Jump to content


Tech Support TIcket Problems - Game crashes computer

Tech Support tickets

  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

Capt_Beargrease #1 Posted Aug 06 2018 - 23:47

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 30770 battles
  • 51
  • [POP-C] POP-C
  • Member since:
    12-02-2013
First off, I can't even submit a ticket anymore.  I can go to my tickets, and see the old ones.  There is no option for opening a ticket back up once it is closed.  I click on links in the faq to open a ticket, I click there and it leads nowhere.  I click through the whole list of questions for what kind of problem I have... dead end.

I was having a problem with my game crashing.  It would also crash my whole computer.  I sent in a report by the WOT game checker program.  I was told that I would have to send in a new report without mods (I use XVM, some sound effects, battle stats log, crew return, etc. all legal mods) because they could not tell if the problem was the game or the mods.  I played without mods, and sure enough, my game crashed without mods running.  I did an analysis again, and could not send it.  I can't send it. for help.

I then talked to a friend, did some direct x package thing.  The game still crashed my system.  It is the only game that crashes my system.  My system is old, I built it in 2010. 

So as a further step to try and fix the problem by myself, I lowered the graphics.  The game recommends "High" graphics.  I reduced the graphics to "Medium."  So far, so good.  The game seems to not want to crash.  It certainly has lasted longer than it normally would running on "High."

So if you are having a problem with the game crashing your computer, or the client crashing, AND you can't put in a ticket, or you don't want to hear the problem is the mods you are using, JUST TURN DOWN THE GRAPHICS SETTING and you can fix your problem the easy way.

QuicksilverJPR #2 Posted Aug 06 2018 - 23:49

    Major

  • Players
  • 26189 battles
  • 4,250
  • [RPG] RPG
  • Member since:
    01-17-2013
Or you could update your PC.  You've outlived the expectancy with it running on 8 years...

rich73 #3 Posted Aug 07 2018 - 00:24

    Major

  • Players
  • 53410 battles
  • 6,456
  • Member since:
    10-17-2011
You could be overheating.You should clean out the dust buildup in your case.

TLWiz #4 Posted Aug 07 2018 - 00:37

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 20828 battles
  • 9,372
  • [DSSRT] DSSRT
  • Member since:
    12-26-2014
When did you last update your graphics drivers?

Capt_Beargrease #5 Posted Aug 07 2018 - 01:37

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 30770 battles
  • 51
  • [POP-C] POP-C
  • Member since:
    12-02-2013

Quicksilver:  Yeah, I know it is coming.  I built this thing to last.  I would like to get a couple more years out of it if I can.

Rich:  Not a heat problem.  I have monitors, and alarms that never go off.  I also replaced my heat sink last year.  Not a dust problem either.  I inspect and clean when needed and I have a filter on my intake. 

 

TLWiz:  I did that in the Spring.  I have a GTX 570



Capt_Beargrease #6 Posted Aug 08 2018 - 04:49

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 30770 battles
  • 51
  • [POP-C] POP-C
  • Member since:
    12-02-2013

Game still crashes and crashes my system.  Guess I gotta go to Low Res graphics.

 



Moose_Nuts #7 Posted Aug 08 2018 - 07:51

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 5129 battles
  • 100
  • [CARTL] CARTL
  • Member since:
    10-08-2013

GTX 570? Thats a pretty low end graphics card. No wonder it crashes running game in High Res.

 



Moose_Nuts #8 Posted Aug 08 2018 - 07:55

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 5129 battles
  • 100
  • [CARTL] CARTL
  • Member since:
    10-08-2013

Also another issue you could be having that causes this and a lot of people aren't aware of it is your CPU paste. If you've never re-applied new paste since buying this computer it's most likely the culprit.

 



Ritual_ #9 Posted Aug 08 2018 - 23:28

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 4128 battles
  • 2
  • [FIXT] FIXT
  • Member since:
    11-07-2015

Same issue, crashes either to black screen or crashes to restart/BIOS....AMD Core I5 equiv with NVidia 750ti...seems to have began with driver update of graphics card, random crashes then worse until I can't get past the garage and not in there long enuf to get to game settings....

 

I've uninstalled mods.

Uninstalled/reinstalled game.

Turned graphics way down for the game in card controls(gforce experience)

Ran game data integrity check in front page.

Set game to SD mode in front page.

None of these attempts have had any effect.

 

BIOS reports shutdown due to surge in  power supply...I turned that sensor off in BIOS, to no effect. 

CPU temp seems normal at 145f...?   Not sure if that's hot but this problem only occurs running WOT...

 

Reluctant to replace power supply on what really seems like soft issue.

 

 

 



Capt_Beargrease #10 Posted Aug 10 2018 - 06:57

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 30770 battles
  • 51
  • [POP-C] POP-C
  • Member since:
    12-02-2013

I can expect my computer to crash every 2 to 3 games.

 

And, my paste was factory installed perfectly on my updated heatsink installed just last year. 

I7 950 3.07 GHz Quad core.  My CPU temp playing the game was 59 C.  Core Temps ranged from 68 to 72 C.

 

GPU Core got to 84 C.


Edited by Capt_Beargrease, Aug 10 2018 - 07:05.


QuicksilverJPR #11 Posted Aug 10 2018 - 16:25

    Major

  • Players
  • 26189 battles
  • 4,250
  • [RPG] RPG
  • Member since:
    01-17-2013
Are any of you running an ASUS motherboard and have some of their software installed (specifically for sound)?

Capt_Beargrease #12 Posted Aug 14 2018 - 03:57

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 30770 battles
  • 51
  • [POP-C] POP-C
  • Member since:
    12-02-2013
I have a gigabyte motherboard.  Now I am on low resolution, and the system still crashes.  I still can not make a ticket.  I have no help to figure out the problem.

Capt_Beargrease #13 Posted Aug 16 2018 - 00:38

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 30770 battles
  • 51
  • [POP-C] POP-C
  • Member since:
    12-02-2013
Still no help.  War Gaming person!  I can't make a ticket.  I can't send you files.  Are you doing this on purpose?  I click buttons for making a ticket to send you data, and every time I just get sent back to the "My Tickets" "My Bans" page, No option to make a ticket.  List of closed tickets, but that's it.  NO HELP.

Error REPORTED?

rich73 #14 Posted Aug 16 2018 - 01:26

    Major

  • Players
  • 53410 battles
  • 6,456
  • Member since:
    10-17-2011

View PostCapt_Beargrease, on Aug 15 2018 - 15:38, said:

Still no help.  War Gaming person!  I can't make a ticket.  I can't send you files.  Are you doing this on purpose?  I click buttons for making a ticket to send you data, and every time I just get sent back to the "My Tickets" "My Bans" page, No option to make a ticket.  List of closed tickets, but that's it.  NO HELP.

Error REPORTED?

 

Clear your history and see if that makes a difference.As for getting the right subject in your report,I just open another subject where its not as complicated and tell them there the prob I had with subject and what current problem is.(as there always seems to be something going on in this game,I make a couple 3 or 4 tickets a week...lol)

Capt_Beargrease #15 Posted Aug 16 2018 - 02:44

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 30770 battles
  • 51
  • [POP-C] POP-C
  • Member since:
    12-02-2013

View Postrich73, on Aug 15 2018 - 19:26, said:

 

Clear your history and see if that makes a difference.As for getting the right subject in your report,I just open another subject where its not as complicated and tell them there the prob I had with subject and what current problem is.(as there always seems to be something going on in this game,I make a couple 3 or 4 tickets a week...lol)

 

Clear what history?  I can't make a ticket.

 



Ritual_ #16 Posted Aug 17 2018 - 04:26

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 4128 battles
  • 2
  • [FIXT] FIXT
  • Member since:
    11-07-2015

As follow up:

 

Solved my issue by simply replacing power supply...but, as I said,  I was getting BIOS report of that being an issue.  So, thought I'd report that back, even though it may not be the remedy for anyone else...

 

So, I only tried replacement of the power supply in the course of trying everything and it worked for me.  Cheap easy fix.  

 

As I said I was only crashing running WOT, the computer seemed normal running anything else I do, but I wasn't doing anything else that requires that kind of power consumption, and that "extra draw" was causing instability that triggered the shutdowns.

 

Again, this is not intended as a fix for everyone, it's just what worked for me.

 

Good luck!



Capt_Beargrease #17 Posted Sep 18 2018 - 03:31

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 30770 battles
  • 51
  • [POP-C] POP-C
  • Member since:
    12-02-2013
No.  I'm still screwed.  Can't make a ticket.  Got the game on the minimum levels.  It crashes.  It freezes.  It will go to the BSOD.  With mods.  Without mods. 

It keeps dumping me out of games.  This is reprehensible and deplorable on the part of the "tech support."  I laugh when I call it that.  The total nonexistence of support is a sign of complete incompetence.  I bet they eat boogers.  500 gold says they eat boogers.

Bootknife #18 Posted Sep 18 2018 - 11:28

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 39508 battles
  • 638
  • [WDA] WDA
  • Member since:
    03-02-2012

View Postrich73, on Aug 06 2018 - 18:24, said:

You could be overheating.You should clean out the dust buildup in your case.

 

It doesn't take long for the dust blanket to form, so great advise.  The power supply comment is good as well.  A nice new Corsair 750 or 850 are not that expensive.  A power supply running at 80% generates a lot of heat, especially an old one.

Edited by Bootknife, Sep 18 2018 - 11:28.


Capt_Beargrease #19 Posted Sep 29 2018 - 17:49

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 30770 battles
  • 51
  • [POP-C] POP-C
  • Member since:
    12-02-2013
So, per your advice I went and blew out some dust.  There was not much dust inside the case.  However!  There was a lot of dust on the intake fan dust filter!  That thing needed cleaned.  It solved the problem.  Now maybe I can use a higher resolution in the game?  We will try and see what happens.  Thanks for your help.

Capt_Beargrease #20 Posted Oct 20 2018 - 20:17

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 30770 battles
  • 51
  • [POP-C] POP-C
  • Member since:
    12-02-2013

No problems running the game on a higher resolution.  If I clean the filter 1x a week, my system is happy.

 






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users