Jump to content


[Suggestion] Let us switch regions WITHOUT downloading the other region!


25 replies to this topic

The_Illusive_Man #1 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 12:58

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 13021 battles
  • 3,817
  • Member since:
    08-30-2014
So, there is a mod, called "Region Changer". Could you integrate this into the game centre? So that we can play on other regions, without taking up so much disk space?

_Ayreon_ #2 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 13:09

    Captain

  • Players
  • 50204 battles
  • 1,026
  • [CAMEO] CAMEO
  • Member since:
    07-28-2012
Dude, they don't even want to transfer people to EU because they would lose so many players. If they integrated the thing you're asking for, everyone over here would slowly migrate to EU or other regions one way or another. 

Bae_Suzy #3 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 13:12

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 9504 battles
  • 538
  • Member since:
    11-07-2017
z

Edited by KeepYourselfSafe_xD, Dec 06 2018 - 10:50.


PuddleSplasher #4 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 13:30

    Major

  • Players
  • 38131 battles
  • 2,992
  • Member since:
    07-11-2011

View PostOctavariumDT8, on Aug 27 2018 - 12:09, said:

Dude, they don't even want to transfer people to EU because they would lose so many players. If they integrated the thing you're asking for, everyone over here would slowly migrate to EU or other regions one way or another. 

 

I can think of stronger words than "Slowly migrate"

 

How about "F****** Immediately for me.


Edited by PuddleSplasher, Aug 27 2018 - 13:30.


Dain_Ironfoot_ #5 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 13:35

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 23786 battles
  • 2,319
  • [4HIM] 4HIM
  • Member since:
    05-14-2014
Just curious...  Would it not suck to be playing on the EU server with the high ping and everything?

Edited by Dain_Ironfoot_, Aug 27 2018 - 13:35.


Kehox #6 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 13:44

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 16893 battles
  • 410
  • Member since:
    01-23-2015

View PostDain_Ironfoot_, on Aug 27 2018 - 07:35, said:

Just curious...  Would it not suck to be playing on the EU server with the high ping and everything?

 

between high ping or an army of red ketchup during every x5 weekend ... i think at this point...it wouldnt change that much...

_Ayreon_ #7 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 13:46

    Captain

  • Players
  • 50204 battles
  • 1,026
  • [CAMEO] CAMEO
  • Member since:
    07-28-2012

View PostDain_Ironfoot_, on Aug 27 2018 - 14:35, said:

Just curious...  Would it not suck to be playing on the EU server with the high ping and everything?

 

Playable. There's plenty of us playing on NA from EU.

 

Back when we had East server, our ping was 100-120, if there were spikes, it could get messy. Now, when servers merged, our ping is 140-200 (some guys have it even higher) and it's still playable for most of us, if there are no spikes and packet loss. So we've been waiting for a year now to get transfered.

 

EU has it all, basicaly. Servers and network provider isn't as trashy as NA's, there's always at least 30k players playing (x2-x3 more than that during the prime time), they have useful events and also better players in general... Even if I lived in US, I would still want to transfer to EU. 



GeorgePreddy #8 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 13:48

    Major

  • Players
  • 14345 battles
  • 11,904
  • Member since:
    04-11-2013

Play on the EU servers is not the wonderful thing that some players make it out to be.  EU has some issues that are more disturbing than some of the NA issues.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



3x3cutioner #9 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 14:07

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 29767 battles
  • 37
  • [BOER] BOER
  • Member since:
    04-26-2014

There are a few reasosn we would like to transfer

1. Ping will drop from 320-330 to 200-220

2. Timezones as our time for strongholds only start @ 22:00

3. No clan wars due to timezones as we have to start playing @ 3:00 in the morning.

4  And when we started playing Wot says the correct server is NA as it should have said EU.

5. I am not starting a new account as I have a 180 tanks with some rare premium tanks 

 

 



The_Illusive_Man #10 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 14:11

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 13021 battles
  • 3,817
  • Member since:
    08-30-2014
Guys, this isnt about a transfer, rather the ability to switch regions without installing the whole game for that region...

3x3cutioner #11 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 14:19

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 29767 battles
  • 37
  • [BOER] BOER
  • Member since:
    04-26-2014

 Used region changer and could connect to ru5 server how was that possible if it is beyond their scope for NA to EU?

They would not do something like this because people would be able to play on certain servers


Edited by 3x3cutioner, Aug 27 2018 - 14:20.


The_Illusive_Man #12 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 14:20

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 13021 battles
  • 3,817
  • Member since:
    08-30-2014

View Post3x3cutioner, on Aug 27 2018 - 10:19, said:

 Used region changer and could connect to ru5 server how was that possible if it is beyond their scope for NA to EU?

 

Region changer is for all servers....

3x3cutioner #13 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 14:22

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 29767 battles
  • 37
  • [BOER] BOER
  • Member since:
    04-26-2014
Use region changer use your NA Details and connect to RU5

The_Illusive_Man #14 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 14:24

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 13021 battles
  • 3,817
  • Member since:
    08-30-2014

View Post3x3cutioner, on Aug 27 2018 - 10:22, said:

Use region changer use your NA Details and connect to RU5

 

You would still need an account for that region....

PuddleSplasher #15 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 14:27

    Major

  • Players
  • 38131 battles
  • 2,992
  • Member since:
    07-11-2011

View PostDain_Ironfoot_, on Aug 27 2018 - 12:35, said:

Just curious...  Would it not suck to be playing on the EU server with the high ping and everything?

 

Nope, I reside within the UK and play on the NA server as thats where I was directed to play this game from a few guys I played another game with. So no, my ping would DECREASE

3x3cutioner #16 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 14:28

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 29767 battles
  • 37
  • [BOER] BOER
  • Member since:
    04-26-2014

Just try it and see if it works.

What im trying to say it can be done.

It should be implemented so you can play with 1 account on all servers.



Dain_Ironfoot_ #17 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 15:01

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 23786 battles
  • 2,319
  • [4HIM] 4HIM
  • Member since:
    05-14-2014

View PostPuddleSplasher, on Aug 27 2018 - 13:27, said:

 

Nope, I reside within the UK and play on the NA server as thats where I was directed to play this game from a few guys I played another game with. So no, my ping would DECREASE

 

That's weird... how did that happen?  I would think after a few hundred matches, let alone 30k, you would start to wonder why you were on the US server when you live in the UK...?

 

View PostKehox, on Aug 27 2018 - 12:44, said:

 

between high ping or an army of red ketchup during every x5 weekend ... i think at this point...it wouldnt change that much...

 

I think with the much higher population you would have a larger chance of having matches with many more horrible players.



kebab6597 #18 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 15:26

    Major

  • Players
  • 57201 battles
  • 9,003
  • [D-DAY] D-DAY
  • Member since:
    04-16-2011

View PostDain_Ironfoot_, on Aug 27 2018 - 12:35, said:

Just curious...  Would it not suck to be playing on the EU server with the high ping and everything?

 

There are thousands of players from Africa the Middle East and Europe stuck on the NA server so it would be much better for them

xrays_ #19 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 15:41

    Major

  • Players
  • 50647 battles
  • 4,099
  • [FELOW] FELOW
  • Member since:
    08-02-2013

View Post3x3cutioner, on Aug 27 2018 - 08:28, said:

Just try it and see if it works.

What im trying to say it can be done.

It should be implemented so you can play with 1 account on all servers.

 

You're missing the point... It doesn't work because each region has it's own account list.

 

Yes, it can be done, though it would be a lot of work because of the above statement - each server would have to migrate other servers' data each time a player wanted to hop to a new region, or they would have to synchronize across all servers daily. This is precisely the headache they don't want to deal with.

 

Whether it should or shouldn't, it's not happening any time soon; WG EU has gone so far as to say they don't want the influx, and WG NA has said they don't want to lose players. This means an account created on the NA server is likely stuck there until the end of time, or the end of the server's life - barring any future changes in attitude across all regions.

 

You are free to think simply and believe it's an easy process to just move data across servers so people can play where they want. In theory, sure, it's not a difficult process, but in practice, because of the millions of accounts, the diversity of regional servers, the difference in the way they are run, the varying prices for goods between regions, and many more reasons, it is a nightmare.

 

x.



Nefermandias #20 Posted Aug 27 2018 - 16:23

    Captain

  • Players
  • 33380 battles
  • 1,492
  • Member since:
    09-11-2011

Wargaming already said that region roaming would never be a feature. It's the only time I'll ever take their word for anything.

 

Drop it.

 





Reply to this topic



  
For security reasons, please do not provide your personal data or the personal data of a third party here because we might be unable to protect such data in accordance with the Wargaming Privacy Policy.


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users