Jump to content


Wot 1.0 macwrapper vs bootcamp


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

GN_78 #1 Posted Jul 20 2018 - 16:20

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 32
  • Member since:
    05-27-2018
Hi guys i just started playing World of Tanks I'm using an old macbook air 2011. Running os el capitan, intel hd 3000, using 1.6 GHz Intel Core i5, and 4gb of RAM. I hope to get a proper desktop or laptop to be able to play wot but at the moment, i have to use this mac. May I ask if using bootcamp would have better performance than using the Macwrappper? At the moment, playing using the macwrapper with minimum settings gives me 9-10 fps, playable but laggy.

 



Sp00kyScaryKitKat__o7o7 #2 Posted Jul 20 2018 - 16:37

    Major

  • Players
  • 45054 battles
  • 2,442
  • Member since:
    03-29-2011

I'm using MacBook Pro 2015 8GB, 2.7 Iris 6100 

 

from my experience, I get way better fps on Bootcamp over using MacWrapper

 

If I remember correctly, I get around 35fps on MacWrapper(buggy), and on Bootcamp 50fps to 66fps (smooth & clean) 

 

Edit: I have only tested the wrapper once a year ago, then switched to bootcamp. I don't know if there were any updates on the wrapper since then. 

 

you should try both and see whats best

 


Edited by Sp00kyScaryKitKat__o7o7, Jul 20 2018 - 16:39.


dstud208 #3 Posted Jul 20 2018 - 16:38

    Captain

  • Players
  • 17803 battles
  • 1,804
  • [-BRO] -BRO
  • Member since:
    10-15-2012
Yes, performance should be significantly better in boot camp, maybe get you up to 15-20 fps on similar settings. Don't know for sure.

The problem with boot camp is it will take up a lot of storage space on your drive. And since you have a MacBook Air I assume you probably don't have terabytes to spare. I have 100 gigs dedicated to boot camp and it's barely enough, all my games and such I have stored on an external drive, the only thing actually installed on the computer is MS office and a couple programs like chrome, skype, and discord. That and the OS leave me about 20 gigs of free space meaning 80 gigs is used by the OS and a few basic programs.

There are methods of installing windows on an external drive and you may find success that way, but I'm not fluent in that form of the dark arts so I will let you look into that if you want.
Here is a link to get you started if you choose: https://9to5mac.com/...al-drive-video/


flaviosquilla #4 Posted Jul 20 2018 - 16:39

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 34524 battles
  • 173
  • [DYNO] DYNO
  • Member since:
    07-28-2014

9-10 fps isn't laggy, or playable. It might as well be a slideshow. I would consider 25 fps to be the bare minimum.

Also, I'm not into mac world, but I used to have a laptop with an HD graphics 4000 and I would run the old WoT at 20-30 fps. I think you might not even get much better FPS even if you were running the game on windows native.

Try putting the client in the most basic settings (there's a setting that gives you the oldest graphics, can't remember the name).



black_colt #5 Posted Jul 20 2018 - 17:13

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3837 battles
  • 2,744
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostGN_78, on Jul 20 2018 - 07:20, said:

Hi guys i just started playing World of Tanks I'm using an old macbook air 2011. Running os el capitan, intel hd 3000, using 1.6 GHz Intel Core i5, and 4gb of RAM. I hope to get a proper desktop or laptop to be able to play wot but at the moment, i have to use this mac. May I ask if using bootcamp would have better performance than using the Macwrappper? At the moment, playing using the macwrapper with minimum settings gives me 9-10 fps, playable but laggy.

 

 

With your hardware you will only be able to use [Minimum] graphics settings in the WoT Mac Wrapper at 1366x768.  Your FPS will depend on i) network connection speed, and ii) whether you are playing with or without the power supply.  I would expect that you will see very low FPS [10 to 15] at best.

 

As your CTO machine only has 128GB internal storage running MS Windows will be difficult [a functional MS Windows partition to run the game requires a minimum of 128GB] and IHMO not worth the effort [trust me I have tried with 64GB and it was a nightmare].

 

NOTE: Boot Camp only allows the installation of MS Windows onto Apple-branded hardware and subsequent ability to boot natively into MS Windows.  Once MS Windows is installed through Boot Camp the app is not required to boot natively into MS Windows on Apple-branded hardware.

 


Edited by black_colt, Jul 20 2018 - 17:23.


dnaman #6 Posted Jul 20 2018 - 17:50

    Captain

  • Players
  • 30466 battles
  • 1,457
  • [DBLTG] DBLTG
  • Member since:
    06-09-2013
I have found WOT to be too slow on our iMac for anything other than arty.  I run an even older Mac Pro, but I’ve done some serious voodoo to get Windows 7 installed (bootcamp wouldn’t allow newer than XP on this 2007 Mac Pro) and I’ve got 12GB or RAM with a 1TB disk dedicated to windows.  I have a 650Ti graphics card that the Mac side won’t recognize but that the windows side will run.  It’s a total hatchet job, but I get 40-60fps and it’s playable.  I’m guessing you’ll have issues with the game on your Air just like I see on our iMac.  

GN_78 #7 Posted Jul 21 2018 - 00:14

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 32
  • Member since:
    05-27-2018
Thanks for the help. Really appreciate it.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users