Jump to content


Bootcamping Windows XP?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

GN_78 #1 Posted Nov 12 2018 - 17:51

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 33
  • Member since:
    05-27-2018

Recently, I managed to get access to an old windows XP licence. May I ask if it is feasible to bootcamp Windows XP on my 120gb MAC? Like, give the windows partition 80gb. Cos I’ve heard that XP only takes up around 1.5 to 3.5gb of space. Thanks for any help!



Insanefriend #2 Posted Nov 12 2018 - 18:14

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 41361 battles
  • 859
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

Should go ask on a mac forum might get better replies there.  

 



black_colt #3 Posted Nov 12 2018 - 18:41

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3955 battles
  • 2,782
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostGN_78, on Nov 12 2018 - 08:51, said:

Recently, I managed to get access to an old windows XP licence. May I ask if it is feasible to bootcamp Windows XP on my 120gb MAC? Like, give the windows partition 80gb. Cos I’ve heard that XP only takes up around 1.5 to 3.5gb of space. Thanks for any help!

 

Is the license for a Retail version or Upgrade version?  You cannot use the Upgrade version.

 

80GB may be enough - fortunately if it is not enough you can reclaim that space for macOS.

 

Here is a YouTube video showing how to install MS Windows XP on a machine running macOS - https://www.youtube....h?v=bz9y2DIRWZc



The_Illusive_Man #4 Posted Nov 12 2018 - 18:49

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 12923 battles
  • 3,280
  • Member since:
    08-30-2014

First, WHY would you want to? XP and Vista are horrible. Both will get you hacked pretty quick. There is nothing in either OS that you would need, that you cant get in newer, more safe OS's.

Second, yes, you can bootcamp windows OS's on macs. But see my first point on that.

 

So, while you can, you shouldnt, its a very bad idea. Some ISP's will even block your PC from working if you run those OS's......



dnaman #5 Posted Nov 12 2018 - 19:21

    Captain

  • Players
  • 30862 battles
  • 1,597
  • [CRZY] CRZY
  • Member since:
    06-09-2013

I’m running Windows 7 on a 2007 Mac Pro with 12GB of RAM and a 650Ti graphics card.  This setup works although it is NOT Apple supported.  The install was a pain.  I had to take the boot sector from an XP install disk and make a hybrid disk with that for the boot camp installer to recognize and allow the install to proceed but then it was actually windows 7 installing.  XP is not a 64 bit OS and will therefore not allow you to recognize more than 2GB of RAM (at least the Apple supported install I would have been forced to run) and 2GB ISN’T enough.  The lag spikes will kill you and it will be from your actual computer trying to deal with the OS and the game.  

 

So short answer, yes, you can probably run XP on that setup, but likely you’ll be screwed with the game working ok if at all.  If you’re running a Mac Pro, there are options to do what I did.  You can message me and I can try to help.  

 

Good luck.

 

DNA



GN_78 #6 Posted Nov 13 2018 - 12:03

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 33
  • Member since:
    05-27-2018
Ah, I see. I am running a Mac book air 2011 model with 4gb of ram and 120gb of storage. 

GN_78 #7 Posted Nov 13 2018 - 12:03

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 33
  • Member since:
    05-27-2018

View Postdnaman, on Nov 12 2018 - 19:21, said:

I’m running Windows 7 on a 2007 Mac Pro with 12GB of RAM and a 650Ti graphics card.  This setup works although it is NOT Apple supported.  The install was a pain.  I had to take the boot sector from an XP install disk and make a hybrid disk with that for the boot camp installer to recognize and allow the install to proceed but then it was actually windows 7 installing.  XP is not a 64 bit OS and will therefore not allow you to recognize more than 2GB of RAM (at least the Apple supported install I would have been forced to run) and 2GB ISN’T enough.  The lag spikes will kill you and it will be from your actual computer trying to deal with the OS and the game.  

 

So short answer, yes, you can probably run XP on that setup, but likely you’ll be screwed with the game working ok if at all.  If you’re running a Mac Pro, there are options to do what I did.  You can message me and I can try to help.  

 

Good luck.

 

DNA

 

I read somewhere that it recognises up to 4gb of Ram max, is that true? 



black_colt #8 Posted Nov 13 2018 - 22:20

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3955 battles
  • 2,782
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostGN_78, on Nov 13 2018 - 03:03, said:

 

I read somewhere that it recognises up to 4gb of Ram max, is that true? 

 

I have no idea - I recommend that you ask that question in one of the other Forums.

 

 

 



black_colt #9 Posted Nov 13 2018 - 22:22

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3955 battles
  • 2,782
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostGN_78, on Nov 13 2018 - 03:03, said:

Ah, I see. I am running a Mac book air 2011 model with 4gb of ram and 120gb of storage. 

 

As Apple no longer supports the installation of MS Windows XP I recommend that you obtain a activation license for MS Windows 7 which is supported.

 

This may help - https://support.micr...using-boot-camp

 


Edited by black_colt, Nov 13 2018 - 22:24.


GN_78 #10 Posted Nov 14 2018 - 05:06

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 33
  • Member since:
    05-27-2018
The problem with Windows 7 is that it requires around 15gb of space while xp only needs 1.5 gb of space. I think if I bootcamp windows 7 there may not be enough space for WoT.

black_colt #11 Posted Nov 15 2018 - 17:48

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3955 battles
  • 2,782
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostGN_78, on Nov 13 2018 - 20:06, said:

The problem with Windows 7 is that it requires around 15gb of space while xp only needs 1.5 gb of space. I think if I bootcamp windows 7 there may not be enough space for WoT.

 

You could install macOS on an external drive and boot from there - e.g. 512GB SSD through a ThunderBolt 1 cable to the ThunderBolt port on your 2011 MacBook Air - and then install MS Windows 7 or later using BootCamp when booted from the external drive.

 

I do this when I am running Developer builds of macOS.






3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users