My assessment of WoT Classic

WoT Classic World of Tanks Classic April Fools Game Mode Game Mode Feedback April Fools

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

Kulingile #1 Posted Mar 29 2019 - 21:52

Staff sergeant

• Players
  • 15875 battles
  • [_AKA_] _AKA_

World of Tanks Classic, Wargaming's 2019 April Fool's special event for World of Tanks.

I started playing World of Tanks in November 2013 in patch 0.8.9.  Since then, I've wondered about what it would have been like to play back in the days of the first replay files, Type 59 OP-ness, battles with 12 artillery per team, and the legendary KV.  When I first started playing, I was watching every informational video on WoT that I could get my hands on, including videos from the 0.7 versions of the game that illustrated the kinds of hilarity and frustration inflicted upon the players.

I remember what the game was like before physics.  I remember having my Renault FT stuck at a 40 degree angle because the game engine didn't allow it to tip over.  I remember the original T-50-2 circle strafing monster.  I remember the old artillery with its HEAT and AP.  I remember Swamp, Dragon Ridge, Northwest, Pearl River, Seaport, Komarin, South Coast, Hidden Village, the original Province, and the original Live Oaks.  I remember general chat and fail platoons.  I remember 5 artillery per team.  I remember KV-2s in tier 10 battles finishing with top damage and experience.  I remember the way the game used to be.