Jump to content


Ticket: On Hold For 6 Days


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

Skyfrog #1 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 02:43

    Private

  • Players
  • 11206 battles
  • 7
  • [AAPOC] AAPOC
  • Member since:
    11-01-2013
I have had an open ticket for about a week and a half. The support staff continued to give me "copy and paste" troubleshooting solutions for several days even after I explained that all of those solutions were already tried. Finally, they put my ticket on hold. I assumed that they were going to move my ticket up the chain to get in depth help. Six days later I am still on hold. Is this similar to the length of time any of you have had to wait? 

Insanefriend #2 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 02:54

    Captain

  • Players
  • 45861 battles
  • 1,740
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012
Whats your ticket about?  Without and specifics it may very well be in line with the turn around time for the problem.  

Isola_di_Fano #3 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 03:02

    Major

  • Players
  • 24367 battles
  • 4,252
  • Member since:
    11-05-2012

Never EVER had to wait more than 72 hrs even in Holiday Season.

 

The only issues that I am aware will most likely take more than 3 days are money-related: credit card issues, payments issues.



Skyfrog #4 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 03:14

    Private

  • Players
  • 11206 battles
  • 7
  • [AAPOC] AAPOC
  • Member since:
    11-01-2013

Launcher Won't launch game.

 

Here is the same video I sent them.

 



Insanefriend #5 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 03:18

    Captain

  • Players
  • 45861 battles
  • 1,740
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

View PostSkyfrog, on Jun 15 2019 - 20:14, said:

Launcher Won't launch game.

 

Here is the same video I sent them.

 

That looks like it isn't finding the game exe in the folder it's installed in.  Did you try running check and repair from the launcher? 



Skyfrog #6 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 03:24

    Private

  • Players
  • 11206 battles
  • 7
  • [AAPOC] AAPOC
  • Member since:
    11-01-2013

Yes. I also uninstalled and reinstalled both the launcher and WoT several times as well as used CCleaner. I checked the registry and I am still coming up with the same issue.



jeb2 #7 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 03:24

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 50380 battles
  • 474
  • [HU] HU
  • Member since:
    08-07-2015

I submitted a Ticket and they took several replies before they agreed there was a problem - they said they had put it on hold and then it auto-closed anyway.

 

I submitted a new Ticket, referencing the old one and new evidence of the problem, and got the same incorrect response as the first time.  The rep obviously did not read the previous ticket, and maybe not even the one I submitted the second time.

 

Again, I replied, with more data, and after several iterations, they agreed they did not understand either and put this second one on hold.  Every 2 or 3 days I would submit a new reply with new screenshots, saying I was just ensuring it did not close.

 

After a little over a month, the reps came back and said that everything was operating correctly (they had talked with the devs).  The problem [i am paraphrasing content] is that the language and the math do not agree.  That is, the math is as intended, but the description is not accurate.  They apologized, gave me some reserves and 10 days extension of Premium as a gesture.  OK w/ me.



Insanefriend #8 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 03:30

    Captain

  • Players
  • 45861 battles
  • 1,740
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

View PostSkyfrog, on Jun 15 2019 - 20:24, said:

Yes. I also uninstalled and reinstalled both the launcher and WoT several times as well as used CCleaner. I checked the registry and I am still coming up with the same issue.

 

Did you clear the games cache folder in your windows user appdata folder?



Skyfrog #9 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 03:35

    Private

  • Players
  • 11206 battles
  • 7
  • [AAPOC] AAPOC
  • Member since:
    11-01-2013
Yes. I am currently reinstalling the game so I will be able to check everything again after the install.

Letuk #10 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 03:45

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 56 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    10-20-2016
Well, one thing is that your on an old version. So it could be something related. Since your reinstalling, repairing is not an option. This should also fix the incorrect version issue. As far as I can tell, as long as you are cleanly installing the game, there should be no direct reason for this. So, can I ask you to detail exactly what steps you take to reinstall the game? From start to finish. 

Skyfrog #11 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 03:53

    Private

  • Players
  • 11206 battles
  • 7
  • [AAPOC] AAPOC
  • Member since:
    11-01-2013

That is a video I took a week ago. that is why it is an old version. 



deadizdead #12 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 03:57

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 40158 battles
  • 529
  • Member since:
    03-27-2013
Maybe your firewall.

LeaveIT2Beaver #13 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 04:04

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 37341 battles
  • 9,950
  • [J4F] J4F
  • Member since:
    07-04-2014

It is the UAC (User Account Control)  in Windows. I just went thru this tonight trying a mod pack out of the Mod Center (and it wrecked my WoT fonts - NOTHING but Aslains for me ever again!) and I had to do a complete reinstall of the game.

Even if you have it turned OFF it can still be operating.
Try the Winaero Tweaker app - it is free and did the trick and Nortons gave it a thumbs up  - Winaero Tweaker or you can edit the registry (risky) The instructions and link are below.

​Open you your %appdata% (Put that in your PC search bar) and delete the Wargaming folder - THEN do your install 

https://winaero.com/blog/how-to-turn-off-and-disable-uac-in-windows-10/

 

 


Edited by LeaveIT2Beaver, Jun 16 2019 - 04:12.


Insanefriend #14 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 04:12

    Captain

  • Players
  • 45861 battles
  • 1,740
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

View PostLeaveIT2Beaver, on Jun 15 2019 - 21:04, said:

It is the UAC (User Account Control)  in Windows. I just went thru this tonight trying a mod pack out of the Mod Center (and it wrecked my WoT fonts - NOTHING but Aslains for me ever again!) and I had to do a complete reinstall of the game.

Even if you have it turned OFF it can still be operating.
Try the Winaero Tweaker   app - it is free and did the trick and Nortons gave it a thumbs up  - Winaero Tweaker, or you can edit the registry (risky)

​Open you your %appdata% (Put that in your PC search bar) and delete the Wargaming folder - THEN do your install 

https://winaero.com/blog/how-to-turn-off-and-disable-uac-in-windows-10/

 

I wouldn't turn off Uac, if you turn it off you no longer get prompts which means randoms apps can just install random crap.  



LeaveIT2Beaver #15 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 04:16

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 37341 battles
  • 9,950
  • [J4F] J4F
  • Member since:
    07-04-2014

View PostInsanefriend, on Jun 15, 2019 - 22:12, said:

 

I wouldn't turn off UAC if you turn it off you no longer get prompts which means randoms apps can just install random crap.  

 

I have Nortons which prevents those spam installs, but when UAC makes up its mind to block something, you cannot override it unless you turn it off.  I am the administrator in window settings and it is turned to "do not notify" and it will not let me override it and install WOT. I had to turn it off.  In his video, it is the UAC that is stopping him also. 


Edited by LeaveIT2Beaver, Jun 16 2019 - 04:18.


Letuk #16 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 04:32

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 56 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    10-20-2016

View PostLeaveIT2Beaver, on Jun 16 2019 - 00:16, said:

 

I have Nortons which prevents those spam installs, but when UAC makes up its mind to block something, you cannot override it unless you turn it off.  I am the administrator in window settings and it is turned to "do not notify" and it will not let me override it and install WOT. I had to turn it off.  In his video, it is the UAC that is stopping him also. 

Um, no its not. And using norton just shows what your saying is questionable. Norton is known to be a resource hog, that doesnt do as well as smaller A/V's. Making edits to the reg can be dangerous, so should be fully researched before doing so. 

 

Ive got this once. I cant remember exactly what was causing it, but it wasnt UAC. 



Insanefriend #17 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 05:18

    Captain

  • Players
  • 45861 battles
  • 1,740
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

View PostLeaveIT2Beaver, on Jun 15 2019 - 21:16, said:

I have Nortons which prevents those spam installs, but when UAC makes up its mind to block something, you cannot override it unless you turn it off.  I am the administrator in window settings and it is turned to "do not notify" and it will not let me override it and install WOT. I had to turn it off.  In his video, it is the UAC that is stopping him also. 

 

Tell that to the number of relatives I've seen give me computers that they managed to install junk on even with AV software.  Most cases the A/V software was worse for the system then the ad ware they got installed.



HorrorShow #18 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 05:53

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 20124 battles
  • 227
  • Member since:
    06-26-2011
If you're anything like me, you leave your computer on for weeks at a time without rebooting. When was the last time you rebooted your machine? There maybe a process still running, keeping it from opening.

Skyfrog #19 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 09:50

    Private

  • Players
  • 11206 battles
  • 7
  • [AAPOC] AAPOC
  • Member since:
    11-01-2013

View PostLeaveIT2Beaver, on Jun 16 2019 - 03:04, said:

​Open you your %appdata% (Put that in your PC search bar) and delete the Wargaming folder - THEN do your install

View Postdeadizdead, on Jun 16 2019 - 02:57, said:

Maybe your firewall.

 

It is none of these. Keep in mind that I have literally done every possible solution on the player support pages. It is not an antivirus program as I disable these before playing any game.

I reboot my computer once a week at a minimum. I reboot after every program install (Multiple times in the past week)

 


Edited by Skyfrog, Jun 16 2019 - 09:53.


Zuikakoo #20 Posted Jun 16 2019 - 09:55

    First lieutenant

  • -Players-
  • 21805 battles
  • 669
  • Member since:
    02-11-2016
yea if you actually have a problem the support is really bad, they had me messing around with drivers and settings for 2 weeks to fix a sound glitch that got patched in 1.1   You really want to mess with them, open a ticket about the ridgeline glitch.   They can't close a ticket as long as you keep trying, and for some reason they can't admit that its on their end and they can't fix it.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users