Jump to content


What's up with my antivirus?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

Mom13 #1 Posted Jul 14 2018 - 11:06

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 2244 battles
  • 42
  • Member since:
    07-22-2012

wthwg?

Malwarebytes

#1

Domain block:  xml.explorads.com

File: D:\Games\World_of_Tanks\res\cef\cef_browser_process.exe

#2

Domain: install.streamit-online.com

File: D:\Games\World_of_Tanks\res\cef\cef_browser_process.exe

#3

Category: Fraud
Domain: xml.explorads.com

File: D:\Games\World_of_Tanks\res\cef\cef_browser_process.exe

#4

Category: Malware
Domain: www.improvemybrowser.com
IP Address: 52.84.90.201
File: D:\Games\World_of_Tanks\res\cef\cef_browser_process.exe

 

Is this how we make money?


File: D:\Games\World_of_Tanks\res\cef\cef_browser_process.exe

 

 


Edited by Mom13, Jul 14 2018 - 11:08.


JakeTheMystic #2 Posted Jul 14 2018 - 11:27

    Captain

  • Players
  • 22296 battles
  • 1,557
  • [F0CUS] F0CUS
  • Member since:
    12-30-2011

I just basically stopped using anti-virus because it keep nagging me saying anything I downloaded was a virus. (I've used Norton and Mcafee a few years back.)

 

They're just useless programs that eat up your CPU and do nothing to protect your computer. 

 

Windows defender has done alright, but its basically mandatory since it just re-enables itself if you've it disabled for a period of time. 

 

Take off that tinfoil hat, it doesn't look good on you. 



Zanarkand_C #3 Posted Jul 14 2018 - 11:44

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 28729 battles
  • 492
  • [AWOO] AWOO
  • Member since:
    12-06-2014
I just use Microsoft Defender as well. Built into Windows 10, it's not the best people say but I've never gotten a virus on any of my PCs. Plus it stays out of the way and knows to scan when I am AFK instead of using up CPU while I am on the computer. 

Edited by Zanarkand_C, Jul 14 2018 - 12:02.


ArtyAardvark #4 Posted Jul 14 2018 - 12:18

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 21903 battles
  • 324
  • [PTRB] PTRB
  • Member since:
    01-01-2014
The only virus on my computer is the POS McAfee antivirus that I never wanted and had to take preloaded when I bought the computer. Two years after the free trial ended this POS Mcafeee program still spams me all the friggin time to remind me that Its not working and I should pay them to renew it. Windows Defender ftw, McAfee eat  #*&% and die die die. Seriously, endless popup reminders with no way to turn them off, never buy any McAfee products.

Mom13 #5 Posted Jul 14 2018 - 12:25

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 2244 battles
  • 42
  • Member since:
    07-22-2012

View PostJakeTheMystic, on Jul 14 2018 - 10:27, said:

I just basically stopped using anti-virus because it keep nagging me saying anything I downloaded was a virus.

 

Then your adding nothing but hubris to this discussion.

 

View PostZanarkand_C, on Jul 14 2018 - 10:44, said:

I just use Microsoft Defender as well. Built into Windows 10, it's not the best people say but I've never gotten a virus on any of my PCs. Plus it stays out of the way and knows to scan when I am AFK instead of using up CPU while I am on the computer. 

 

This wasn't scanning.  This was real-time intervention.  Why am I being re-directed to " www.improvemybrowser.com"

 

View PostArtyAardvark, on Jul 14 2018 - 11:18, said:

The only virus on my computer is the POS 

 

Sorry, I'm not here to discuss the merits of differing anti-virus / anti-malware brands.

 

 

 

Seriously.

Why am i getting re-directed to " install.streamit-online.com"

And "www.improvemybrowser.com"

By wg's code  "\World_of_Tanks\res\cef\cef_browser_process.exe"???

 

Answer that question.



Winterpeger #6 Posted Jul 14 2018 - 12:27

    Major

  • Players
  • 51233 battles
  • 2,239
  • [DD-S] DD-S
  • Member since:
    10-25-2011

View PostArtyAardvark, on Jul 14 2018 - 06:18, said:

The only virus on my computer is the POS McAfee antivirus that I never wanted and had to take preloaded when I bought the computer. Two years after the free trial ended this POS Mcafeee program still spams me all the friggin time to remind me that Its not working and I should pay them to renew it. Windows Defender ftw, McAfee eat  #*&% and die die die. Seriously, endless popup reminders with no way to turn them off, never buy any McAfee products.

 

You do know that you can uninstall it and resolve your issue.  Just because 3rd party software comes with a pre-loaded computer doesn't mean you can't uninstall it if you don't want it.

Winterpeger #7 Posted Jul 14 2018 - 12:29

    Major

  • Players
  • 51233 battles
  • 2,239
  • [DD-S] DD-S
  • Member since:
    10-25-2011

View PostMom13, on Jul 14 2018 - 06:25, said:

 

Then your adding nothing but hubris to this discussion.

 

 

This wasn't scanning.  This was real-time intervention.  Why am I being re-directed to " www.improvemybrowser.com"

 

 

Sorry, I'm not here to discuss the merits of differing anti-virus / anti-malware brands.

 

 

 

Seriously.

Why am i getting re-directed to " install.streamit-online.com"

And "www.improvemybrowser.com"

By wg's code  "\World_of_Tanks\res\cef\cef_browser_process.exe"???

 

Answer that question.

 

Did you install any mods? It is not WG who is doing it but something you installed that is making a call to the cef_browser_proccess.exe

GeorgePreddy #8 Posted Jul 14 2018 - 12:47

    Major

  • Players
  • 14345 battles
  • 10,467
  • Member since:
    04-11-2013

Your problem has nothing to do with WoT per se, it is likely a virus implanted into WoT by a bad mod you loaded.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



BabA_YA6A #9 Posted Jul 14 2018 - 13:17

    Captain

  • Players
  • 26287 battles
  • 1,244
  • [O-VER] O-VER
  • Member since:
    08-09-2013

View PostJakeTheMystic, on Jul 14 2018 - 18:27, said:

I just basically stopped using anti-virus because it keep nagging me saying anything I downloaded was a virus. (I've used Norton and Mcafee a few years back.)

 

They're just useless programs that eat up your CPU and do nothing to protect your computer. 

 

Windows defender has done alright, but its basically mandatory since it just re-enables itself if you've it disabled for a period of time. 

 

Take off that tinfoil hat, it doesn't look good on you. 

 

+1

ImaKillYou #10 Posted Jul 14 2018 - 13:28

    Captain

  • Players
  • 27314 battles
  • 1,209
  • [-GENT] -GENT
  • Member since:
    04-25-2011
You have adware on your machine that hijacks browsers. Since it's using the browser built into wot, it came from a mod, or, WoT was the first program you used after the adware installed, thus it is using WoTs browser.

ThePigSheFlies #11 Posted Jul 14 2018 - 15:01

    Major

  • Players
  • 66013 battles
  • 16,595
  • [SIMP] SIMP
  • Member since:
    10-20-2012

View PostImaKillYou, on Jul 14 2018 - 07:28, said:

You have adware on your machine that hijacks browsers. Since it's using the browser built into wot, it came from a mod, or, WoT was the first program you used after the adware installed, thus it is using WoTs browser.

 

this, and +1

The_Illusive_Man #12 Posted Jul 14 2018 - 15:05

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 12750 battles
  • 2,998
  • [RDDT] RDDT
  • Member since:
    08-30-2014
If you installed any polofox mods, you are infected. He has put adware in his mods. Youll need to do a full scan, and then install mods only using aslians.

Krautjaeger #13 Posted Jul 14 2018 - 15:10

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 1879 battles
  • 381
  • [K00KS] K00KS
  • Member since:
    05-27-2017

View PostGeorgePreddy, on Jul 14 2018 - 12:47, said:

Your problem has nothing to do with WoT per se, it is likely a virus implanted into WoT by a bad mod you loaded.

 

 

 

^^ This. Ekspoint's mods was riddled earlier this year, and Aslain dropped them iirc, as an example.

SporkBoy #14 Posted Jul 14 2018 - 16:11

    Captain

  • Players
  • 38800 battles
  • 1,175
  • [PZB] PZB
  • Member since:
    02-06-2014
#VirusLiveMatter?

You SW is telling you that you have a BHO.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users