Anyone know if this is a good deal? MSI GV62 8RE Laptop

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

Necrolegion #1 Posted Jan 20 2019 - 06:58

Major

• Players
  • 19965 battles

I start school soon. My old Asus laptop has been having problems that I haven't been able to identify (nor Asus support). I was looking for a laptop replacement when I found this deal.

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16834154830

Its $919 with taxes & shipping here in California and comes down to $770 with the $150 mail-in rebate from MSI. I'm a student and a gamer. I tend to game mostly on my desktop at home, but occasionally game at school or friend's houses. IDK if this is a good investment or if I should instead try to fix my laptop or find a better deal. I mostly play WoT, Overwatch, GTA V, Borderlands (all of them), The Division and soon to be Ace Combat 7.

Thanks!

AudDog_56 #2 Posted Jan 20 2019 - 08:05

Sergeant

• -Players-
  • 11668 battles
  • [GST] GST

I am not a computer guy and far to old to be a student,  so my perspective may not apply to you, take this reply with  grain of salt. A lot of trying to fix the old computer will depend an its age and how much of an upgrade you can afford for a new purchase. As a general rule in is not wise to fix the old one. What was top of the line 2 -4 years ago in now mid range and the price of comparable components has come down as they are no longer the new best thing.