I live in boston. No friggin wear near latm. Why the frack do I keep getting on that server?!?!?!?!??!?!?

 

Que'




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users