Veteran Tankers

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

CardboardJedi #21 Posted Feb 10 2019 - 20:59

First lieutenant

• Players
  • 12492 battles
  • [DDVR] DDVR
I'm was a Jarhead grunt in the 90's, so mostly I got around in USMC issued Cadillacs. Did walk by a tank once at CAX though

The_Pushok #22 Posted Feb 10 2019 - 21:25

Captain

• -Players-
  • 13985 battles
  • [H-UNT] H-UNT

I walked around a bunch of tanks on a RORO, so I know what I am talking about, lol.

dunniteowl #23 Posted Feb 11 2019 - 00:33

Major

• -Players-
  • 26338 battles

View PostOrtinoth_, on Feb 10 2019 - 08:22, said:

Most Vets use their combat military experience to relate to things, and i am disappointed at your statements as a veteran myself. So you didn't serve for other vets to help protect their freedoms as well as citizens? Then i should ask why did you serve in the USAF as you state? I believe you swore an oath that says do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; 

This Oath, that I also took, had and has NOTHING WHATSOEVER for my reasons for having served.  I served for my own reasons and my own purposes.  If I ended up defending the Freedoms and Liberties of my fellow citizens, it would have been an accidental overlap based on my nation's purposes and intents dovetailing with actually defending those.

Without going into it, I don't believe the US armed forces have served the purpose of defending those freedoms and liberties since 1945.  I may even be wrong on that count and may have to push it back to 1918.

Even so, what you believe, what I believe or what the vast majority of those who serve believe in that regard STILL HAS NOTHING TO DO with why I served.  It would have been, as I first said, a side benefit.