Jump to content


Tried reinstalling wot after the update, keep on getting "force shutdown"


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

waikin_umu #1 Posted Oct 25 2018 - 21:31

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 11974 battles
  • 84
  • [GIVUP] GIVUP
  • Member since:
    08-01-2017

I was running into errors trying to update my client today, so I tried reinstalling... Unfortunately now I can't even start the actual installation of the game files. 

 

Link to screenshot of what I see: https://imgur.com/a/VX1jKmt


Edited by waikinboom2, Oct 25 2018 - 21:33.


lenticular #2 Posted Jan 11 2019 - 17:43

    Captain

  • Players
  • 42105 battles
  • 1,425
  • [SLAPM] SLAPM
  • Member since:
    06-08-2012
I'm getting the same. Was excited to see your post, not so excited zero replies. :(

dstud208 #3 Posted Jan 11 2019 - 20:20

    Captain

  • Players
  • 17814 battles
  • 1,811
  • [-BRO] -BRO
  • Member since:
    10-15-2012
Could be one of two things:

1 - restart you computer, or open activity monitor and look for wot processes and kill them

2 - background files are no longer linked to the game (preferences and junk) i made a utility that helps with that, you can find a download link in my signature (takes you to the forum page on how to get/use it) if you are ok downloading it, just go to the WOT tab and click “reset wrapper” that should do it.

If you don’t want to use my utility, still click the link in my sig, and the page it takes you to will have instructions on how to do it yourself. Use the spoiler buttons to “reveal” the reset wrapper one and it should be in there. Though I’ll admit it’s heen a while since I’ve updated that page so it might be hiding. Either way you’ll need to go into your ~Library/ folder and delet a bunch of preferences and application support stuff.

dstud208 #4 Posted Jan 11 2019 - 20:25

    Captain

  • Players
  • 17814 battles
  • 1,811
  • [-BRO] -BRO
  • Member since:
    10-15-2012
Or go to the wot -> troubleshooting tab(s) and click “fix shutting down bug” I forgot that was there haha.

Cactus_Green #5 Posted Feb 22 2019 - 11:58

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    02-22-2019

View Postdstud208, on Jan 11 2019 - 20:25, said:

Or go to the wot -> troubleshooting tab(s) and click “fix shutting down bug” I forgot that was there haha.

 

Wow I love you Dude!! Thanks so much for your tool.

 

I had for over a week "force shutting down" and rn I am downloading the game :)

 

Thank you !



__Parasite__ #6 Posted Feb 22 2019 - 16:11

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 27177 battles
  • 26
  • [LOU1] LOU1
  • Member since:
    03-31-2012

The easiest fix to this problem is to simply hold windows key and r key and then type in the run box   %appdata%   go to the wargaming folder and open, then select world of tanks and delete. then relaunch and all good again.

 


Edited by __Parasite__, Feb 22 2019 - 16:13.


black_colt #7 Posted Feb 23 2019 - 18:32

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 4135 battles
  • 2,885
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View Post__Parasite__, on Feb 22 2019 - 07:11, said:

The easiest fix to this problem is to simply hold windows key and r key and then type in the run box   %appdata%   go to the wargaming folder and open, then select world of tanks and delete. then relaunch and all good again.

 

 

This only applies when running MS Windows not macOS and the WoT Mac Wrapper.

 

The Studly Utility for macOS is an app that allows us to run several troubleshooting tasks with a click or two.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users