Jump to content


MEESA got a stupid question (about crews)

crew training Premium Crews

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

Beastquake545465 #1 Posted Jul 12 2018 - 04:10

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 2330 battles
  • 176
  • Member since:
    02-11-2015

Hi, I know that, for example, a crew trained for the Comet t7 med tank will have no penalty for scooting around in a Cromwell B, but i am wondering if it works thw other way around. Can i just leave my free BIA crew trained as Cromwell B, or do I need to change it as I go along the British med line. When I pit the brommie crew in another Brit med there qualifaction (crommie b) shows as red.

thx


Edited by Beastquake545465, Jul 12 2018 - 04:12.


Buttknuckle #2 Posted Jul 12 2018 - 04:12

    Major

  • Players
  • 45034 battles
  • 2,233
  • [GOONZ] GOONZ
  • Member since:
    03-19-2013

You'll need to retrain them for each tech tree tank as you go up the med line. But they'll always be able to go back into the CromB w/o penalty.



Hurk #3 Posted Jul 12 2018 - 04:12

    Major

  • Players
  • 50199 battles
  • 16,296
  • [KGR] KGR
  • Member since:
    09-30-2012

no it doesnt. they get the standard untrained penalty. there are no "premium crews". 

 

frankly, they just need to stop allowing people to train crews to premium tanks anyway, and the crews should be trained for the closest tech tree tank of the same type or tier. 



heavymetal1967 #4 Posted Jul 12 2018 - 04:12

    Major

  • Players
  • 63477 battles
  • 16,575
  • Member since:
    05-30-2012

No OP you take a competency hit on base crew skills and an xp earning hit as well. 

 

Scroll down a bit, http://wiki.wargaming.net/en/Crew#Bonuses_and_Penalties

 

 



Beastquake545465 #5 Posted Jul 12 2018 - 04:18

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 2330 battles
  • 176
  • Member since:
    02-11-2015
Thank you for the help guys!

SemperGumbi #6 Posted Jul 12 2018 - 04:31

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 26009 battles
  • 9
  • Member since:
    07-10-2014

View PostButtknuckle, on Jul 12 2018 - 04:12, said:

You'll need to retrain them for each tech tree tank as you go up the med line. But they'll always be able to go back into the CromB w/o penalty.

 

As long as you train them for medium tanks. If you train them for a heavy, light, arty, or TD then you cannot move them back to the CromB without a penalty.

SporkBoy #7 Posted Jul 12 2018 - 05:14

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 33551 battles
  • 217
  • [PZB] PZB
  • Member since:
    02-06-2014
Stop crew training in premium tanks? I would never buy another premium tank in such a case - bet I'm not alone in this matter. Crew training is the only reason I ever buy premium tanks.



Hurk #8 Posted Jul 12 2018 - 05:29

    Major

  • Players
  • 50199 battles
  • 16,296
  • [KGR] KGR
  • Member since:
    09-30-2012

View PostSporkBoy, on Jul 11 2018 - 21:14, said:

Stop crew training in premium tanks? I would never buy another premium tank in such a case - bet I'm not alone in this matter. Crew training is the only reason I ever buy premium tanks.
no. stop allowing a crew to be trained specifically to a premium tank. so that people stop thinking that the crew is somehow special instead of the tank itself being special. not being able to train to a premium also makes it clear that it should not be done and barring their stupid change that prevents you training for a tank you dont have researched, should not be done. I want that change reversed. 

SporkBoy #9 Posted Jul 12 2018 - 05:31

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 33551 battles
  • 217
  • [PZB] PZB
  • Member since:
    02-06-2014
Ah, that's totally different.

24cups #10 Posted Jul 12 2018 - 14:33

    Captain

  • Players
  • 22558 battles
  • 1,843
  • [D-DAY] D-DAY
  • Member since:
    01-25-2013

View PostHurk, on Jul 11 2018 - 22:12, said:

 

frankly, they just need to stop allowing people to train crews to premium tanks anyway, and the crews should be trained for the closest tech tree tank of the same type or tier. 

Although this would be great for the players it would lose WG money for that first retraining . So that's not gonna happen. 



MiddleAgedNoob #11 Posted Jul 12 2018 - 15:42

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 10779 battles
  • 89
  • [MARV] MARV
  • Member since:
    10-29-2016

View PostHurk, on Jul 11 2018 - 23:29, said:

no. stop allowing a crew to be trained specifically to a premium tank. so that people stop thinking that the crew is somehow special instead of the tank itself being special. not being able to train to a premium also makes it clear that it should not be done and barring their stupid change that prevents you training for a tank you dont have researched, should not be done. I want that change reversed. 

 

While I agree with this in principle, it shouldn't be a hard and fast rule.  In my Type 64, I have a Radio Operator, but none in my WZ-131, so she is trained to the Type.  There is also the case where you buy a premium for which you have no matching tech tree tank, odd as that may seem to some people.  But yes, buying a Berlin Quartet/Quintet tank primarily for the 0-skill BIA crew and then having to retrain for gold is irritating.  Further, as others have pointed out, some newcomers have mistakenly used gold to train to a premium in the mistaken belief that they could be moved to tech tree tanks without penalty.  I would hope that WG would reverse that if you filed a ticket.

 

GLHF



spud_tuber #12 Posted Jul 12 2018 - 15:43

    Major

  • Players
  • 49259 battles
  • 5,827
  • Member since:
    08-26-2013

View PostHurk, on Jul 11 2018 - 21:12, said:

no it doesnt. they get the standard untrained penalty. there are no "premium crews". 

 

frankly, they just need to stop allowing people to train crews to premium tanks anyway, and the crews should be trained for the closest tech tree tank of the same type or tier. 

What about new lines with only prem tanks? The pundel for instance. Or the progretto before the italian line was released.



Hurk #13 Posted Jul 13 2018 - 02:08

    Major

  • Players
  • 50199 battles
  • 16,296
  • [KGR] KGR
  • Member since:
    09-30-2012

View PostMiddleAgedNoob, on Jul 12 2018 - 07:42, said:

While I agree with this in principle, it shouldn't be a hard and fast rule.  In my Type 64, I have a Radio Operator, but none in my WZ-131, so she is trained to the Type.  There is also the case where you buy a premium for which you have no matching tech tree tank, odd as that may seem to some people.  But yes, buying a Berlin Quartet/Quintet tank primarily for the 0-skill BIA crew and then having to retrain for gold is irritating.  Further, as others have pointed out, some newcomers have mistakenly used gold to train to a premium in the mistaken belief that they could be moved to tech tree tanks without penalty.  I would hope that WG would reverse that if you filed a ticket.

 

GLHF

View Postspud_tuber, on Jul 12 2018 - 07:43, said:

What about new lines with only prem tanks? The pundel for instance. Or the progretto before the italian line was released.

train it to "placeholder" or known tank names for upcoming tanks (they usually know), then free retain options.

 

personally, the quick and dirty would be to offer crew retraining as a token. IE, when you want to retrain a crew member, you purchase a retraining token, then spend that. 

premium tanks could come with a crew and a like amount of tokens. the crew could be trained for the premium tank at that point, but players would not be able to select the premium tanks, only tech tree tanks of the same class, or lacking a tech tree tank, only then, the premium tank itself. 

 

this could actually lead to more spending, as people would stock up on tokens when they were on sale to use later, in effect, pre-purchasing. 






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users