Has the most recent update of WoT caused a massive FPS drop for anyone else?

fps lag portal download

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

Bulbajer #1 Posted Mar 30 2019 - 03:00

Corporal

• -Players-
  • 6611 battles
  • [TECHW] TECHW

If it matters, I'm playing on the NA server.

Tonight I decided to try out WoT Classic, and in order to do so I was prompted to download the Wargaming Game Center portal. Sadly, Classic is down at the moment, so I settled for playing regular WoT. But downloading the portal apparently updated my regular WoT file as well. Once the game fully loaded, I noticed a very visible drop in FPS. Tried playing a match, and it was almost unplayable.

Lowering the graphics settings to Low or Minimum (I was on Medium) fixes the FPS problem, but it also makes the game look horrible. I've been playing WoT at Medium graphics settings for two years, and never had problems with FPS. So my conclusion is that the latest update (1.4.1.1297 according to the launcher) requires a heck of a lot more hard drive space. If so, that really sucks, because my laptop is supposed to be a gaming laptop! One of the reasons I got it was specifically because my old laptop couldn't handle World of Tanks, and now it seems like I might have to get a new one again to keep playing (either that or settle for crappy graphics). Please tell me I'm missing something.

P.S. When exactly did the latest update release? I know one was released yesterday (the 28th) that introduced the magic portal thingy (and doggy) in the background of the garage. I had no problem playing yesterday. Was there another mini-update today with the opening of WoT Classic? I'm assuming so, because otherwise my above theory about the FPS drop doesn't make much sense.

Laptop details:

Dell Inspiron 7559 running Windows 10 Home 64-bit

Processor: Intel Core i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz, 2601 Mhz, 4 Cores, 8 Logical Processors

Installed Physical Memory: 8 GB

Total Physical Memory: 7.87 GB