Jump to content


LAG or why can WG not figure out how to fix it


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

NeroGermanicus #1 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 20:58

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 45550 battles
  • 1,333
  • [HAX] HAX
  • Member since:
    09-03-2014

Three times today when in battle my game lags and I get killed. It only does it when enemy tanks are close by. You would think that this could be fixed by now? And, no it isn't throughout the game it is only when enemy tanks are near that it does this. No I will not go to the effort to do a stupid ping plotter as my ping never drops below 25 when the lag hits. This just frustrates the living crap out of me. FIX YOUR BROKEN GAME!

 

ETA: One game this afternoon I got hit by arty and tracked. It triggered a cool down on my repair kit, that is a real nice touch WG.


Edited by NeroGermanicus, Sep 16 2018 - 20:59.


Nudnick #2 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 21:01

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 24838 battles
  • 3,782
  • Member since:
    01-06-2013
Low ping is good, do you mean FPS drops ? I played all weekend without a single problem, from Florida.

NeroGermanicus #3 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 21:11

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 45550 battles
  • 1,333
  • [HAX] HAX
  • Member since:
    09-03-2014

View PostNudnick, on Sep 16 2018 - 14:01, said:

Low ping is good, do you mean FPS drops ? I played all weekend without a single problem, from Florida.

 

Nope frame rate stays right at 70-80 fps. I just totally lose control over the tank for 5-10 seconds.

VooDooKobra #4 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 21:21

    Major

  • Players
  • 8373 battles
  • 4,054
  • [MOVE] MOVE
  • Member since:
    04-23-2011

Lag is always a fun topic

 

Nero, do you play wifi or lan cable, where is your internet modem?  does your computer pick bad times to do scans?  what graphics level to you play at?

 

 



xrays_ #5 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 21:23

    Major

  • Players
  • 49102 battles
  • 3,896
  • [FELOW] FELOW
  • Member since:
    08-02-2013

View PostNeroGermanicus, on Sep 16 2018 - 14:58, said:

And, no it isn't throughout the game it is only when enemy tanks are near that it does this.

No I will not go to the effort to do a stupid ping plotter as my ping never drops below 25 when the lag hits.

 

You probably don't want to hear it, but it seems more like it's a "you" problem than the game itself. Thousands of players continue to play without any technical problems, and what you are describing is less likely an internet problem to begin with. Have you tried replacing or cleaning your hard drive? Use and SSD instead? Have you checked your router lately? Plus, refusal to trace back the problem(s) is indicative of a person that just doesn't care enough to find the problem, but instead just wants someone else to fix it, for free.

 

x.



Nudnick #6 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 21:27

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 24838 battles
  • 3,782
  • Member since:
    01-06-2013

View PostNeroGermanicus, on Sep 16 2018 - 21:11, said:

 

Nope frame rate stays right at 70-80 fps. I just totally lose control over the tank for 5-10 seconds.

 

That used to happen with my stone age computer, the video card would freeze up. So far no problems with the new one.

HOTA_CHATON #7 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 21:36

    Major

  • Players
  • 12650 battles
  • 13,656
  • [GOLB] GOLB
  • Member since:
    09-28-2011

View PostNeroGermanicus, on Sep 16 2018 - 13:58, said:

Three times today when in battle my game lags and I get killed. It only does it when enemy tanks are close by. You would think that this could be fixed by now? And, no it isn't throughout the game it is only when enemy tanks are near that it does this. No I will not go to the effort to do a stupid ping plotter as my ping never drops below 25 when the lag hits. This just frustrates the living crap out of me. FIX YOUR BROKEN GAME!

 

ETA: One game this afternoon I got hit by arty and tracked. It triggered a cool down on my repair kit, that is a real nice touch WG.

 

Check to see if you have auto update on the game center.  Sometimes that can effect lag and ping.  Turn if off before you log into play and pay a few then go back turn it back on and see if it made any difference.

NeroGermanicus #8 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 21:36

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 45550 battles
  • 1,333
  • [HAX] HAX
  • Member since:
    09-03-2014

View PostVooDooKobra, on Sep 16 2018 - 14:21, said:

Lag is always a fun topic

 

Nero, do you play wifi or lan cable, where is your internet modem?  does your computer pick bad times to do scans?  what graphics level to you play at?

 

 

I play with medium graphics setting on a 5 year old Alienware computer, modem is a good Motorolla SURFboard connected directly to the router via cable which is an ASUS Gigabit router. It does not always happen, seems like only when certain players get near me. Internet is plenty fast I think.



NeroGermanicus #9 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 21:37

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 45550 battles
  • 1,333
  • [HAX] HAX
  • Member since:
    09-03-2014

View PostHOTA_CHATON, on Sep 16 2018 - 14:36, said:

 

Check to see if you have auto update on the game center.  Sometimes that can effect lag and ping.  Turn if off before you log into play and pay a few then go back turn it back on and see if it made any difference.

 

Auto update is set for 12am.

Edited by NeroGermanicus, Sep 16 2018 - 21:38.


Nudnick #10 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 21:39

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 24838 battles
  • 3,782
  • Member since:
    01-06-2013

View PostNeroGermanicus, on Sep 16 2018 - 21:36, said:

I play with medium graphics setting on a 5 year old Alienware computer, modem is a good Motorolla SURFboard connected directly to the router via cable which is an ASUS Gigabit router. It does not always happen, seems like only when certain players get near me. Internet is plenty fast I think.

 

I have Xfinity too. When I have problems it's usually them. They swapped out the cable to my house last year, it was 30 years old.

NeroGermanicus #11 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 21:41

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 45550 battles
  • 1,333
  • [HAX] HAX
  • Member since:
    09-03-2014

View PostNudnick, on Sep 16 2018 - 14:27, said:

 

That used to happen with my stone age computer, the video card would freeze up. So far no problems with the new one.

 

Video card is a NVidia GeForce GTX660 with 16 gb of ram. Drivers are up to date.

Omega_Weapon #12 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 22:27

    Major

  • Players
  • 48509 battles
  • 2,064
  • [GRIEF] GRIEF
  • Member since:
    11-15-2011
I think Wargaming has already figured out their lag issues. They just don't want to spend the money to actually fix them.

tod914 #13 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 23:06

    Major

  • Players
  • 59307 battles
  • 4,336
  • Member since:
    12-23-2013

You can try this Nero.  If you haven't already. 

 

https://na.wargaming.../article/19117/

 


Edited by tod914, Sep 16 2018 - 23:08.


WhineMaker #14 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 23:13

    Major

  • Players
  • 34062 battles
  • 3,946
  • Member since:
    04-21-2011

View PostNeroGermanicus, on Sep 16 2018 - 12:41, said:

 

Video card is a NVidia GeForce GTX660 with 16 gb of ram. Drivers are up to date.

 

nVidia 660 is only 2gb

NeroGermanicus #15 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 23:16

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 45550 battles
  • 1,333
  • [HAX] HAX
  • Member since:
    09-03-2014

View PostWhineMaker, on Sep 16 2018 - 16:13, said:

 

nVidia 660 is only 2gb

 

Correct, I have 16gb of computer ram. I think 2gb should be plenty for medium settings though.

Shortcult #16 Posted Sep 16 2018 - 23:52

    Major

  • Players
  • 37134 battles
  • 5,281
  • Member since:
    08-21-2012

I have seen this too.  Currently as a matter of fact.  Mine seems more random or I don't pay enough attention to see the pattern.

 

It's not that I am unwilling to track it down, just tired of having to do so when I have before and no cure was ever found but damned if the problem didn't go away with the next micro patch.

 

My current solution is to fire up another game of equal or more intense graphics requirement.  Yes, that is not fool proof.  If I do not experience lag on that game I'm gonna assume it's not my equipment or my connection.  My opinion ping plotter is a waste of time, WG is not going to bat for just me to get better service.  Yeah, yeah, yeah "but if everyone reports it...", trust me, everyone isn't gonna.

 

There will be a quiet micro patch Nero that fixes both our experiences and it will never be discussed.



tod914 #17 Posted Sep 17 2018 - 01:20

    Major

  • Players
  • 59307 battles
  • 4,336
  • Member since:
    12-23-2013

View PostShortcult, on Sep 16 2018 - 17:52, said:

I have seen this too.  Currently as a matter of fact.  Mine seems more random or I don't pay enough attention to see the pattern.

 

It's not that I am unwilling to track it down, just tired of having to do so when I have before and no cure was ever found but damned if the problem didn't go away with the next micro patch.

 

My current solution is to fire up another game of equal or more intense graphics requirement.  Yes, that is not fool proof.  If I do not experience lag on that game I'm gonna assume it's not my equipment or my connection.  My opinion ping plotter is a waste of time, WG is not going to bat for just me to get better service.  Yeah, yeah, yeah "but if everyone reports it...", trust me, everyone isn't gonna.

 

There will be a quiet micro patch Nero that fixes both our experiences and it will never be discussed.

 

Your absolutely right Shortcut.  They won't do diddly.  But at least you can verify if it's a problem enroute to their server.  I;m in the same boat as you guys.  Recently, like in yesterday, I had horrific rng issues.  Today I reinstalled both the game and graphics driver.  Worked fine.  RNG was reasonable.  I don't know if some how the game files get corrupted.  But typically all those issues go away for a while with a fresh install for me. 

Edited by tod914, Sep 17 2018 - 03:47.


NeroGermanicus #18 Posted Sep 17 2018 - 03:03

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 45550 battles
  • 1,333
  • [HAX] HAX
  • Member since:
    09-03-2014

It had to be their server as I have had no issues for a few hours.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users