Jump to content


Map loading time

Lag Loading Slow Map

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

CJ_1601 #1 Posted Jul 10 2018 - 17:51

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 10468 battles
  • 18
  • Member since:
    02-23-2011
Since update 1.0 the time it takes to load into a map has been inconsistent across the board. During the testing for the update I sometimes found myself at my tank 1+ minute after the battle had started. After the update released there were still major issues. After one of the patches it seemed to work a little better but another patch and we are right back to loading times in excess of 30 seconds. That is often enough time for you to be spotted before you have a chance to react, and occasionally even take damage, it is definitely more then enough time for you to loose out on advantages positions and for an enemy to outmaneuver you before you have a chance to respond. These load times are unacceptable and need to be fixed.

Nudnick #2 Posted Jul 10 2018 - 17:55

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 23699 battles
  • 3,260
  • Member since:
    01-06-2013
I notice it more on the winter maps.

The_Illusive_Man #3 Posted Jul 10 2018 - 17:59

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 11945 battles
  • 2,064
  • [RDDT] RDDT
  • Member since:
    08-30-2014

https://peteronprogr...-times-on-hdds/

 

Seems to be an issue with WOT.... You can use Smart defrag 5 instead if you want.



Cygnus610 #4 Posted Jul 10 2018 - 18:28

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 39276 battles
  • 627
  • Member since:
    04-06-2013

an SSD is your friend...

 

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16820147676



kebab6597 #5 Posted Jul 10 2018 - 18:39

    Major

  • Players
  • 54681 battles
  • 8,754
  • [D-DAY] D-DAY
  • Member since:
    04-16-2011
I,am usually ingame a good 20 to 30 seconds before the countdown starts

CJ_1601 #6 Posted Jul 10 2018 - 18:41

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 10468 battles
  • 18
  • Member since:
    02-23-2011

The answer is not to go buy an SSD. They screwed up, I put posts about this during the beta, I put posts about it at release, here I am again. This is getting to be ridiculous, an otherwise enjoyable game becomes a mess because you can't get good positions at the start or you find yourself screwed the second you "Spawn in"



Desert_Fox_1969 #7 Posted Jul 10 2018 - 18:52

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 24290 battles
  • 560
  • [TAC-D] TAC-D
  • Member since:
    12-22-2013
SSD and all your worries are gone. 

moogleslam #8 Posted Jul 10 2018 - 19:02

    Major

  • Players
  • 36397 battles
  • 3,751
  • [CLAWS] CLAWS
  • Member since:
    12-20-2013
Running from an SSD on a high end gaming PC, and I still have issues.  Not like OP, but if I alt-tab after hitting battle, I'll have to wait ~5 seconds for the loading screen to vanish after getting back into the game.  Solution is I have to do that before the countdown ends, so I'm ready, otherwise, I'll be waiting 5 seconds.  I didn't explain that well, but I don't care enough with the day I'm having :P

the_dude_76 #9 Posted Jul 10 2018 - 19:21

    Major

  • Players
  • 31817 battles
  • 2,512
  • [GSRM] GSRM
  • Member since:
    12-27-2011

View PostCJ_1601, on Jul 10 2018 - 11:41, said:

The answer is not to go buy an SSD. They screwed up, I put posts about this during the beta, I put posts about it at release, here I am again. This is getting to be ridiculous, an otherwise enjoyable game becomes a mess because you can't get good positions at the start or you find yourself screwed the second you "Spawn in"

 

If they haven't come up with a fix by now there's really no reason to believe they ever will. At least not in the immediate future. Sometimes you've just got to work with what you've got or make the adjustment on your end. An SSD isn't a bad investment anyway.

MacDaddyMatty #10 Posted Jul 10 2018 - 19:51

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 23780 battles
  • 5,514
  • [D-DAY] D-DAY
  • Member since:
    10-07-2016

View Postkebab6597, on Jul 10 2018 - 12:39, said:

I,am usually ingame a good 20 to 30 seconds before the countdown starts

 

I was prior to 1.0.

Now I load in with -10sec prior to battle start.



Benjeeh_CA #11 Posted Jul 10 2018 - 20:13

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 29882 battles
  • 661
  • [DBLTP] DBLTP
  • Member since:
    04-18-2012

I'm usually in before the 30s countdown starts. Even before I bought an ssd. I'd say my PC is mid tier now since it's close to 5 years old

 

Edit: I run max graphics 

 

 



GeorgePreddy #12 Posted Jul 10 2018 - 21:21

    Major

  • Players
  • 14345 battles
  • 9,022
  • [L_LEG] L_LEG
  • Member since:
    04-11-2013

View PostCJ_1601, on Jul 10 2018 - 14:41, said:

The answer is not to go buy an SSD.

 

Once you invest in an SSD, you will never regret it.

 

 

 

 

 

 



CJ_1601 #13 Posted Jul 11 2018 - 00:06

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 10468 battles
  • 18
  • Member since:
    02-23-2011
Again, an SSD is not the solution. When I can load into other games in seconds I can't justify buying hardware to play just WoT. Would an SSD make the loading times of those other games say 1 or 2 seconds as appose to a handful? Maybe? But hey, it's not an issue for me to wait a few seconds for other stuff to load, it is when I'm playing a multiplayer game where the match starts 30+ seconds before I even get there. I've reinstalled the game too just to make sure there was no issues with patching or something, same issues after reinstall. This is not an isolated issue either, other people have been complaining about the same thing, so I doubt it's a problem with my system (Other then the fact that I'm not running an SSD but... hey I already mentioned that and no, I'm not buying one for ONE game when dozens of other games load just fine) See, the thing about the whole deal is that Wargamming promised us that there would be no performance loss with the new update, in fact, they claimed the optimizations they made might even make the game run smoother! That was promised in all of the "Media" they released about 1.0. Considering I used to load into matches before the countdown timer even started clicking, I would say this is certainly not the same or better performance, in fact, it would suggest I'm seeing in excess of a full minute longer loading times then before!

rudy32 #14 Posted Jul 11 2018 - 21:12

    Private

  • Players
  • 47064 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    12-02-2013
CJ is right. Wargaming promised that 1.0 would improve everyone's experience, even on "older computers". My computer and performance numbers are better than many who post here with difficulties, and once in battle I'm fine, but arriving on time has been a problem since 1.0. I've had consecutive days where I got in on time every battle, and others where it was ok except for the first one or two. Beyond that, I arrive 30-60 seconds late, sometimes having been spotted or damaged. Those of us in this situation are cheated out of premium and performance booster time. Even on lower settings the graphics have improved, but all that is for nothing if the game is broken. There is a long list of minor glitches that I would call expected growing pains, but this should be addressed before creating fancier garages and other fluff.

CJ_1601 #15 Posted Jul 14 2018 - 01:59

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 10468 battles
  • 18
  • Member since:
    02-23-2011

View Postrudy32, on Jul 11 2018 - 20:12, said:

CJ is right. Wargaming promised that 1.0 would improve everyone's experience, even on "older computers". My computer and performance numbers are better than many who post here with difficulties, and once in battle I'm fine, but arriving on time has been a problem since 1.0. I've had consecutive days where I got in on time every battle, and others where it was ok except for the first one or two. Beyond that, I arrive 30-60 seconds late, sometimes having been spotted or damaged. Those of us in this situation are cheated out of premium and performance booster time. Even on lower settings the graphics have improved, but all that is for nothing if the game is broken. There is a long list of minor glitches that I would call expected growing pains, but this should be addressed before creating fancier garages and other fluff.

 

Thanks for the comments rudy32, proof that I am not the only one, I know there are more out there! If those people were less shy and spoke up maybe we could actually get this addressed. And yes, I was disappointed that they pushed things out before many issues were addressed, but held onto some hope that in weeks after we'd see some improvement, or at least a mention that they know of the issue are are looking into a way to fix it. Need more people with this problem to post so this can get seen!





Also tagged with Lag, Loading, Slow, Map

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users