• Please log in to reply
125 replies to this topic

Alexspeed_US #101 Posted Aug 16 2018 - 17:47

Corporal

• Players
  • 46866 battles
  • [FGC] FGC

View Postahferroin7, on Aug 16 2018 - 12:39, said:

So, looking at this as a software developer myself, I'm kind of curious what actual testing was done beyond making sure everything seemed to work.  Where to begin?

• This mobile app style interface is horrendous for use with a mouse (you should not have to move your pointer a quarter of the way across the screen to move from one item to the next).  Yes, it's probably easier than the old store to use with a touchscreen, but how many people do you think are actually playing the game with a touchscreen?
  • It's slow.  Like, really slow.  Like, half second plus slower than the old store on an i7 with DDR4-2400 RAM and a GTX 1060.  I dread to think what this would be like if I didn't have a reasonably nice computer.
  • It removes useful features.  Filtering is at the top of the list here, but there are others, like having an easy way to repurchase vehicles.
  • Personal reserves are painful to use with this new interface.  The old system made it trivial to start three reserves in sufficiently quick succession that they would run out within seconds of each other.  The new system makes it impossible to do that, with the usual case being that the first one will run out a minute or more before the last one, effectively wasting time on both if you want them stacked.
  • It (arguably) makes the game even less visually consistent than what it was already.

Seriously though, functionality should always come first for something like this.  The store looking nice isn't going to draw in new players, and it's not going to help retain existing players, making sure it works as people need it to will do both better.

Thank you, you said it all much better then i could.