Jump to content


WoT Shutting Down

Problems

17 replies to this topic

__WarChild__ #1 Posted May 09 2018 - 18:18

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 15810 battles
  • 2,185
  • [FGTVE] FGTVE
  • Member since:
    06-03-2017

Howdy Tankers,

 

I've been running the same exact set up since I started playing last June.  Update 1.0 has been working just fine on my computer and I'm getting better FPS than I ever have.  However, today my game client keeps shutting down after I start loading into battle.  I've restarted my computer several times and have been running it in Safe Mode as well (Aslain's normally).  I apologize to the 3 out of 4 teams I've played for today where I went AFK at the beginning and never could play.  But at least in 2 out of those 3 we won, so congrats on carrying me!  I'm not sure about the last one because my game won't load at all now.

 

I've filed a ticket but don't know how long it will take for them to get around to it.  Anyone here have a clue?


Thanks.

 

__WarChild__

 

 

Special Message: FYM



YANKEE137 #2 Posted May 09 2018 - 18:21

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 9096 battles
  • 2,460
  • [6-ACR] 6-ACR
  • Member since:
    08-17-2015

Got repeated crashes on Front Line last night. Other people were having the same issue. May be related?

 



__WarChild__ #3 Posted May 09 2018 - 18:23

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 15810 battles
  • 2,185
  • [FGTVE] FGTVE
  • Member since:
    06-03-2017

View PostYANKEE137, on May 09 2018 - 11:21, said:

Got repeated crashes on Front Line last night. Other people were having the same issue. May be related?

 

 

I ran as many FL games as I could yesterday without any problems.  FL wasn't even available this morning when I was trying to play. Did they run a micropatch between last night and today?

DomoSapien #4 Posted May 09 2018 - 18:24

    Community Coordinator

  • Administrator
  • 13230 battles
  • 277
  • [WGA] WGA
  • Member since:
    12-28-2012
Hi there!

Sorry to hear about the crashes. Hopefully you should get a response to your ticket soon! 

 

A quick checklist of stuff you can try in the meantime (I posted this in another thread so apologies for the copy-paste):

- Perform a clean installation of your graphics drivers. (For nvidia, download the driver, then select "custom" in the installer and make sure the "clean install" option is checked.)
- Run a WGCheck report. Make sure you run the extended network diagnostics option. Attach that to your ticket.

- Try booting Windows into Safe Mode with Networking and replicating the issue. If it doesn't occur while Windows is in Safe Mode it is likely being caused by a conflict with one of your startup processes.
 



MartysTank #5 Posted May 09 2018 - 18:28

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 15823 battles
  • 253
  • Member since:
    03-09-2013
Windows update, hardware failing, bad patch. Who knows lots of variables in pc gaming.

Devils_Bonzai #6 Posted May 09 2018 - 18:38

    Major

  • Players
  • 9856 battles
  • 5,573
  • [BOLTS] BOLTS
  • Member since:
    12-26-2011
yeah I click frontline and load to the battle screen and it freezes then crashes, restart WOT goes right back to battle loading screen, again freezes, again and again :(

carl20320 #7 Posted May 09 2018 - 18:52

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 32486 battles
  • 240
  • [4HIM] 4HIM
  • Member since:
    05-04-2015
Had a crash in second FL battle last night.  Threw out a low memory error.  Never been an issue with game before.  8Gb RAM and never been close to using that.  FL might really be taxing system resources on slightly older systems even though Encore test prior to 1.0 update showed able to run ultra and can do so with good (60+) fps.

Buttknuckle #8 Posted May 09 2018 - 18:52

    Major

  • Players
  • 44697 battles
  • 2,172
  • [GOONZ] GOONZ
  • Member since:
    03-19-2013
Wasnt there a widows 10 update last night? Seems like every time there is one it causes issues with WOT for some people.

rich73 #9 Posted May 09 2018 - 19:38

    Major

  • Players
  • 48513 battles
  • 6,080
  • Member since:
    10-17-2011

View PostYANKEE137, on May 09 2018 - 09:21, said:

Got repeated crashes on Front Line last night. Other people were having the same issue. May be related?

 

 

Lol..you have doubts?If you been reading the forums you know multiple peeps have had issues from big to little.Just a common thing in this game at this time and in the past.W G still makes money tho so dont expect things to change.Peeps pockets are just to loose in this game for WG to care about the minority that are always affected.

Devils_Bonzai #10 Posted May 09 2018 - 19:40

    Major

  • Players
  • 9856 battles
  • 5,573
  • [BOLTS] BOLTS
  • Member since:
    12-26-2011

View PostButtknuckle, on May 09 2018 - 11:52, said:

Wasnt there a widows 10 update last night? Seems like every time there is one it causes issues with WOT for some people.

 

Yeah mine updated last night, so I'm sure there was a W10 update

Taggeth #11 Posted May 09 2018 - 19:48

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 11136 battles
  • 519
  • [FRAY] FRAY
  • Member since:
    06-23-2012

There was a Windows 10 update Tuesday evening.

 

And then there was a WOT micro-patch this morning (or was that Tuesday morning?).

 

Either way, talk about the perfect storm...



__WarChild__ #12 Posted May 09 2018 - 20:26

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 15810 battles
  • 2,185
  • [FGTVE] FGTVE
  • Member since:
    06-03-2017

View PostDomoSapien, on May 09 2018 - 11:24, said:

Hi there!

Sorry to hear about the crashes. Hopefully you should get a response to your ticket soon! 

 

A quick checklist of stuff you can try in the meantime (I posted this in another thread so apologies for the copy-paste):

- Perform a clean installation of your graphics drivers. (For nvidia, download the driver, then select "custom" in the installer and make sure the "clean install" option is checked.)
- Run a WGCheck report. Make sure you run the extended network diagnostics option. Attach that to your ticket.

- Try booting Windows into Safe Mode with Networking and replicating the issue. If it doesn't occur while Windows is in Safe Mode it is likely being caused by a conflict with one of your startup processes.
 

 

Thanks.  I've run the  check tool and sent that to Support.  I'll do windows safe mode now.  

 



__WarChild__ #13 Posted May 09 2018 - 23:30

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 15810 battles
  • 2,185
  • [FGTVE] FGTVE
  • Member since:
    06-03-2017

Thanks everyone.  I sent my Diagnostic file to Support and they figured out my Driver was out of date - which is weird because I check it once a week.  It was more than 1 week out of date.  Newly installed drivers seem to have the game running fine.  Appreciate the help!

 

:honoring:

 

__WarChild__

 

 

Special Message: FYM



TA_Reaper #14 Posted May 10 2018 - 00:17

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 33243 battles
  • 24
  • Member since:
    06-30-2014
The WOT client is a total piece of crap. Attempted to start the game 4 times in a row with crashes to black screen in which only a start key reboot works. I have played EVE online for 15 years with the server over 3000 miles away in Iceland and have never had issues such as these. Clean up you act WOT !!!

crazyjoker_ #15 Posted May 11 2018 - 07:51

    Private

  • Players
  • 34838 battles
  • 8
  • [-404-] -404-
  • Member since:
    05-25-2013
Hello, to any of you when you try to shoot the cannons in FL point and make many clicks and your tank never gets shot? i need help


DomoSapien #16 Posted May 11 2018 - 18:48

    Community Coordinator

  • Administrator
  • 13230 battles
  • 277
  • [WGA] WGA
  • Member since:
    12-28-2012

View Postcrazyjoker_, on May 11 2018 - 00:51, said:

Hello, to any of you when you try to shoot the cannons in FL point and make many clicks and your tank never gets shot? i need help

 

I have heard of a few players mentioning they were running into this issue. We'd appreciate it if you could please submit a ticket to our Customer Support team so they can take you through troubleshooting and gather data on the issue.

X32Wright #17 Posted May 11 2018 - 19:26

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 38862 battles
  • 1,728
  • [T_A_R] T_A_R
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010

Have you tried this?

 

http://forum.worldof...client-crashes/

 

the solution outlined there has worked for many people. Go try it.



QuicksilverJPR #18 Posted May 11 2018 - 21:40

    Major

  • Players
  • 24161 battles
  • 3,753
  • [RPG] RPG
  • Member since:
    01-17-2013

View Post__WarChild__, on May 09 2018 - 17:30, said:

Thanks everyone.  I sent my Diagnostic file to Support and they figured out my Driver was out of date - which is weird because I check it once a week.  It was more than 1 week out of date.  Newly installed drivers seem to have the game running fine.  Appreciate the help!

 

:honoring:

 

__WarChild__

 

 

Special Message: FYM

 

Which drivers?  GPU?



Reply to this topic



  
For security reasons, please do not provide your personal data or the personal data of a third party here because we might be unable to protect such data in accordance with the Wargaming Privacy Policy.



Also tagged with Problems

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users