Jump to content


Any plans to to repair arty aim point algorithm?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

What_hit_me #1 Posted Dec 17 2018 - 08:24

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 7900 battles
  • 4
  • [PERCH] PERCH
  • Member since:
    02-26-2017
These last two patches have affected arty aim to a horrendous degree. When using impact aim point, not the overhead "God View", when you are attempting to place the cursor on on a vehicle the aiming algorithm "grabs" the aim point and sticks it to an aim point on a terrain feature either below the vehicle or above it. Just try shooting at vehicles on the road alongside the cliffs on the 9 line when you are on the Glacier map. Go ahead; I dare you. You aim to just clear one of the hills beside the cliff road and drop a shot in and the aim mechanics grab your aim point and drags it to the top of the cliff! And before you say anything, I run no Mods and have never installed any. Nothing except WoT code in my game installation folder. The algorithm is busted. When will it be fixed?

V_A_C_A #2 Posted Dec 17 2018 - 12:04

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 23782 battles
  • 1,967
  • Member since:
    06-02-2015
This is like that since the Patch 9.18.
The WG Battle Assistant is different from the original Battle Assistant on that aspect.

Runcible #3 Posted Dec 20 2018 - 00:38

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 27617 battles
  • 47
  • Member since:
    11-25-2014
I have the same issue...and no,it's not been this way forever. since last patch,the aim point has been going nuts...especially if you aim inside a large open door or window in a structure.the aiming algorithm is treating the entire outer "shape" of the structure as terrain,as if it were a wall or impenetrable object.even large rock overhangs,will cause the aimpoint to jump.

Mystic45 #4 Posted Dec 20 2018 - 08:57

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 34077 battles
  • 19
  • Member since:
    11-17-2013
Amen to the comments above.  Frustrating in the extreme not to be able to help your team when it's really needed.

ImaKillYou #5 Posted Dec 20 2018 - 10:37

    Captain

  • Players
  • 27403 battles
  • 1,218
  • [-GENT] -GENT
  • Member since:
    04-25-2011
This can't be true, all the arty whiners say arty is laser accurate and never misses......

DoAhn #6 Posted Dec 20 2018 - 17:39

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 51410 battles
  • 23
  • Member since:
    01-22-2016
Only noticed this problem when version 1.3 came out. Pilsen and Glacier, among others, are now virtually unplayable. Have advised WG that I will log into the game again only after this problem has been fixed. Advise you do the same.

bolter_252 #7 Posted Dec 23 2018 - 20:46

    Private

  • Players
  • 56117 battles
  • 1
  • [ICED] ICED
  • Member since:
    04-05-2014
. All the same aiming issues, In addition the sound cuts in and out all the time.  Total Frustration with arty. :angry:.   Fun factor has gone down to Zero! 

__TOP__ #8 Posted Dec 28 2018 - 04:32

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 51962 battles
  • 953
  • Member since:
    03-20-2012

After the last update the dispersion of the arty shot is excessive.
It worsens with the artillery that has a greater vertical angle.
Fix it or publish the nerf.

 



What_hit_me #9 Posted Dec 30 2018 - 23:34

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 7900 battles
  • 4
  • [PERCH] PERCH
  • Member since:
    02-26-2017

View Post__TOP__, on Dec 28 2018 - 04:32, said:

After the last update the dispersion of the arty shot is excessive.
It worsens with the artillery that has a greater vertical angle.
Fix it or publish the nerf.

 

 

Dispersion is a different subject. Still a valid subject, but different than what was talking about.  :-)

What_hit_me #10 Posted Dec 30 2018 - 23:56

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 7900 battles
  • 4
  • [PERCH] PERCH
  • Member since:
    02-26-2017

View PostImaKillYou, on Dec 20 2018 - 10:37, said:

This can't be true, all the arty whiners say arty is laser accurate and never misses......

 

Yeah the tin heads whine all the time with just about every other breath they take. "Invisible" TD's sniping them When the TD player has spent 10's of thousands of games to work up a crew to awesome skill levels; "Unreachable" arty hitting them from across the map when they can spot arty and shoot us from 3/4 of the way across the map while we can't see a darn thing unless it is right beside us. Derp gun load times, no armor to speak of since your a 2 shot from any light tank you get matched up to, blind as a bat, and completely dependent on the tin heads to actually know enough to not snatch defeat from the jaws of victory. I've got a couple of Mastery on my arty where the tin heads lost despite me having an awesome game.

If they had real air support in this game they would whine about that too. Screw it. Maybe in World of Warships they respect gunnery. They sure do not in World of Tanks.

(Deep breath.... Yes, I'm still frustrated by this.)



What_hit_me #11 Posted Dec 30 2018 - 23:59

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 7900 battles
  • 4
  • [PERCH] PERCH
  • Member since:
    02-26-2017

View PostRuncible, on Dec 20 2018 - 00:38, said:

I have the same issue...and no,it's not been this way forever. since last patch,the aim point has been going nuts...especially if you aim inside a large open door or window in a structure.the aiming algorithm is treating the entire outer "shape" of the structure as terrain,as if it were a wall or impenetrable object.even large rock overhangs,will cause the aimpoint to jump.

 

Almost like the have a "snap to grid line" feature enabled. HEY! WoT! Check and see some dumb intern didn't leave a switch enabled, huh? Not too much trouble to check I hope?

bennyjw98 #12 Posted Jan 05 2019 - 00:45

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 9233 battles
  • 69
  • [WAFFE] WAFFE
  • Member since:
    07-17-2011
I have the exact same problem and it's absolutely frustrating on maps with a lot of buildings with insides or cliff overhangs, such as Glacier and I think Pilsen.
This is a game-breaking bug for artillery players because it moves the aim point exactly where you DON'T want it to be and you can't help teammates against targets near buildings and doorways.
WG PLEASE fix this new bug you made with the 1.3 update.

TallyNole #13 Posted Jan 24 2019 - 02:35

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 36167 battles
  • 328
  • [FGTVE] FGTVE
  • Member since:
    09-22-2013
I thought it was a mod I was using.  Is it a bug or an arty nerf.

DoAhn #14 Posted Jan 24 2019 - 05:23

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 51410 battles
  • 23
  • Member since:
    01-22-2016
 I sent in a ticket to WG support weeks ago with replays illustrating the problem. They acknowledged that their support team is aware of the issue, they just have not done anything about it. Perhaps WG, like Microsoft with older iterations of Windows, plans to get rid of arty by ceasing to fix bugs that affect only arty until arty players either shift class or leave. Seems like a bad strategy to me, but WG continues to bleed players, so maybe it is just business as usual.         

SquishySupreme #15 Posted Jan 27 2019 - 20:25

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 1469 battles
  • 162
  • Member since:
    10-29-2018
The issue is that despite what you see, the new engine is cutting massive corners and calculating the path as if you are in overhead mode despite what you see.  I have verified this by carefully aiming pixel by pixel and switching in and out of overhead mode - there is zero difference now.  So effectively ALL openings are opaque now.  If you can't hit it in overhead mode, manual aiming won't either.

DoAhn #16 Posted Jan 28 2019 - 03:53

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 51410 battles
  • 23
  • Member since:
    01-22-2016
The good news is that I just now played Pilsen on the test server in my Object 261 and the problem is fixed. No more difficulty aiming through an open warehouse door etc. Hope this means that the new patch will solve the problem. Keep your fingers crossed.

SquishySupreme #17 Posted Jan 31 2019 - 10:43

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 1469 battles
  • 162
  • Member since:
    10-29-2018
The issue is that openings are seen as opaque by the engine, so it may require manually fixing every map, though I hope it's not that arduous of a task.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users