Jump to content


Are there known router settings that result in Server drops every few minutes?


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

Rafinesque #1 Posted Mar 15 2019 - 22:48

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 30039 battles
  • 56
  • Member since:
    06-04-2014

I just moved and "upgraded" my internet connection in the new house to Spectrum's high-speed cable (i.e. >400 MBs), and while all other internet things work fine, WoT and WoW both will only sustain connections to their servers for a few minutes at most before they disconnect.  I can see by turning on the Task Manager that the Ethernet connection simply stops communicating for several seconds and that triggers the drop. 

Didn't have this problem with my old Spectrum 50 MBS system. 

Any advice?

 



dnaman #2 Posted Mar 15 2019 - 22:54

    Captain

  • Players
  • 32157 battles
  • 1,821
  • [CRZY] CRZY
  • Member since:
    06-09-2013
Do you have the ports open that they want to use?  Can’t recall what Inés those are right now, but tech support or a quick google of what they are should find them.  

TDRHooRaH #3 Posted Mar 15 2019 - 22:55

    Major

  • Players
  • 23966 battles
  • 4,613
  • Member since:
    09-21-2012

I dunno man...

 

What fixes have you tried?



TDRHooRaH #4 Posted Mar 15 2019 - 23:08

    Major

  • Players
  • 23966 battles
  • 4,613
  • Member since:
    09-21-2012

View Postdnaman, on Mar 15 2019 - 16:54, said:

Do you have the ports open that they want to use?  Can’t recall what Inés those are right now, but tech support or a quick google of what they are should find them.  

 

https://asia.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/article/22069/

 

Is this it?



dnaman #5 Posted Mar 15 2019 - 23:35

    Captain

  • Players
  • 32157 battles
  • 1,821
  • [CRZY] CRZY
  • Member since:
    06-09-2013
From the Asia server, but I believe the ports are probably the same across all servers.  Customer support was actually helpful with this stuff when I ran into issues forever ago. 

Insanefriend #6 Posted Mar 15 2019 - 23:55

    Captain

  • Players
  • 45379 battles
  • 1,673
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

I'm pretty certain ports are not the problem, as your connecting in the first place.  If ports were a problem you'd get no connection at all, as that is what port blocking does.

 

Sound more like it's a hardware problem, what have you tried thus far to get it working?

 

Is it just WoT and WoW that have problems or are other game effected?



Lucid_Nonsense_1 #7 Posted Mar 16 2019 - 01:36

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 7227 battles
  • 312
  • [4RENB] 4RENB
  • Member since:
    05-22-2018
Are you just getting server teleports with the tank jumping a bit? I get that a fair bit in FL when there are a few wheeled tanks around. I think it's just WG's servers struggling.

Rafinesque #8 Posted Mar 16 2019 - 01:45

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 30039 battles
  • 56
  • Member since:
    06-04-2014

Just to clarify. The game loads normally and runs fine for a few minutes, then simply disconnects.  I can see the network traffic go to zero for several seconds when this happens if I use the Task Manager.

 


 

I have not tried any other online game to see if it is a universal problem, but I have used the same notebook computer at the old house and while travelling and never saw this problem.  The only new variable is Spectrum's internet connection. I'll bring the notebook to a coffee-house over the weekend and confirm it does work with other networks and/or other hardware.

I don't THINK it is related, but to add some clarity I am running WoT/WoW on a recent iMac and MacBook using modern versions of Parallels.  The iMac is running Windows 8 (I know, I know...) and the MacBook is running Win 10.  To repeat, both these configurations worked just fine in the past on different router/networks.


 


 



Insanefriend #9 Posted Mar 16 2019 - 02:14

    Captain

  • Players
  • 45379 battles
  • 1,673
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

Is the router the same or is it a different router?  Are you using a hard line connection or wifi?  Is it a different modem or is it the same as before?

 

Wifi can be terrible, which is why most people avoid using it for gaming.


Edited by Insanefriend, Mar 16 2019 - 02:16.


The_Illusive_Man #10 Posted Mar 16 2019 - 03:41

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 13312 battles
  • 4,261
  • Member since:
    08-30-2014

Like insane said, WIFI or Wired?

 

Other than that, try to see if there is an driver updates. After that, delete your %appdata%\wargaming.net (worldoftanks) folder. The new location might have caused some issues......



Rafinesque #11 Posted Mar 16 2019 - 03:56

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 30039 battles
  • 56
  • Member since:
    06-04-2014

The modem and router are both different than the previous in-home units.  Connection dropping happens over the wireless as well as direct ethernet cable (via Apple Thunderbolt adapter) to the router.  

Thanks for the thoughts, keep them coming!

 



Insanefriend #12 Posted Mar 16 2019 - 03:57

    Captain

  • Players
  • 45379 battles
  • 1,673
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

It might be the connection to the house, check out ping plotter.  https://na.wargaming.../article/19117/

 

Good chance it's the crappy rental hardware you got from your isp.

 


Edited by Insanefriend, Mar 16 2019 - 03:57.


The_Illusive_Man #13 Posted Mar 16 2019 - 04:00

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 13312 battles
  • 4,261
  • Member since:
    08-30-2014

View PostRafinesque, on Mar 15 2019 - 23:56, said:

The modem and router are both different than the previous in-home units.  Connection dropping happens over the wireless as well as direct ethernet cable (via Apple Thunderbolt adapter) to the router.  

Thanks for the thoughts, keep them coming!

 

 

Run the ping plotter like insane said, and post screenies here. I know how to read them. Generally, the first ip will be 192.168.0.1, so you dont need to block that out (first IP's are almost always private IP's, so its irrelevent anyways). DO THIS ONLY OVER WIRED!!

Edited by The_Illusive_Man, Mar 16 2019 - 04:01.


Rafinesque #14 Posted Mar 16 2019 - 04:18

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 30039 battles
  • 56
  • Member since:
    06-04-2014
The connection to the house is a real possibility.  The underground line connection at the street was found to be cut when the installer came and a second team had to run a patch/jumper line from the nearest good connection a few houses down.  That patch line is still in use.

Insanefriend #15 Posted Mar 16 2019 - 04:26

    Captain

  • Players
  • 45379 battles
  • 1,673
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

View PostThe_Illusive_Man, on Mar 15 2019 - 21:00, said:

Run the ping plotter like insane said, and post screenies here. I know how to read them. Generally, the first ip will be 192.168.0.1, so you dont need to block that out (first IP's are almost always private IP's, so its irrelevent anyways). DO THIS ONLY OVER WIRED!!

 

Ew 192.168.0.1, I prefer 192.168.1.1, though I think I set the printer to 192.168.1.100



Rafinesque #16 Posted Mar 16 2019 - 05:26

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 30039 battles
  • 56
  • Member since:
    06-04-2014

Ran the IPs given in your link to the WoT help webpage.  

 



 

Attached Files

  • Attached File   WoT Server MacBook Ethernet.JPG   65.2K

Edited by Rafinesque, Mar 16 2019 - 05:27.


The_Illusive_Man #17 Posted Mar 16 2019 - 13:19

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 13312 battles
  • 4,261
  • Member since:
    08-30-2014

View PostRafinesque, on Mar 16 2019 - 01:26, said:

Ran the IPs given in your link to the WoT help webpage.  

 



 

 

That looks alright, but only 1 hop.... Should be at least 6...... Also, reduce the interval to 2 seconds.

Edited by The_Illusive_Man, Mar 16 2019 - 13:19.


Insanefriend #18 Posted Mar 16 2019 - 14:02

    Captain

  • Players
  • 45379 battles
  • 1,673
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

View PostRafinesque, on Mar 15 2019 - 22:26, said:

Ran the IPs given in your link to the WoT help webpage.  

 

Yeah interesting you only got one hop, you should get quite a few more hops.  Do you use Discord for chat at all?  I can reply faster over discord then I can via the forums.  It's also easier to toss screen shots your way.



Rafinesque #19 Posted Mar 16 2019 - 17:45

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 30039 battles
  • 56
  • Member since:
    06-04-2014

Thanks to all for comments.  I will re-run tests with the interval set at 2 seconds later today.  Right now I'm about to see if a wireless connection at a local cafe will sustain a connection.  

 

 

Update:  cafe's "5G" connection is stable.  The default setting for my computer (i.e. MacBook Air running Windows 10 under Parallels using shared wireless connection) work just as they have everywhere else but with the new modem/router at home.

 

 


Edited by Rafinesque, Mar 16 2019 - 17:49.


NutrientibusMeaGallus #20 Posted Mar 16 2019 - 18:02

    Major

  • Players
  • 22674 battles
  • 5,663
  • [FILOX] FILOX
  • Member since:
    10-26-2012
    Don't connect via 5g. I ALWAYS get dropped connections and lag when i do, connect with 2.whatever it is instead and the lag should disappear.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users