Jump to content


Special Missions: Second Battle of El Alamein


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

Gnomon #1 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 15:05

    Training & QA Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 783 battles
  • 369
  • [WGA] WGA
  • Member since:
    11-23-2015

HELLO AND GOOD MORNING TO YOU ALL!

 

CAPS!

 

I just wanted to let you know that, starting today and going until Nov. 11th, we are taking time to observe a key battle during World War II that took place in Egypt - the Second Battle of El Alamein. You can select one of the historical participant nations for a series of challenging missions. You can earn rewards such as consumables and a Garage Slot! 

 

But, please be aware, that you can only do missions for one of the two nations, but not both

 

While in-game, you need to first fulfill the conditions for the "Choose U.K." or "Choose Italy" missions. Once you select a mission and it is complete, you are committed to the remaining missions as that nation. 

 

If you've already played battles and are not sure which missions you have enabled, check the in-game client. Keep in mind, that it may take a few minutes for the missions to appear in the client after completing the "Choose" mission. 

 

Check out our article or open the spoiler below for more information - Special Missions: Second Battle of El Alamein

 

Second Battle of El Alamein

 



Mojo_Riesing #2 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 15:32

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 18126 battles
  • 847
  • [ACATS] ACATS
  • Member since:
    11-26-2011
Again, mixing this in a random battle or even Grand with the usual mix of nations just isn't the same as an actual Historical battle.  So, it's kind of a "whatever" for me.  Won't be going out of my way on this one either.

RBSPWAW #3 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 15:44

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 28175 battles
  • 95
  • [SPWAW] SPWAW
  • Member since:
    11-25-2011
Adding any “base capture” requirement is a no go for me. You just have no control over that ever happening.  It’s a terrible requirement considering how easy it is to do the other ones from the UK side.

FrozenKemp #4 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 16:16

    Major

  • Players
  • 49060 battles
  • 8,098
  • Member since:
    04-24-2011

View PostRBSPWAW, on Nov 01 2018 - 09:44, said:

Adding any “base capture” requirement is a no go for me. You just have no control over that ever happening. It’s a terrible requirement considering how easy it is to do the other ones from the UK side.

 

I think that's true and will really make people lean towards doing the UK missions over the Italian. 

apsen #5 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 16:17

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 132864 battles
  • 287
  • [FRI] FRI
  • Member since:
    07-29-2011

 

Is it possible to post the announcements BEFORE the missions go into effect?

 

So I actually do have a choice which nation I will have to do?

 



stevezaxx #6 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 16:35

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 38718 battles
  • 953
  • [COD] COD
  • Member since:
    08-02-2011

This is worse than the Phillipines mission, at least on that one I got something (oh BOY more flags) for being the target of every USA tank.

Now I get targeted by every UK tank out there and get NOTHING while I'm in my German tank.

 



apsen #7 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 16:36

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 132864 battles
  • 287
  • [FRI] FRI
  • Member since:
    07-29-2011

View PostFrozenKemp, on Nov 01 2018 - 10:16, said:

 

I think that's true and will really make people lean towards doing the UK missions over the Italian. 

 

Great, now I'm locked into the Italian missions... :(

 

Well, those rewards are only marginally better than no rewards at all so I guess I'm not doing them...

 



venom286 #8 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 16:52

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 39389 battles
  • 535
  • [FARTZ] FARTZ
  • Member since:
    11-08-2012
sounds great i wish i could get my mission tab to work :) its been stuck on loading screen for a few days 

Edited by venom286, Nov 01 2018 - 16:55.


apsen #9 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 17:08

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 132864 battles
  • 287
  • [FRI] FRI
  • Member since:
    07-29-2011

View Postvenom286, on Nov 01 2018 - 10:52, said:

sounds great i wish i could get my mission tab to work :) its been stuck on loading screen for a few days 

 

Delete the cache - fixed for me...

 



rockbutcher #10 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 17:12

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 19421 battles
  • 768
  • [69CBR] 69CBR
  • Member since:
    03-06-2015
"once per day" once again.  Dangit, I'm off hunting for two weeks tomorrow.  I guess I didn't need 6 UK flags anyway LOL  No great loss.

latvius #11 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 17:36

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 28239 battles
  • 51
  • [-DIG-] -DIG-
  • Member since:
    11-26-2013
Maybe the base capture is for those peeps that play tier 4 and can't kill a tank?  I know I will be playing the Brits.  6 consumables, a garage slot and some flags all for free what is their to complain about?

bravo9er #12 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 17:46

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 21573 battles
  • 476
  • [FATE] FATE
  • Member since:
    04-21-2013
Why is there a need to lock into one nation?  Why can't we do both?  It would help even out the tanks on the battlefield if we're allowed to do both nations, because right now there's too many of one nation and not enough of other.  I would actually do the second less popular nation if we can do both and that would help everyone out.

dnaman #13 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 17:48

    Captain

  • Players
  • 30447 battles
  • 1,450
  • [DBLTG] DBLTG
  • Member since:
    06-09-2013
Free stuff is always nice.  That being said, I DO wish that the system would warn you about these missions BEFORE you are automatically put into one because you played a tanknof the correct nation not realizing the import.  Last time I got opted into the American side when I would have chosen the Japanese side just because I happened to play an American tank before I realized the missions were there.

SgtFritz48 #14 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 19:10

    Private

  • Players
  • 15853 battles
  • 9
  • [B_B] B_B
  • Member since:
    06-14-2011

I can not tell which mission I selected, trying to do the British. I never did get the option to select

 

 

 



SgtFritz48 #15 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 19:15

    Private

  • Players
  • 15853 battles
  • 9
  • [B_B] B_B
  • Member since:
    06-14-2011
Can not tell which Mission I choose, I wanted the British. Its kind of confusing 

V_A_C_A #16 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 20:09

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 23612 battles
  • 1,890
  • Member since:
    06-02-2015
I don't know how hard would be what I'm suggesting now.
What about a little of History Work about those Real World Events?

For example: I'm researching about the "Gore Force" during the Battle of Kasserine Pass battle (Yes. The one of the Gore's Medal).
I'm not sure if it's a task for "The Chieftain's Hatch", or someone else, but I think it would be nice to see some cross-references of Real World and the game itself, sometimes.

I'm not criticizing anything. Just suggesting, OK? I'm not one of the salty mines. ;):medal:

makalu2k6 #17 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 20:17

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 65026 battles
  • 693
  • [CHKRA] CHKRA
  • Member since:
    07-09-2011
May be these are secret missions for sure but not special. At most Meh. You might want to revise the title saying that. "Top Secret Meh Missions". Again as everybody else saying please stop with these nation specific missions. 

Errants #18 Posted Nov 01 2018 - 20:45

    Captain

  • Players
  • 53762 battles
  • 1,941
  • Member since:
    08-29-2011
Another voice chiming in with a complaint over the dissimilar mission difficulties for the same rewards.

Crabalanche #19 Posted Nov 02 2018 - 00:33

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 51095 battles
  • 53
  • [-BTU-] -BTU-
  • Member since:
    05-24-2014
Also locked into the crappy Italy missions. Would of been nice to know this before the event started. I for sure would of picked the much easier British side. 

EmperorJuliusCaesar #20 Posted Nov 02 2018 - 02:24

    Major

  • Players
  • 30796 battles
  • 4,868
  • [EOR] EOR
  • Member since:
    03-16-2014

View Postlatvius, on Nov 01 2018 - 23:36, said:

Maybe the base capture is for those peeps that play tier 4 and can't kill a tank?  I know I will be playing the Brits.  6 consumables, a garage slot and some flags all for free what is their to complain about?

 

This is NA man......whining and complaining is their thing.  And they somehow wonder why WG doesn't listen to them.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users