Tank 'Camo Rating/Coefficient'

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
23 replies to this topic

linoleumz #1 Posted Sep 12 2011 - 10:13

First lieutenant

• Players
  • 10801 battles
I've only recently started caring about this detail since I started riding in a tier 4 scouting tank (M5), so I apologize if this has been brought up before, but from what I understand from the wiki (and that 'WoT Secrets' thread on the EU forums) is that each tank has its own unique 'Camouflage Coefficient' which influences how close the enemy must be in order to spot the tank. Now, previously these values were revealed (not by devs, but by resourceful players if I'm not mistaken) for each tank, but these values have allegedly been 'readjusted' since 6.4 and the current values are yet unknown. My biggest question is this: Why must these ratings be kept hidden? For such a crucial characteristic to be concealed from the players is beyond my comprehension, you might as well hide View Range and Radio Range while you're at it, what difference would it make? If anyone has a better understanding of this situation, any comments would be greatly appreciated :Smile_honoring: .

For those who may not be aware of what I'm talking about, the explanation in the wiki can be found here.
You can see the previous Camo Coefficients at http://www.wotdb.info/, just click on the tank than click the 'More Info' tab (it's called "Invisibility Factor").

As an example, the A-20 had a 'still' Invisibility Factor of 0.44 (1.0 being the best) while the M5 Stuart had 0.15 (equal to the M3 Lee...). I would really like to know how they 'readjusted' some of these >.>'

Panther2NZ #2 Posted Sep 12 2011 - 10:42

Staff sergeant

• Players
  • 10123 battles
meh camo is absolutely useless in this current state of the game.... first they need to fix how tanks are sighted then work on how camo actually works.

dolph #3 Posted Sep 12 2011 - 12:22

First lieutenant

• Players