Noob Tomato

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

CannonTarget #1 Posted May 18 2019 - 03:56

Corporal

• -Players-
  • 3563 battles
  • [WCTNT] WCTNT

So, while I'm not a total NOOB, and I'm trying to get better, and failing.  And, playing matches is absolutely no fun, especially on weekends.

I'm trying to learn the basics, so I've got a Tier-2 tank I'm trying to play to grind up, to work on the basics.  I'm playing it because I suck (look at my stats, I really suck, and I'm not getting any better, if anything, I'm getting worse.)

So, I'm playing matches, and 2/3 of the players in the Tier-2 (with the occasional Tier-3 tanks thrown in) have > 50% win rates, and a WN8 > 4K, 25% of them over 6K. And, the toxicity of match is awful, with people [edited]about how bad the other players are when they die. Low tiers SHOULD be a place to learn, right?

Even if my team wins because we have more skilled players than the other team, I have no part in the success, or even get a chance to participate. I get killed almost immediately by a tank with a multiple skill crew, or by a Unicum who re-rolled his account so he could seal-club for fun.  I'm the seal, and I can tell you it's no fun to try and learn something, only to get killed less than 2 minutes into the match.  Or, if I camp, I live, but the game is over because we lost and I get killed by a 5 on 1, or we win and I haven't made a single shot.

My clan is great, and are very helpful, but because I suck, I can't be expected to spend all my hours on the game with them holding my hand, and at some point, I have to apply the things they are trying to teach me.  However, I don't have any place to be a noob and play against other noobs.  It's like I'm learning to drive by getting on a Nascar track.  I get run over, crash my car, and I'm in the garage before the first 10 laps are done.