Jump to content


So WG just yanked the Frontline Crews out of my Barracks?


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

24cups #21 Posted Jun 13 2018 - 22:32

    Major

  • Players
  • 23190 battles
  • 2,731
  • [D-DAY] D-DAY
  • Member since:
    01-25-2013

View PostLT_Moon, on Jun 13 2018 - 16:19, said:

Will T34 crew be trained for T34 regular only or for T34 Black too?

They're both premium tanks so crews are interchangeable. 



DomoSapien #22 Posted Jun 13 2018 - 22:33

    Community Coordinator

  • Administrator
  • 13834 battles
  • 642
  • [WGA] WGA
  • Member since:
    12-28-2012

View PostTanksSoUnreal, on Jun 13 2018 - 15:16, said:

 

Then why were crews from the Tier X tanks T110E5 and T57 Heavy just put straight into my account after a previous WOTs event ended sometime in the past (possibly 2 years ago)?:confused:

 

We've come a long way since Rampage mode, friend.
I don't have an answer as to why it's being done differently now, other than the fact that it has been done this way for quite some time now. Personally, I got confused by all the darn IS-7 crews in my barracks. Not sure why I need 3 of them. I finally just placed one of them into my 277 since I grinded up to my second skill on one of said IS-7 crews before swapping for a free-bia crew from my premium IS-2.

View PostNorseskald, on Jun 13 2018 - 15:19, said:

why was frontline removed? was a fun aspect of the game, actually had fun playing 8's again

Frontline was a big hit, and we will definitely be bringing it back! I think it's going to be a seasonal gamemode like Ranked Battles, but there were some performance issues with the map which caused even high-end machines to struggle at times. Long story short, it needs to be optimized, and we need some time to look at all the data and sentiments from the gamemode before we can figure out how to develop it further.

View PostLT_Moon, on Jun 13 2018 - 15:19, said:

Will T34 crew be trained for T34 regular only or for T34 Black too?

Since the T34 and T34 B are technically separate vehicles, it's trained for the T34. However, you can put a T34 crew in a T34B or a T34B crew in a T34 without penalty. 



Ape_Drape #23 Posted Jun 13 2018 - 22:46

    Captain

  • Players
  • 40801 battles
  • 1,892
  • [SOT] SOT
  • Member since:
    06-13-2011

View PostBoxhawk, on Jun 13 2018 - 22:29, said:

 

Yeah, the T-54 first prototype, which is actually a really good tank.

 

I'm just kind of miffed because I wasn't going to use gold to retrain them and let Vents and BIA pick up the slack till 100% again.

BadLuckCharm #24 Posted Jun 13 2018 - 23:00

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 8285 battles
  • 75
  • Member since:
    01-01-2014

View PostDomoSapien, on Jun 13 2018 - 19:02, said:

 

It's my understanding that we can't assign crews to a tech tree vehicle that has not yet been researched, and not all players have the T32 and T44 researched yet, hence the discrepancy.

 

Not sure about that. I've gotten an IS-7 crew. I have no Tier X tanks researched yet. I always wondered how they snuck in, and i've yet to get a good answer.

 

EDIT:

 

View PostDomoSapien, on Jun 13 2018 - 21:33, said:

We've come a long way since Rampage mode, friend.
I don't have an answer as to why it's being done differently now, other than the fact that it has been done this way for quite some time now. Personally, I got confused by all the darn IS-7 crews in my barracks. Not sure why I need 3 of them. I finally just placed one of them into my 277 since I grinded up to my second skill on one of said IS-7 crews before swapping for a free-bia crew from my premium IS-2.

Ok, so something changed since then. Hm.


Edited by BadLuckCharm, Jun 13 2018 - 23:03.


Kenshin2kx #25 Posted Jun 13 2018 - 23:29

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 18111 battles
  • 6,214
  • Member since:
    07-20-2014

View PostApe_Drape, on Jun 13 2018 - 09:58, said:

 

Being statistically more common tank, all those IS-6 owner probably have an IS-6 crew.

 

This is true, but I was thinking that many (like me initially used the IS-6) as a trainer and so 'train' the native crew along with other russian heavies in parallel ... or if they wanted to save a bit of money, opt for the tank only with no crew (given that it would use that players primary non premium heavy).  So factoring in the age of this offering and the points above ... a 'new' IS-6 crew out of the blue could be a nice freebie to train up for another russian tank with a modest investment in finalized retraining to a specific tank at some future point.

docroberts #26 Posted Jun 13 2018 - 23:39

    Captain

  • Players
  • 19211 battles
  • 1,446
  • [TONKX] TONKX
  • Member since:
    03-08-2013

So they trained them to 50% instead of 100% , cause Im looking at this and I have an extra IS6 , T34 crew at 50% 

 



NightmareMk9 #27 Posted Jun 14 2018 - 00:11

    Major

  • Players
  • 31820 battles
  • 2,295
  • [ZOUTH] ZOUTH
  • Member since:
    03-11-2012

View Postdocroberts, on Jun 13 2018 - 23:39, said:

So they trained them to 50% instead of 100% , cause Im looking at this and I have an extra IS6 , T34 crew at 50% 

 

 

No, mine are all 100% Primary skill.  I never played the T32FL or T44 FL in Fronline.  So my guys have 0 additional XP

 

I recently recovered my T34 and a couple other tanks, for some UNKNOWN reason WG gives you FREE!!!!!  50% crews when you recover tanks... :P



dnaman #28 Posted Jun 14 2018 - 00:16

    Captain

  • Players
  • 30466 battles
  • 1,459
  • [DBLTG] DBLTG
  • Member since:
    06-09-2013

View PostDomoSapien, on Jun 13 2018 - 12:02, said:

 

It's my understanding that we can't assign crews to a tech tree vehicle that has not yet been researched, and not all players have the T32 and T44 researched yet, hence the discrepancy.

 

Actually there is historical precedent as I have my BC25T crew from way back in some mode (maybe rampages)?  I don’t have that researched yet.  They live in one of my premiums for when I finally get it someday.

docroberts #29 Posted Jun 14 2018 - 00:33

    Captain

  • Players
  • 19211 battles
  • 1,446
  • [TONKX] TONKX
  • Member since:
    03-08-2013

View PostNightmareMk9, on Jun 13 2018 - 17:11, said:

 

No, mine are all 100% Primary skill.  I never played the T32FL or T44 FL in Fronline.  So my guys have 0 additional XP

 

I recently recovered my T34 and a couple other tanks, for some UNKNOWN reason WG gives you FREE!!!!!  50% crews when you recover tanks... :P

 

I never played mine either , but what Is my guess from past experiences and they used to take the crew with the tank . Out of habit I put a 50% crew in the tank and the 100% crew in the garage . So they took my 100% crew and left me the 50% crew I put in the tank . So Im guessing I screwed myself . 

Avalon304 #30 Posted Jun 14 2018 - 00:46

    Major

  • Players
  • 20335 battles
  • 8,713
  • [CMFRT] CMFRT
  • Member since:
    09-04-2012

View PostDomoSapien, on Jun 13 2018 - 11:52, said:

Hey there!

Happy to clarify; the crews were assigned to the T34 and IS-6, respectively.

Typically, event crews are automatically retrained to the Tier I vehicle of the corresponding nation. However in this case, the FL Crews are too large to fit into the tier I vehicles which have less slots for crew, so they were assigned to Tier VIII Premiums of that nation.

Either way, retraining would be necessary to put them into a Tech Tree vehicle without penalty, and retraining is not necessary to put them into a Premium vehicle.

 

Should have probably trained the Russian crew for a medium at the very least... say the T-54 mod 1 or something, rather than jumping classes and using the IS-6...

Kliphie #31 Posted Jun 14 2018 - 00:55

    Major

  • Players
  • 31023 battles
  • 3,306
  • [IOC] IOC
  • Member since:
    07-20-2012

View PostBoxhawk, on Jun 13 2018 - 16:29, said:

 

Yeah, the T-54 first prototype, which is actually a really good tank.

 

They probably figured if you had one, you would have all ready been using it in FL instead of the 44FL

oldewolfe #32 Posted Jun 14 2018 - 01:27

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 19261 battles
  • 3,041
  • [1STBN] 1STBN
  • Member since:
    11-08-2014

I have the T34 Rental in the Garage still and the 50% Crew it came with is Up to 85% or so, but these guys are Better....       Too bad I have no other American Heavies....     lol

 

However, the same can not be said for my Russian Heavies....     I have a Boat Load of these guys from my IS and IS2B at Tier 7, my 252U, the T-10 and Obj 257, and the IS7....     Except for the IS which has it's own Crew, the rest are all Driven by my T-10 Crew.....       This will allow for another Crew at either the 257 or the 705's, but I need to also Sort Out the T-10  and it's Crew when I get the Obj 277..  

 

But they'll get a lot of Time thru the IS2B and the 252U in the meantime.....       He11, may even buy back my KV1 and start them there....       lol



ragin_GG_amer #33 Posted Jun 14 2018 - 02:45

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 17468 battles
  • 52
  • [M0B] M0B
  • Member since:
    04-24-2014

View PostDomoSapien, on Jun 13 2018 - 13:52, said:

Hey there!

Happy to clarify; the crews were assigned to the T34 and IS-6, respectively.

Typically, event crews are automatically retrained to the Tier I vehicle of the corresponding nation. However in this case, the FL Crews are too large to fit into the tier I vehicles which have less slots for crew, so they were assigned to Tier VIII Premiums of that nation.

Either way, retraining would be necessary to put them into a Tech Tree vehicle without penalty, and retraining is not necessary to put them into a Premium vehicle.

 

I would have like the option to retrain them myself especially since I had gotten those crews to 100% on their first skill.  Now that skill is gone.  GG.  I think WG has a whole panel of people sitting around thinking of ways to screw it's player base.  I've never seen a company so complacent and hostile towards it"s customer base as WG is.   Good job.  Way to keep me from spending ANY money on this game. 

StoneTitan #34 Posted Jun 14 2018 - 03:43

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 3690 battles
  • 409
  • Member since:
    02-24-2013
If Frontline does come back, please give us the option of deleting those tanks from our accounts/garages if we want to.

Hurk #35 Posted Jun 14 2018 - 04:11

    Major

  • Players
  • 53035 battles
  • 17,373
  • [KGR] KGR
  • Member since:
    09-30-2012

View PostDomoSapien, on Jun 13 2018 - 12:02, said:

It's my understanding that we can't assign crews to a tech tree vehicle that has not yet been researched, and not all players have the T32 and T44 researched yet, hence the discrepancy.

we used to be able to. then they ruined it to protect newbies from training for the wrong tanks.

 :( 



Sherman_Panzer #36 Posted Jun 14 2018 - 16:24

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 92411 battles
  • 32
  • [ROTS] ROTS
  • Member since:
    03-05-2011

View PostAvalon304, on Jun 13 2018 - 23:46, said:

 

Should have probably trained the Russian crew for a medium at the very least... say the T-54 mod 1 or something, rather than jumping classes and using the IS-6...

 

^^  1000

I have about 5 premium Russian medium tanks so training that crew to get to a decent skill level would not take long, simply by getting my 2 each day with boosters for a couple of weeks.

But on the heavy side I only have the Churchill, and the obj 260... and I dont want to take an untrained crew into a tier 10 game or a churchill for that matter

 


Edited by Sherman_Panzer, Jun 14 2018 - 16:24.


Gunadie #37 Posted Jun 14 2018 - 17:43

    Major

  • Players
  • 41833 battles
  • 4,876
  • Member since:
    08-20-2011

View PostDomoSapien, on Jun 13 2018 - 13:33, said:

We've come a long way since Rampage mode, friend.
I don't have an answer as to why it's being done differently now, other than the fact that it has been done this way for quite some time now. Personally, I got confused by all the darn IS-7 crews in my barracks. Not sure why I need 3 of them. I finally just placed one of them into my 277 since I grinded up to my second skill on one of said IS-7 crews before swapping for a free-bia crew from my premium IS-2.

Frontline was a big hit, and we will definitely be bringing it back! I think it's going to be a seasonal gamemode like Ranked Battles, but there were some performance issues with the map which caused even high-end machines to struggle at times. Long story short, it needs to be optimized, and we need some time to look at all the data and sentiments from the gamemode before we can figure out how to develop it further.

Since the T34 and T34 B are technically separate vehicles, it's trained for the T34. However, you can put a T34 crew in a T34B or a T34B crew in a T34 without penalty. 

 

Interesting mode but the maps need to be revised so that the blocking and obstructions are removed

Roads that led to no where is time consuming and detracting from the game play

Stop trying to dictate the gameplay so much

Your taking the fun out of it!






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users