Jump to content


Unable to download updates, gaming center and all games


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

Matticus_1 #1 Posted Jul 07 2018 - 18:33

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 4620 battles
  • 13
  • [-GNR-] -GNR-
  • Member since:
    06-30-2018

I have been fighting with this issue for days.  Originally i started playing WoT and everything was fine.  Then i installed WoWp and WoWs and now nothing works.  They all give me the same error (including the Gaming Center) when i run them.

        "Unable to download updates. Please check your internet connection and try again."

    This message appears now anytime i even try to play WoT, because it goes through the gaming center.  Opening the game outside the gaming center runs it through the gaming center anyways.  And of course the gaming center is trying to update itself.

    I have been through every solution imaginable, and in the end, support advised me to contact my isp.  I was hoping someone could give me a little more information on a screenshot of my PingPlotter results, as support was pretty vague.  All they said is that there is an issue at hop 8.  It seems too coincidental that this happened after i started trying to install other games, as i have had no other problems with my internet connection.

    Any help would be greatly appriciated.

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File   PingPlotterResults.PNG   111.03K


The_Illusive_Man #2 Posted Jul 07 2018 - 18:44

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 13335 battles
  • 4,414
  • Member since:
    08-30-2014

Hop 8 is high, but should still allow for a DL. Hop 9 and 10 are probs DNS servers, and will not respond to these requests. This is normal. Judging by the naming of the nodes, this is a cell network (Or satellite). Can you do wired?

 

Also, this is NOT the IP of WOT.

 


: login-p3.worldoftanks.com
: wotna3.login.wargaming.net


Edited by The_Illusive_Man, Jul 07 2018 - 18:45.


Buttknuckle #3 Posted Jul 07 2018 - 18:50

    Major

  • Players
  • 52791 battles
  • 3,127
  • [GOONZ] GOONZ
  • Member since:
    03-19-2013
Stories like this about gaming center issues are why i dont occasionally play WOWP and WOWS. I have all the games installed from when they were stand alone but it will no longer allow me update them unless I install the game center, which I wont.

GenPanzer #4 Posted Jul 07 2018 - 19:02

    Major

  • Players
  • 45107 battles
  • 3,818
  • [EFFIT] EFFIT
  • Member since:
    08-15-2011

View PostButtknuckle, on Jul 07 2018 - 12:50, said:

Stories like this about gaming center issues are why i dont occasionally play WOWP and WOWS. I have all the games installed from when they were stand alone but it will no longer allow me update them unless I install the game center, which I wont.

 

Game Center is just fine. I have been using it ever since it was first advertised in WoWP. I never had one issue with it. And I have all 4 games installed.

Matticus_1 #5 Posted Jul 07 2018 - 19:13

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 4620 battles
  • 13
  • [-GNR-] -GNR-
  • Member since:
    06-30-2018

I can't do wired, i'm using a laptop on wifi, the router is 6 feet away.  That is the IP address support told me to input into PingPlotter. 

 

Dont know if this helps, but i thought it was suspicious.  I got it when i ran WGCheck.exe.

 



The_Illusive_Man #6 Posted Jul 07 2018 - 19:35

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 13335 battles
  • 4,414
  • Member since:
    08-30-2014

View PostMatticus_1, on Jul 07 2018 - 14:13, said:

I can't do wired, i'm using a laptop on wifi, the router is 6 feet away.  That is the IP address support told me to input into PingPlotter. 

 

Dont know if this helps, but i thought it was suspicious.  I got it when i ran WGCheck.exe.

 

 

Laptops can move.... Sounds like a bad route... What i can suggest is to FACTORY RESET your modem (which will reset EVERYTHING), then leave it offline for 1 hour. This should reset the route (unless you live in Canada, if so, dont do this, as it will do nothing). Once the hour is over, setup your modem again.

Projectile_Misfired #7 Posted Jul 07 2018 - 20:46

    Major

  • Players
  • 38760 battles
  • 3,042
  • Member since:
    05-30-2012

Just a few things you can try:

  • Check your firewall settings - to ensure the Game Center and each of the games have network access. 
  • Right-click on the Game Center icon and select "Run As Administrator" - some of the game file locations require higher permissions than normal, and, some game updates may be trying to modify these files.
  • Start the game directly from the game executable - (where-ever your WoT folder is located)/World_of_Tanks/WorldOfTanks.exe
  • Disable the "Download updates in advance" option for all games - the Game Center could be trying to download updates for any one of the three games. If WoWp and/or WoWs update downloads are failing, it could be locking up the Game Center.

 

Keep in mind, that even though you've previously given access permissions to various applications, Microsoft and Windows updates will sometimes reset them.



Whistling_Death_ #8 Posted Jul 07 2018 - 21:32

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 65893 battles
  • 2,856
  • [13-AD] 13-AD
  • Member since:
    11-09-2014

Sounds like you really need to use the WG Check.exe tool to diagnose and fix the problem. 

 

Here are some links that may help you out.

 

Contact Support -

https://na.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/help/

 

General Information -

https://na.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/article/19163/

 

 

Technical Issues -

https://na.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/category/16837/#

 

How to create a WGCheck Report - To download and use the WG Check.exe tool -

https://na.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/article/19401/



Matticus_1 #9 Posted Jul 07 2018 - 22:12

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 4620 battles
  • 13
  • [-GNR-] -GNR-
  • Member since:
    06-30-2018

 

View PostPanman69, on Jul 07 2018 - 20:46, said:

Just a few things you can try:

  • Check your firewall settings - to ensure the Game Center and each of the games have network access. 
  • Right-click on the Game Center icon and select "Run As Administrator" - some of the game file locations require higher permissions than normal, and, some game updates may be trying to modify these files.
  • Start the game directly from the game executable - (where-ever your WoT folder is located)/World_of_Tanks/WorldOfTanks.exe
  • Disable the "Download updates in advance" option for all games - the Game Center could be trying to download updates for any one of the three games. If WoWp and/or WoWs update downloads are failing, it could be locking up the Game Center.

 

Keep in mind, that even though you've previously given access permissions to various applications, Microsoft and Windows updates will sometimes reset them.

View PostWhistling_Death_, on Jul 07 2018 - 21:32, said:

Sounds like you really need to use the WG Check.exe tool to diagnose and fix the problem. 

 

Here are some links that may help you out.

 

Contact Support -

https://na.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/help/

 

General Information -

https://na.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/article/19163/

 

 

Technical Issues -

https://na.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/category/16837/#

 

How to create a WGCheck Report - To download and use the WG Check.exe tool -

https://na.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/article/19401/

 

So i really appreciate all of your suggesstions to my issue, but ive tried them all before posting my problem.  I cant even open the gaming center without it trying to update, so i can turn off the updates.  I've forwarded the needed ports on my router, tried running the game in safe mode, run as admin, turned off firewall and AV, uninstalled/reinstalled, cleared temp files, reset my router to factory default, flush dns, everything. I cant see how the problem could be at my end. 

 

If no one has any other ideas, i guess i might have to accept defeat...



JonTheTerminator #10 Posted Apr 03 2019 - 22:28

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 12747 battles
  • 2
  • [4HIM2] 4HIM2
  • Member since:
    10-22-2014

I have the same problem and I cant seem to find the problem to fix it... someone please help!

 



rollincoal2016 #11 Posted May 03 2019 - 01:44

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 68 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    05-30-2015
I recently switched from the STEAM version of WOW's and tried to download it through Game Center so that i could better use the Wargaming Mod Pack. I am getting the same problem even with Ethernet. There is no way my computer isn't connected to the internet. Everything else works perfectly fine. And none of the troubleshooting is even remotely useful. Anybody got anything new to try? Thanks

Matticus_1 #12 Posted May 03 2019 - 05:35

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 4620 battles
  • 13
  • [-GNR-] -GNR-
  • Member since:
    06-30-2018

There is no solution to this problem. I have since moved and switched internet providers, routers, ect, for some reason just doesnt work on some systems. Wargaming tech support is useless.

 



XxCrazybumxX #13 Posted Jun 05 2019 - 07:07

    Private

  • Players
  • 4339 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    11-13-2013

Can somebody please help me fix this issue ive had for months? about a month or two ago i download quickie babys modpack for 1.4 something, when there was an update everything went all janky and i deleted it and tried reinstalling but now it hits me with this message, "unable to handle application files in C:\Games\World_of_Tanks_NA\updates\wot_1.5.0.1339_na please try again later" somebody help me please

 



Ali_Ali_20 #14 Posted Jun 30 2019 - 10:08

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    06-28-2019
 have all the games installed from when they were stand alone but it Onlinesbi TutuApp aadhar card will no longer allow me update them unless I install the game center, which I wont. 

Edited by Ali_Ali_20, Jun 30 2019 - 22:52.


Polarus #15 Posted Oct 20 2019 - 08:18

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 191 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    03-08-2013
Ihave the same issue, have been trying for weeks now to get into my wow and have had no luck whatsoever

Rommelman1 #16 Posted Oct 25 2019 - 01:45

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 25190 battles
  • 153
  • [VDLS] VDLS
  • Member since:
    02-10-2017

last nights patch , broke my launcher , WOT support says " check to see if your ISP allows torrent files"  "our updates are torrent files"

you would think that WOT would know that their is a war against Torrent files now , and its world wide...so why would you run updates like that ?

 

i will try on my other PC and see if it works there , if it doesnt , its a blessing , because the game has become total garbage of late anyway



Peter__warrior #17 Posted Oct 25 2019 - 03:39

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 4455 battles
  • 10
  • [-TX-] -TX-
  • Member since:
    08-11-2015
I encountered this issue today as well.

Matticus_1 #18 Posted Oct 25 2019 - 04:41

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 4620 battles
  • 13
  • [-GNR-] -GNR-
  • Member since:
    06-30-2018
Well this has finally happened to WoT as well since being forced to use the Game Center a couple of days ago. I had a feeling this was going to happen as soon as there was an update. I was right. Now i cant update. Submitted a ticket but i doubt they will be able to resolve the problem, same thing i went through trying to get WoWP to work, and it never did. I have since put alot of money into WoT, so now i am pissed.

Professor_Bunny_YT #19 Posted Oct 25 2019 - 14:31

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 9717 battles
  • 2
  • [FURST] FURST
  • Member since:
    01-18-2018
So pretty much there's nothing we can do to fix this issue and we're all screwed? Correct me if I'm wrong

Peter__warrior #20 Posted Oct 25 2019 - 15:16

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 4455 battles
  • 10
  • [-TX-] -TX-
  • Member since:
    08-11-2015

View PostPeter__warrior, on Oct 25 2019 - 03:39, said:

I encountered this issue today as well.

I don't know what is going on but I tried with my home PC and it worked great last night. And I came back to my school PC, it was still not working.

 

My home PC started using game center long time ago but my school PC was recently transferred from the old launcher.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


    MrThreepwood